Jump to content

Photo

SIO Wifi modem with esp8266


507 replies to this topic

#51 Kyle22 OFFLINE  

Kyle22

    River Patroller

  • 3,660 posts
  • Call my BBS! telnet://broadway1.lorexddns.net
  • Location:McKees Rocks (Pittsburgh), PA

Posted Wed Mar 21, 2018 6:20 PM

It would be great if it could use only the CIO registered R: Handler. The one listed in HATABS.

#52 jeffpiep OFFLINE  

jeffpiep

    Space Invader

  • 32 posts

Posted Sun Apr 15, 2018 2:27 PM

It would be great if it could use only the CIO registered R: Handler. The one listed in HATABS.

Thomas Cherryhomes has said the same thing - he wants to use it with the PLATO cart. 



#53 Curt Vendel OFFLINE  

Curt Vendel

    River Patroller

  • 4,650 posts
  • Location:Carmel, New York

Posted Mon Apr 16, 2018 4:30 AM

I've given Thom the source code to the 850 firmware and he is working on an 850 interface clone right now...

 

 

Thomas Cherryhomes has said the same thing - he wants to use it with the PLATO cart. 



#54 Stefan Both OFFLINE  

Stefan Both

    Moonsweeper

  • 434 posts
  • Location:Germany / Lower Saxony

Posted Tue May 8, 2018 7:17 AM

Too bad, my polish isn´t good enough...

http://www.atari.org...ic.php?id=14246

 

atari_wifi.png

 

Looks, like the idea implementing the R-Verter by software is / was the right direction...

-> http://atariage.com/...-2#entry3930160

 

Too bad, there is no sketch or binary on the polish website...

 

Stefan

 

 



#55 Stefan Both OFFLINE  

Stefan Both

    Moonsweeper

  • 434 posts
  • Location:Germany / Lower Saxony

Posted Fri May 11, 2018 12:34 PM

[quote name="jeffpiep" post="3990056" timestamp="1521601517"]
"I just connected the boards' TX, RX and GND lines (so far) to SIO" 
 
Is your NodeMCU still working?
 
My understanding is the ESP8266 module is not 5V tolerant. But the Atari SIO TX circuit is... . 
 
Well the NodeMcu Board are definitely 5V >tolerant<. I mean in the sense it isnt made for, but
it will survive it. Both german "Commodore" communities use the NodeMcu that way.
All Chips survived so far. BUT, don't mix it up with the 'single' ESP8266 Chips.
Especially the 8pin ESP-01 Chips will die immediately.

I got my NodeMcu working so far, (only/just) connected to Tx and Rx as already mentioned here
in this thread. Ironically I 'only' succeeded in connecting with a Commodore BBS.
I hat no chance to find a atari related BBS still running.
Any help appreciated!

My plan for this weekend is, to print out all the data sheets
of the circuits used for the RVERTER. And to lable every single line,
to backward engineer / understand the way the RVerter works.
I'm convinced the simple boolean logic of a 74LS00 is
easy to replace by the power of an 80MHz processor.

Stefan

#56 Stefan Both OFFLINE  

Stefan Both

    Moonsweeper

  • 434 posts
  • Location:Germany / Lower Saxony

Posted Fri May 11, 2018 1:47 PM

By the way, who is the guy who developed
Bobterm? Is he member of atariage?

Stefan

#57 Fox-1 / mnx OFFLINE  

Fox-1 / mnx

    Stargunner

  • 1,556 posts
  • What is your Alternate Reality?
  • Location:NL, Earth 2.0

Posted Fri May 11, 2018 3:20 PM

Robert "Bob" Puff.  Owner of CSS.

 

http://www.nleaudio.com/css/

 

He left the Atari scene quite a while ago.



#58 Stefan Both OFFLINE  

Stefan Both

    Moonsweeper

  • 434 posts
  • Location:Germany / Lower Saxony

Posted Sat May 12, 2018 5:10 AM

Thank you Fox-1,

 

I gave it a try -

wrote an e-mail, just asking him

if Iḿ allowed to ask questions.

 

Lets see.

 

In the meantime, I study the data sheets

and the two/three different schematics.

 

Stefan



#59 Lastic OFFLINE  

Lastic

    Star Raider

  • 81 posts

Posted Fri May 18, 2018 9:13 AM

I've had good success with NodeMCU dev boards using Strikelink and Zimodem 3.0 firmwares (links below).

