Jump to content

Photo

SIO Wifi modem with esp8266


152 replies to this topic

#126 remowilliams OFFLINE  

remowilliams

    Quadrunner

  • 10,465 posts
  • Location:Detonation Boulevard

Posted Tue Jul 10, 2018 7:10 PM

Somewhere, buried on these forums somewhere, is a 2.80A version that was never actually release per se. 

 

http://atariage.com/...-6#entry3090553

 

Ice-T is awesome :)



#127 manterola OFFLINE  

manterola

    Chopper Commander

  • 119 posts

Posted Tue Jul 10, 2018 7:14 PM

Flicker term 80 has ibmpc and vt100 mode, as well

Edited by manterola, Tue Jul 10, 2018 7:15 PM.


#128 eed002 OFFLINE  

eed002

    Space Invader

  • 18 posts

Posted Tue Jul 10, 2018 9:05 PM

Hi,

 

Just noticed ICET needs 128K. I want to be able to have a solution that works even for a 48K 800. 

 

Found this:

 

http://atariage.com/forums/topic/96729-vt100-emulator/    (should of searched atariage first)

 

Looks lime VT100SQ or Omnicomm.

 

We can probably make the term emulator used/changeable via esp8266 SPIFFSS image, so ICET or other options are available.

 

Thanks,

Ed


Edited by eed002, Tue Jul 10, 2018 9:51 PM.


#129 _The Doctor__ OFFLINE  

_The Doctor__

    River Patroller

  • 4,310 posts
  • Location:10-0-11-00:02

Posted Tue Jul 10, 2018 9:10 PM

how about more than one choice?



#130 eed002 OFFLINE  

eed002

    Space Invader

  • 18 posts

Posted Tue Jul 10, 2018 9:52 PM

Hi,

 

Yes, just updated my post and noticed your comment. We can make it an option via SPIFFSS flash upload.

 

Ed



#131 manterola OFFLINE  

manterola

    Chopper Commander

  • 119 posts

Posted Wed Jul 11, 2018 8:24 AM

if somebody could get me a working breadboard or proto board with the 8266 and SIO hooked up and electrically working, I'll do the 850 firmware.

 

I have, courtesy of Curt Vendel, the source code to the 850 firmware, which I can use as a description of behavior.

 

-Thom

What is your address? I'll get those Adafruit thingies and hook-up a SIO connector on them. So we can get this project going...



#132 eed002 OFFLINE  

eed002

    Space Invader

  • 18 posts

Posted Wed Jul 11, 2018 8:45 AM

Hi,

 

I will be receiving 3 PCBs, I can put it together. and send it to you, if you want.

 

I believe all we need to do is handle the SIO R: requests,  it should not be that bad. Isn't it a straight through FIFOed interface to the UART?

 

Thanks,

-Ed



#133 tschak909 OFFLINE  

tschak909

    River Patroller

  • 2,408 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Wed Jul 11, 2018 9:00 AM

Only in concurrent mode. 850 behavior is a little wonky.

 

pm and I will reply back with my address.

 

-Thom



#134 Stefan Both OFFLINE  

Stefan Both

    Moonsweeper

  • 386 posts
  • Location:Germany / Lower Saxony

Posted Wed Jul 11, 2018 12:55 PM

Sirs,

 

I know, there is a pinned thread regarding BBS.

I'm a little bit desperate however.

May please someone point me to a BBS that is

verified active now ?

I got working connections with two C64 BBS.

I'm just still trying to get a connection to an atari bbs.

 

Thank you very much !

 

Stefan


Edited by Stefan Both, Wed Jul 11, 2018 12:56 PM.


#135 _The Doctor__ OFFLINE  

_The Doctor__

    River Patroller

  • 4,310 posts
  • Location:10-0-11-00:02

Posted Wed Jul 11, 2018 1:39 PM

almost all the BBS on the pinned thread are active... and if you reach one then the BBS list on the board should be active.... I know kyle's resistance cove is active and the list on it is good, though the board really could use a small team to update all the different term types...40 80 cgs ansi vt52 etc etc etc...

 

The Resistance Cove,

ATDT broadway1.lorexddns.net 23

depending on your device that's

/23

,23

 

etc etc...

 

if your lantonix hates dns...

 

ATDT 73.154.49.234/23

or

ATDT 073154049234,23

 

etc etc


Edited by _The Doctor__, Wed Jul 11, 2018 1:44 PM.


#136 tschak909 OFFLINE  

tschak909

    River Patroller

  • 2,408 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Wed Jul 11, 2018 1:43 PM

and of course, there is always IRATA, with the PLATO cartridge (new Atari terminal coming soon)

-Thom



#137 _The Doctor__ OFFLINE  

_The Doctor__

    River Patroller

  • 4,310 posts
  • Location:10-0-11-00:02

Posted Wed Jul 11, 2018 1:50 PM

Yeah I sort of fell off that wagon, I should probably get back on....



#138 Stefan Both OFFLINE  

Stefan Both

    Moonsweeper

  • 386 posts
  • Location:Germany / Lower Saxony

Posted Wed Jul 11, 2018 2:12 PM

Thank you! I'll try it.

