Jump to content

Photo

New power supplies for the ColecoVision?


80 replies to this topic

#1 PkK OFFLINE  

PkK

    Moonsweeper

  • 464 posts
  • Location:Europe

Posted Wed Feb 8, 2017 11:07 AM

The power supply is, IMO, the main weakness in ColecoVisions today. Often, power supplies no longer supply a sufficient voltage on the +5V line, and the graphics chip doesn't tolerate voltage drops on that line. Out of multiple old ColecoVision power supplies I've seen, only few worked well. Personally, I often used an old power supply with the +5V line supplied from a programmable power supply instead.

 

However, apparently someone has new power supplies for the ColecoVision. They seem to consist of a power supply capable of supplying the voltages needed by the ColecoVision, and an adapter plug to attach the 5-pin din connector on the power supply to the ColecoVision.

 

Who is making these? Do they work well (I've seen forum posts of people who have them, and there are no complaints so far)? What are the voltage / current specifications?

 

Apparently, a German shop was selling these (but they are curently sold out there). Any other places to buy them?

 

Philipp

 



#2 TitleSeventeen OFFLINE  

TitleSeventeen

    Combat Commando

  • 8 posts

Posted Wed Feb 8, 2017 11:16 AM

Not much help, but the original brick for mine died a few years back, I opened it up... had to literally cut it open. I remember a bad transistor that I replaced to get it back alive. Granted I had to glue it back together which was not very pretty.

 

I wouldn't mind transplanting it into a generic project box at some point and put a proper line cord on it. But they can be repaired, most of the components are regular old parts that can be had for very little.



#3 Bmack36 OFFLINE  

Bmack36

    Moonsweeper

  • 302 posts

Posted Wed Feb 8, 2017 12:06 PM

There may or may not be something in development for this  ;)  (different implementation though).



#4 john_rm_1970 OFFLINE  

john_rm_1970

    Space Invader

  • 25 posts

Posted Wed Feb 8, 2017 7:19 PM

This really needs a sticky, because, if like myself, you have a PSU that died or didn't come with your ebay purchase then you are totally screwed.

 

My only option, for now, is to either buy a 74942 Canadian brick PSU and a Step-down converter. Problems then arise such as costs for both the PSU, shipping, and step-down converter. And, the risk of the converter burning out due to heat from only short usage.

 

Or, build a internal modded PSU. I lack soldering and electronic skills so that is out of the question.

 

What were Coleco thinking ? The Atari 2600, 5200, 7800, Intellivision, NES, etc.. all had pretty-much standard PSUs which could be replaced with modern equivalents. The TI-99/4a, is another machine with the stupid same connector as the Colecovision, but is also completely different regarding volts and amps. I ended up buying 3 of the things just to get a working TI with a PSU. So now I have 3 TI's with one PSU.



#5 Yurkie OFFLINE  

Yurkie

    Q*bert Champion

  • 4,006 posts
  • Offering mods for ColecoVision and NESRGB
  • Location:Toledo, Ohio

Posted Fri Feb 10, 2017 8:35 PM

Way too many power supplies dying. I am bringing back a power mod.



#6 NIAD OFFLINE  

NIAD

    Quadrunner

  • 5,813 posts
  • Location:Chicago Suburb

Posted Sun Feb 12, 2017 8:10 PM

I got one of Yurkie's Power Modded CVs (uses a modern power transformer with a barrel plug) and can't say enough good things about it. When he starts offering the Power Mod, I highly recommend that everyone considers it.



#7 towmater OFFLINE  

towmater

    Moonsweeper

  • 421 posts

Posted Mon Feb 13, 2017 1:19 AM

After I had an F18A installed, I removed all of the CV ram - the only thing in there requiring negative voltage, and now power my CV from a 5v 2amp wall wart that's about the size of an iPhone charger. Come to think of it, the phone charger would probably power it as well.



#8 john_rm_1970 OFFLINE  

john_rm_1970

    Space Invader

  • 25 posts

Posted Mon Feb 13, 2017 7:45 AM

The above 2 posts are not solutions to everyone, especially the Power Mod since you would either need to send your CV to Yurkie (Not helpful to those of us who live outside the U.S.), or know someone with tech skills.