 

Both firmwares work well.  Both have telnet modes. Zimodem has the ability to answer. (EDIT - I haven't tested this aspect).

 

I'm still playing at this.  I didn't add RS232 level conversion. I just connected the boards' TX, RX and GND lines (so far) to SIO.  Power is via USB Phone charger.

 

I've been using the bobverter driver on the Atari but I'm not sure how to add RVerter logic. Since I don't have a real R: interface set up and the device just sits on the SIO bus I can't do disk I/O unless I'm using my internal MyIDE (with SDX 4.49c beta).

 

Links

DIY C64 Wifi Modem

Zimodem 3.0

 

 

Out of curiosity and because of the cheap price I'v bought an ESP8266 also.

 

I was wondering if you could elaborate on what your setup is and which bobverter driver you used.

 

My ESP8266 is hooked up also to TX,RX,GND to my 130XE's SIO port and I have an UNOcart which can load BobTerm or Ice-T.



#60 a8isa1 OFFLINE  

a8isa1

    Stargunner

  • 1,519 posts

Posted Fri May 18, 2018 3:14 PM

 

 

Out of curiosity and because of the cheap price I'v bought an ESP8266 also.

 

I was wondering if you could elaborate on what your setup is and which bobverter driver you used.

 

My ESP8266 is hooked up also to TX,RX,GND to my 130XE's SIO port and I have an UNOcart which can load BobTerm or Ice-T.

I'm using an 800XL with RAMBO XL, internal MyIDE, SDX 4.49c beta (on an Atarimax 8mbit cart).  I mostly use ICE-T, because of the 80 column support and the 19.2 kbits/sec speed.

 

I'm not aware of more than one bobverter driver.    I believe I once read that bob puff wrote a better driver than the original rverter driver.   Don't know if it's true or even if I'm remembering that correctly but don't really have a reason to use the original rverter driver.


Edited by a8isa1, Fri May 18, 2018 3:14 PM.


#61 manterola OFFLINE  

manterola

    Chopper Commander

  • 214 posts
  • Location:Washington metropolitan area, USA

Posted Wed May 30, 2018 4:59 PM

Meanwhile we are waiting for the cool solution of emulating a 850 interface with esp8266, I got one of those cheap esp-01 versions with 5v adapter:

https://goo.gl/Xouesu

 

I tested it with bobterm and rverter (and just default AT firmware) and it worked great (I needed to set wifi setting, and serial comm. settings, of course). I just connected 5v, gnd, tx and rx using a breadboard

Now I am getting a little project box and I plan to put it in the middle of a SIO cable (I don't want it to be end of line device). I will also add a little more sophisticated interface (which I just copied from the rverter interface schem.) to use the Motor signal, so the interface will be able to share the SIO bus and download files to floppies.

 

IMG_20180530_185259_resized_20180530_065523329.jpg

 

I hope this is useful to anyone who is interested in alternatives to Lantronix solutions.

 

Mauricio


Edited by manterola, Wed May 30, 2018 5:01 PM.


#62 Stefan Both OFFLINE  

Stefan Both

    Moonsweeper

  • 434 posts
  • Location:Germany / Lower Saxony

Posted Thu May 31, 2018 4:45 AM

Dear Mauricio,

that is the solution I was searching for.
But it was to risky for me to try with
my one AND ONLY Atari.
So my expectation was right?
The motor line is activated by the driver,
each time the signals belong to the modem?

And the way you did it allows you
to daisychain other devices?

Stefan

#63 manterola OFFLINE  

manterola

    Chopper Commander

  • 214 posts
  • Location:Washington metropolitan area, USA

Posted Thu May 31, 2018 8:42 PM

Yes, that's how rverter driver works. If you have a cassette program recorder you can load bobterm or icet (first load rverter handler) then press play and the cassette will run (motor active). Then go, for example, to disk functions like disk directory in the terminal program, and when the Atari access the disk drive you will notice that the cassette stops for a second or two, and then keeps going.

Edited by manterola, Thu May 31, 2018 8:45 PM.


#64 Stefan Both OFFLINE  

Stefan Both

    Moonsweeper

  • 434 posts
  • Location:Germany / Lower Saxony

Posted Thu May 31, 2018 10:35 PM

Sir,
you are my personal hero.
I'LL build it.
One last question :
The diode in your drawing,
What kind is it? I'm a bit confused
because of the reverse direction?
( or am I totally wrong?)

