Jump to content

Photo

Thwocker


30 replies to this topic

#26 Thomas Jentzsch OFFLINE  

Thomas Jentzsch

    Thrust, Jammed, SWOOPS!, Boulder Dash, THREE·S, Star Castle

  • 22,555 posts
  • Always left from right here!
  • Location:Düsseldorf, Germany

Posted Sun Mar 19, 2017 12:36 PM

Correction: EEPROMs

#27 CPUWIZ OFFLINE  

CPUWIZ

    Sheriff

  • 32,032 posts
  • Cartridge Recycler
  • Location:SoCal

Posted Sun Mar 19, 2017 1:02 PM

You are telling me, that the Thwocker proto, that was found, uses an EEPROM?  I thought only a couple of the CopyCarts used an EEPROM.  I know Yoko and Universal were real EPROM's, but I think the Vidco uses an EEPROM.



#28 Thomas Jentzsch OFFLINE  

Thomas Jentzsch

    Thrust, Jammed, SWOOPS!, Boulder Dash, THREE·S, Star Castle

  • 22,555 posts
  • Always left from right here!
  • Location:Düsseldorf, Germany

Posted Sun Mar 19, 2017 1:04 PM

No, but EEPROMs where used during development. And later copied onto EPROMs.

#29 CPUWIZ OFFLINE  

CPUWIZ

    Sheriff

  • 32,032 posts
  • Cartridge Recycler
  • Location:SoCal

Posted Sun Mar 19, 2017 1:19 PM

No, but EEPROMs where used during development. And later copied onto EPROMs.

 

The official devkits from Atari, that I own, use RAM.  Never seen a lab-loaner with an EEPROM either.  I wonder what Activision used, did anyone ever ask any of the regular Activision guys that show up for CGE etc.?



#30 Thomas Jentzsch OFFLINE  

Thomas Jentzsch

    Thrust, Jammed, SWOOPS!, Boulder Dash, THREE·S, Star Castle

  • 22,555 posts
  • Always left from right here!
  • Location:Düsseldorf, Germany

Posted Sun Mar 19, 2017 1:23 PM

So, what's your theory?

#31 CPUWIZ OFFLINE  

CPUWIZ

    Sheriff

  • 32,032 posts
  • Cartridge Recycler
  • Location:SoCal

Posted Sun Mar 19, 2017 2:10 PM

So, what's your theory?

 

I am not sure how that could happen, unless they used a programmer over and over and only loaded parts of memory on top of each other, without clearing the buffer first. 

 

Dumb really, EPROM's program faster if parts of your ROM are $FF, those cells are ignored.  One of the reasons I designed the 4K board, that only uses 28pin EPROM's (27128 & 27256), not only do they program faster in the first place, but the rest of the EPROM is just zipped through.  Overall still a big win over programming a 2532 or 2732.  Tons of homebrews from the AA store use these boards.  Oh yeah, and the 28pin EPROM's are actually cheaper and easier to get than 4K EPROM's. ;)

 

I think the only company that did this on the 2600 was Froggo, they used 27C64 OTP EPROM's for their 4K games.  Not all, mind you, the label variations from Asia, do not use EPROM's.

 

Way off topic, I know. :lol:






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users