 

And the F18A, to me, just takes away the "retro" in these classic old machines and makes them look a bit like some emulator running on a modern TV/Monitor. The CRT hides the technical shortcomings of these old machines, while the F18A exposes them. Plus, not everyone want to de-solder their ram. I want to keep mine in it's original form.



#9 NIAD OFFLINE  

NIAD

    Quadrunner

  • 5,813 posts
  • Location:Chicago Suburb

Posted Mon Feb 13, 2017 8:35 PM

Modding options are never a be-all-end-all solution for everyone, especially when shipping expenses both ways are factored in, but it's nice to have options.

I agree with you considering the F18A, but there are many others that absolutely love it. Funny thing is, I bought one for my Adam, but have decided not to install it and keep the system stock. I might change my mind in the future, especially if there aren't any software compatibility issues that are reported, but for now I can live with the Composite output and sprite flicker.

#10 mortari OFFLINE  

mortari

    Space Invader

  • 13 posts
  • Learning...
  • Location:Canada

Posted Wed Feb 22, 2017 3:34 PM

Can one not just use a computer PSU to get the required 12v, 5v and -5v needed? Or am I missing something? Switching power don't hurt.



#11 Vectorman OFFLINE  

Vectorman

    Chopper Commander

  • 239 posts

Posted Wed Feb 22, 2017 6:17 PM

Can one not just use a computer PSU to get the required 12v, 5v and -5v needed? Or am I missing something? Switching power don't hurt.

Yep. If you don't buy someone's special CV/ADAM power supply, how will they make money?



#12 Yurkie OFFLINE  

Yurkie

    Q*bert Champion

  • 4,006 posts
  • Offering mods for ColecoVision and NESRGB
  • Location:Toledo, Ohio

Posted Thu Feb 23, 2017 11:38 AM

I have parts for 4 power mods if anyone is interested. $50 + return shipping.



#13 ten-four OFFLINE  

ten-four

    Dragonstomper

  • 892 posts
  • Here i am... again!
  • Location:Aalborg, Denmark.

Posted Fri Feb 24, 2017 8:44 AM

Hi.

 

I used a PC power supply for my ColecoVision from 2010 to 2017 -no problem.

pc-power-for-colecovision-2010.jpg

 

I now trying another power supply from China.

This is an: Min Dong MD-9916A.

arcade-power-for-cv.jpg

:)



#14 H454 OFFLINE  

H454

    Moonsweeper

  • 328 posts
  • Location:Twin Cities, MN

Posted Tue Feb 28, 2017 6:49 PM

AT spec power supply have -12 and -5 with a hard on off switch.

ATX BEFORE 1.2 revision have -5V(pin 18 white wire), but have been made for about 10 years. Need to wire jumper switch for power.

I know this from apple IIgs power supply projects, but i never did because I didn't want a huge psu sitting next to it.icon_sad.gif

Note: if you look for these psu for projects - good luck - there hard to find for cheap. Try used computer palaces.


Edited by H454, Tue Feb 28, 2017 6:51 PM.


#15 Jess Ragan ONLINE  

Jess Ragan

    Phanto of the Opera

  • 9,682 posts
  • Keys and Thank You
  • Location:The Arid Zone

Posted Fri Mar 3, 2017 8:50 PM

Hi.

 

I used a PC power supply for my ColecoVision from 2010 to 2017 -no problem.

attachicon.gifpc-power-for-colecovision-2010.jpg

 

I now trying another power supply from China.

This is an: Min Dong MD-9916A.

attachicon.gifarcade-power-for-cv.jpg

:)

 

That's neat, but... uh, you didn't just add woodgrain to your ColecoVision, did you?



#16 Zonie OFFLINE  

Zonie

    Stargunner

  • 1,749 posts
  • Location:Arid-Zone

Posted Sat Mar 4, 2017 2:49 AM

My CL CV came without a working PWS. I just hacked the cord onto an old PC power supply. It has all the voltages you need. 



#17 ten-four OFFLINE  

ten-four

    Dragonstomper

  • 892 posts
  • Here i am... again!
  • Location:Aalborg, Denmark.

Posted Sat Mar 4, 2017 3:23 AM

 

That's neat, but... uh, you didn't just add woodgrain to your ColecoVision, did you?