Stefan

#65 manterola OFFLINE  

manterola

    Chopper Commander

  • 214 posts
  • Location:Washington metropolitan area, USA

Posted Fri Jun 1, 2018 2:10 PM

I just stole that part of the circuit from rverter interface, check these out for more detailed part list:
 
 
 
 
I am using a 1n4007 which is the one I could get from the my "junk box" but I plan to get a 1n4148 as the original design.
 
The diode is in the right direction because the idea is to simulate an open collector device output  (which does not "generate" current , it only "sinks" current to ground)
Check this post:


#66 Stefan Both OFFLINE  

Stefan Both

    Moonsweeper

  • 434 posts
  • Location:Germany / Lower Saxony

Posted Fri Jun 1, 2018 3:09 PM

I just stole that part of the circuit from rverter interface, check these out for more detailed part list:
 
http://ftp.pigwa.net...ce/rverter.html
 
http://atari.a8maest...es/rverter2.jpg
 
http://ftp.pigwa.net...ce/rverter.html
 
I am using a 1n4007 which is the one I could get from the my "junk box" but I plan to get a 1n4148 as the original design.
 
The diode is in the right direction because the idea is to simulate an open collector device output  (which does not "generate" current , it only "sinks" current to ground)
Check this post:
http://atariage.com/...sues/?p=3811358


You may compare the drawings in your first and second link.
Especially pin 2, respectively pin 3 (D in).
Maybe you can understand, why I wasnt bold enough
to try it by my own.
Thank you for your explanation.
I will build the interface you draw, and
will excessively test it ;-)

Thank you!

Stefan

#67 manterola OFFLINE  

manterola

    Chopper Commander

  • 214 posts
  • Location:Washington metropolitan area, USA

Posted Tue Jun 5, 2018 10:30 AM

Btw, there is an error. The capacitor should go b/w +5VDC and GND.

#68 Stefan Both OFFLINE  

Stefan Both

    Moonsweeper

  • 434 posts
  • Location:Germany / Lower Saxony

Posted Tue Jun 5, 2018 2:16 PM

Btw, there is an error. The capacitor should go b/w +5VDC and GND.

 

Dear Mauricio, dear "board members" ;)

 

I appended a picture of a drawing. May I ask you to have a look at it?

If you are confused, you are at the same level as me... :grin:

I will mill the pcb...(even the routes) it´s the only option I have.

(already did that a couple of times)

It´s a double sided circuit board. Some pads are throughplated.

The whole thing will be packed into a 3D printed case.

 

What´s your opinion? Any mistakes?

 

greets

 

Stefan

 

 

SioWifiPCB.gif



#69 Dropcheck OFFLINE  

Dropcheck

    Stargunner

  • 1,335 posts
  • Location:Stigler, OK

Posted Wed Jun 6, 2018 6:33 AM

Dear Mauricio, dear "board members" ;)
 
I appended a picture of a drawing. May I ask you to have a look at it?
If you are confused, you are at the same level as me... :grin:
I will mill the pcb...(even the routes) it´s the only option I have.
(already did that a couple of times)
It´s a double sided circuit board. Some pads are throughplated.
The whole thing will be packed into a 3D printed case.
 
What´s your opinion? Any mistakes?
 
greets
 
Stefan
 
 
attachicon.gifSioWifiPCB.gif

 
Not sure what you are trying to do.
 
Is it a SIO2Wifi adapter?  If so you have no connection point for the ESP8266 Wifi module. And the second SIO connector is going to have the wrong signals on the pins for connecting any Atari device.  You need to wire for a DB9/DB25 serial port instead of the output SIO connector.  
 
Or a SIO2wifi adapter with SIO pass through?   See previous note about the wrong signals on the SIO connector for Atari devices. 
 
Here's an untested schematic and board design that might work better.   Board size is reduced a little.  80mm x 60 mm
 
SIO2Rverter2_Page_1.jpg
SIO2Rverter2_Page_2.jpg



#70 manterola OFFLINE  

manterola

    Chopper Commander

  • 214 posts
  • Location:Washington metropolitan area, USA

Posted Wed Jun 6, 2018 9:24 AM

It looks ok to me, except for the things already pointed out: connection for specific esp8266 used, and wrong Sio connections: it should be pin1 to pin1, pin2 to pin2, and so on.
I would like to add that those Sio connectors are very difficult to get. You need one o a couple of broken Atari computers or devices, or pay a lot for them. That is why I am just using a Sio cable and putting a box with the circuit in the middle.
Another thing you may consider is a switch to turn it off, if you want.
In my case I am using esp-01 with 5v adapter so I have 5v levels readily available in a 1x4 pin header (RX TX 5v gnd) or something like that. Depending on the device you are connecting to you may need 3.3v adaptation, or rs232 voltage level adaptation.
I updated firmware to zimodem, which is a very cool firmware, but it is not saving the updated baud rate, wifi connection and "address book". Anyway, what are your plans for esp8266? Or using something else?