Stefan

#139 DrVenkman ONLINE  

DrVenkman

    River Patroller

  • 3,244 posts
  • Back off, man! I'm a scientist.
  • Location:KMBT

Posted Wed Jul 11, 2018 7:05 PM

and of course, there is always IRATA, with the PLATO cartridge (new Atari terminal coming soon)

-Thom

 

Looking forward to giving that a try. My P:R:Connection and Lantronix boxes thank you in advance. :)



#140 Stefan Both OFFLINE  

Stefan Both

    Moonsweeper

  • 386 posts
  • Location:Germany / Lower Saxony

Posted Wed Jul 11, 2018 11:56 PM

Yup... It worked fine.
I will test some more BBS next days,
to fill the EEprom with some functional
adresses. "Speed dialing" was one of the
features already implemented in the c64 wifi firmware.

Stefan

Attached Thumbnails

  • IMG_20180711_230713.jpg

Edited by Stefan Both, Thu Jul 12, 2018 12:01 AM.


#141 _The Doctor__ OFFLINE  

_The Doctor__

    River Patroller

  • 4,310 posts
  • Location:10-0-11-00:02

Posted Thu Jul 12, 2018 12:49 AM

you should be able to connect reliably at 9600 no problems to almost any BBS... I see you connected at 2400 that's like early 1984 for most people but 9600 was late 1984 for others :)



#142 Stefan Both OFFLINE  

Stefan Both

    Moonsweeper

  • 386 posts
  • Location:Germany / Lower Saxony

Posted Thu Jul 12, 2018 1:59 AM

Yes, I saw something with 9600 before the
welcome screen. Last night it was just a
proof of concept. More to do next weekend.

Stefan

#143 DrVenkman ONLINE  

DrVenkman

    River Patroller

  • 3,244 posts
  • Back off, man! I'm a scientist.
  • Location:KMBT

Posted Thu Jul 12, 2018 5:54 AM

you should be able to connect reliably at 9600 no problems to almost any BBS... I see you connected at 2400 that's like early 1984 for most people but 9600 was late 1984 for others :)


Speak for yourself! I didn’t get a 2400 baud modem until I got my ST in 1986. 300 baud all the way with my 800. :P

These days through my PRC and a Lantronix box I do 9600 and think I’m in 8-bit heaven. :)

#144 _The Doctor__ OFFLINE  

_The Doctor__

    River Patroller

  • 4,310 posts
  • Location:10-0-11-00:02

Posted Thu Jul 12, 2018 6:02 AM

oh my! yeah we used the fast modems were on the BBS's... My daily drivers were an XM301 and at some point an AVATEX.... with supra interface.... it all settled out with telebit trailblazers and USR COURRIERs at the end of it all.... I periodically had to swap one of the faster modems to call baud floored elite access boards and for long distance warez transfers...though I had a fax modem on the Falcon030 as the last Atari connected modem I am not sure what it's ultimate throughput was.


Edited by _The Doctor__, Thu Jul 12, 2018 6:11 AM.


#145 Stefan Both OFFLINE  

Stefan Both

    Moonsweeper

  • 386 posts
  • Location:Germany / Lower Saxony

Posted Thu Jul 12, 2018 10:38 AM

By the way...
what is the limit with the RVerter?

Stefan

#146 Stefan Both OFFLINE  

Stefan Both

    Moonsweeper

  • 386 posts
  • Location:Germany / Lower Saxony

Posted Thu Jul 12, 2018 3:17 PM

As promised, here is the link.

www.datentraegerkonvertierung.de/gast/Atari_WiFi_w_Oled.zip

The zip file contains all the material I used
to build the RVerter2WiFi thing.

For your free disposal.

Stefan

Edited by Stefan Both, Thu Jul 12, 2018 3:18 PM.


#147 Kyle22 OFFLINE  

Kyle22

    River Patroller

  • 3,397 posts
  • Call my BBS! telnet://broadway1.lorexddns.net
  • Location:McKees Rocks (Pittsburgh), PA

Posted Thu Jul 12, 2018 7:34 PM

By the way...
what is the limit with the RVerter?

Stefan

Thanks for calling my BBS. I upped your access level.

 

The R:Verter has no speed limit, it will do whatever PoKey can handle. That would be divisor zero at about 125K Baud.  Now, your terminal software will start dropping characters well below that speed, but it is not a hardware limitation. Well, unless you consider that the CPU can't run fast enough and ANTIC DMA takes time. The Hyper E: handler helps somewhat, but the speed limit is NOT the R:Verter or PoKey.



#148 Stefan Both OFFLINE  

Stefan Both

    Moonsweeper

  • 386 posts
  • Location:Germany / Lower Saxony

Posted Fri Jul 13, 2018 3:41 AM

Thanks for calling my BBS. I upped your access level.


Huh? Sorry Kiley22 I made a mistake. When I was trying to
become familiar with your BBS, I stumbled over ?file stamps?
owned or uploaded by "the doc" (if I remember the reason of
my mistake correctly).
So I thought he is the operator.
When I was asked to leave a message for the
operator... I said thanks to the the doc......
greets
Stefan

#149 _The Doctor__ OFFLINE  

_The Doctor__

    River Patroller

  • 4,310 posts
  • Location:10-0-11-00:02

Posted Fri Jul 13, 2018 4:04 AM

I am but a ghost, a shadow in the machines around the world



#150 Stefan Both OFFLINE  

Stefan Both

    Moonsweeper

  • 386 posts
  • Location:Germany / Lower Saxony

Posted Fri Jul 13, 2018 12:14 PM

I am but a ghost, a shadow in the machines around the world


So your real name is Jobe Smith?
(The Lawnmower Man) ;-)

Stefan




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users