 

Well, then you'll "have to go back, way back, back to the troglodyte".
No not that far, but it was something that was inspired from the old VCS 2600 and IntelliVision.
​So I think in that time around 1984 ColecoVision also need this.
By the way, it is self-adhesive.

;) 



#18 WispFollower OFFLINE  

WispFollower

    Moonsweeper

  • 471 posts
  • Location:Time and Relative Dimension in Space

Posted Tue Jun 20, 2017 4:57 AM

My CV power supply has had some issues over the last few years, or at least I have come to believe it's the culprit. I have an rgb mod which I use with the xrgb miniframemeister, and sometimes the fantastic colors can be muted, dark, or just wrong. Wiggling the power cable where it connects into the CV can help or cause it to shut off altogether. I have seen power supplies sold online claiming to work for multiple systems, but have been nervous to try them for years, worrying about the fragility of my modded system. Can anyone chime in about newly made power supplies, or should I just send my CV back in to get the $50 power mod? I've been putting off a solution to this for a while since my system still works, but it can make me sad sometimes to see my CV, which I have put decent money into, not perform as well as it should.



#19 bradhig1 OFFLINE  

bradhig1

    Dragonstomper

  • 634 posts
  • Location:Olathe Kansas

Posted Sat Jun 24, 2017 5:18 PM

My CV power supply has had some issues over the last few years, or at least I have come to believe it's the culprit. I have an rgb mod which I use with the xrgb miniframemeister, and sometimes the fantastic colors can be muted, dark, or just wrong. Wiggling the power cable where it connects into the CV can help or cause it to shut off altogether. I have seen power supplies sold online claiming to work for multiple systems, but have been nervous to try them for years, worrying about the fragility of my modded system. Can anyone chime in about newly made power supplies, or should I just send my CV back in to get the $50 power mod? I've been putting off a solution to this for a while since my system still works, but it can make me sad sometimes to see my CV, which I have put decent money into, not perform as well as it should.

I have the same issues and I am on my second power supply.  If you think Colecovision power supplies are bad Commodore 64 power supplies can kill a Commodore 64 because the voltage outage suddenly goes bad and they can't be fixed because the components are covered in epoxy 



#20 Rey OFFLINE  

Rey

    Dragonstomper

  • 708 posts
  • Mods for ColecoVision & ADAM
  • Location:Florida

Posted Mon Jun 26, 2017 9:41 AM

I think Bmack also does these mods and I've done the power mods for both the coleco and the adam. I am not able to do any kind of mods right now but between Yurkie and Bmack you'll be set.



#21 Zonie OFFLINE  

Zonie

    Stargunner

  • 1,749 posts
  • Location:Arid-Zone

Posted Mon Jun 26, 2017 8:09 PM

Looking at this one. Anyone know the definitive current capabilities needed?

http://www.mouser.co...NEtLx0fkH8QuiAx
rt50.jpg



#22 DHos OFFLINE  

DHos

    Combat Commando

  • 4 posts

Posted Tue Jul 4, 2017 9:23 AM

Looking at this one. Anyone know the definitive current capabilities needed?

http://www.mouser.co...NEtLx0fkH8QuiAx
rt50.jpg

THis looks like a good fix that could even fit inside the console, is there an issue with this component?



#23 Zonie OFFLINE  

Zonie

    Stargunner

  • 1,749 posts
  • Location:Arid-Zone

Posted Tue Jul 4, 2017 3:04 PM

I just got them today, so I'll let you know.



#24 Rey OFFLINE  

Rey

    Dragonstomper

  • 708 posts
  • Mods for ColecoVision & ADAM
  • Location:Florida

Posted Tue Jul 4, 2017 5:35 PM

THis looks like a good fix that could even fit inside the console, is there an issue with this component?


I don't think so. Take a look at the dimensions of this supply under specs.

#25 shabazz18 OFFLINE  

shabazz18

    Space Invader

  • 27 posts

Posted Tue Jul 11, 2017 9:19 PM

I just rebuilt my original. New caps and regulators. Pretty easy fix if you have basic soldering skills. I'm still pretty new at it. Console5.com has a kit that includes everything for like 7 bucks for both the power supply and console, although I didn't cap the console or change the chips inside the PS.


Edited by shabazz18, Tue Jul 11, 2017 9:19 PM.





0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users