#71 Stefan Both OFFLINE  

Stefan Both

    Moonsweeper

  • 434 posts
  • Location:Germany / Lower Saxony

Posted Wed Jun 6, 2018 10:12 AM

Hey dropcheck,
greets manterola,

my drawing doesn't seem so clear, than I was hoping ;-)

I already have two of these plugs from a totally damaged
1027 so, that's not tbe problem.
The left plug is on top of the PCB, while the right
one is mounted upside down, on the backside of the PCB.

That is why I still hope, my drawing is o. K.

I already have a esp8266 12e WiFi. It IS 5V tolerant,
however I'll use a level shifter and a Oled 64x128.
The Wifi board has a build in 3.3v level shifter.
I can use it for the lv site of the level shifter as well as
for the OLed.
The switch however, I just forgot... :-(
There is no need for me to build it as small as possible,
so I use a slightly bigger case.

So the plan was, to connect the rxtr lines of the
esp (via level shifer), with the pads marked Rx Tx
on my drawing. Or do I have to cross the lines?

Stefan

#72 Stefan Both OFFLINE  

Stefan Both

    Moonsweeper

  • 434 posts
  • Location:Germany / Lower Saxony

Posted Wed Jun 6, 2018 10:22 AM

Not sure what you are trying to do.
 
Is it a SIO2Wifi adapter? 

Sorry, I should have answered your questions first.

Yes, it is a Sio2WiFi adapter, but without the need of a
RS232 Chip. We talked about the "need" of level shifting
earlier in this thread. Ttl - > RS232 - > RS232 - > TTl

So, it is just the 74LS00 part of the RVerter.
Manterola figured ot, what I was to afraid to try.
The motor line is operating the 74ls00 and
keeps the ESP chip 'off' the line as long as the
RVerter (bobverter) driver did not tell him
the opposite.

Stefan

Edited by Stefan Both, Wed Jun 6, 2018 10:23 AM.


#73 manterola OFFLINE  

manterola

    Chopper Commander

  • 214 posts
  • Location:Washington metropolitan area, USA

Posted Wed Jun 6, 2018 12:09 PM

Hey dropcheck,
greets manterola,

my drawing doesn't seem so clear, than I was hoping ;-)

I already have two of these plugs from a totally damaged
1027 so, that's not tbe problem.
The left plug is on top of the PCB, while the right
one is mounted upside down, on the backside of the PCB.

That is why I still hope, my drawing is o. K.

I already have a esp8266 12e WiFi. It IS 5V tolerant,
however I'll use a level shifter and a Oled 64x128.
The Wifi board has a build in 3.3v level shifter.
I can use it for the lv site of the level shifter as well as
for the OLed.
The switch however, I just forgot... :-(
There is no need for me to build it as small as possible,
so I use a slightly bigger case.

So the plan was, to connect the rxtr lines of the
esp (via level shifer), with the pads marked Rx Tx
on my drawing. Or do I have to cross the lines?

Stefan

They are already crossed... Din to TX and Dout to RX

#74 Stefan Both OFFLINE  

Stefan Both

    Moonsweeper

  • 434 posts
  • Location:Germany / Lower Saxony

Posted Wed Jun 6, 2018 12:16 PM

Thanks!!!

The first try went wrong [ashamed].
Don't know why, but somehow the
layout is mirrored...
Next try soon...

Stefan

#75 Dropcheck OFFLINE  

Dropcheck

    Stargunner

  • 1,335 posts
  • Location:Stigler, OK

Posted Wed Jun 6, 2018 8:42 PM

Thanks!!!

The first try went wrong [ashamed].
Don't know why, but somehow the
layout is mirrored...
Next try soon...

Stefan

 

Yes the upside down SIO connector is mirrored.  The SIO connectors have to be on same side. ie top or bottom

 

 

Here's a slightly larger board with the SIO connectors on the same side on top. 

 

 

 

SIO2RVerter3.jpg


Edited by Dropcheck, Wed Jun 6, 2018 8:52 PM.





0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users