Jump to content

Photo

New HRDs


15 replies to this topic

#1 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Fri Mar 17, 2017 1:02 PM

What would be the difficulty in designing or producing new RAMDisks? I know the market is slowly fading away, what with HDX, Lotharek, and the FR99 and FG99...

I have a desire to run Funnelweb with a RAMDisk again, but legacy hardware from Horizon is never reasonably priced enough for me on eBay.


I know schematics exist... would this be less expensive now, with RAM being so cheap? Perhaps we could even eliminate the need for a battery with flash technology. Thoughts?

#2 Ksarul OFFLINE  

Ksarul

    River Patroller

  • 4,169 posts

Posted Fri Mar 17, 2017 7:51 PM

Actually, I have the rights to produce new Horizon RAMdisks (Bud Mills passed that torch to me about three months before he passed away)--and I am working on doing a newer layout for one. It is just behind a few of the other things on my multitudinous list of projects. . .



#3 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Fri Mar 17, 2017 8:02 PM

10-4.

I am interested in your new layout. :)

#4 jstimson OFFLINE  

jstimson

    Star Raider

  • 72 posts
  • Location:Ottawa, Canada

Posted Sat Mar 18, 2017 7:28 AM

I have a horizon ramdisk and am always amazed by it whenever I use it.  I don't get to turn my TI on as much as I would like and it never ceases to impress me that it retains its contents despite the infrequent battery charges.

 

I would be tempted by a modern one with higher capacity though.



#5 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Sat Mar 18, 2017 10:47 AM

That would be the card I would want more than any other.

#6 Ksarul OFFLINE  

Ksarul

    River Patroller

  • 4,169 posts

Posted Sat Mar 18, 2017 12:41 PM

It will be at a minimum, equivalent to an HRD 4000. I've been working with the Insane One to allow it to use his updated DSR and work like a single huge disk, instead of as a number of smaller ones. . .that also opens the way to disks well beyond 8M in size.



#7 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Sat Mar 18, 2017 12:48 PM

Ahhh.... Will there be a way to partition it into smaller drives, or will it just be like a nano HD?

Part of the appeal of the HRD for me is being able to have multiple "disks" for multiple projects. :D

#8 InsaneMultitasker OFFLINE  

InsaneMultitasker

    Stargunner

  • 1,711 posts

Posted Sat Mar 18, 2017 1:26 PM

Ahhh.... Will there be a way to partition it into smaller drives, or will it just be like a nano HD?

Part of the appeal of the HRD for me is being able to have multiple "disks" for multiple projects. :D

With the TI and ROS 8.34, ten disks are supported.  Each disk may be configured to a maximum size of 3200 sectors (800K) for a total 8MB worth of information.  This is double the capacity of ROS 8.14F.    One caveat is that if your RAMDisk needs to be reloaded, 8MB is a lot of data to reload.  ;)  



#9 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Sat Mar 18, 2017 1:28 PM

Cool!

Will it need battery backing, or will it be Flash based?

#10 schmitzi OFFLINE  

schmitzi

    River Patroller

  • 3,846 posts
  • ToXiC
  • Location:Germany

Posted Sat Mar 18, 2017 3:48 PM

10-4.

I am interested in your new layout. :)

 

haa what is 10-4 ?? Bank robbery ? :)



#11 schmitzi OFFLINE  

schmitzi

    River Patroller

  • 3,846 posts
  • ToXiC
  • Location:Germany

Posted Sat Mar 18, 2017 3:55 PM

10-36

 

We need a clock chip on the card  :)



#12 schmitzi OFFLINE  

schmitzi

    River Patroller

  • 3,846 posts
  • ToXiC
  • Location:Germany

Posted Sat Mar 18, 2017 3:59 PM

With the TI and ROS 8.34, ten disks are supported.  Each disk may be configured to a maximum size of 3200 sectors (800K) for a total 8MB worth of information.  This is double the capacity of ROS 8.14F.    One caveat is that if your RAMDisk needs to be reloaded, 8MB is a lot of data to reload.  ;)  

 

Is it possible to put the actual ROS on the FlashROM´99 ?



#13 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Sat Mar 18, 2017 4:10 PM

 
haa what is 10-4 ?? Bank robbery ? :)


10-4 = "affirmative" or "confirmed"

It indicates that a transmission has been received.

Edited by Opry99er, Sat Mar 18, 2017 4:10 PM.


#14 InsaneMultitasker OFFLINE  

InsaneMultitasker

    Stargunner

  • 1,711 posts

Posted Sat Mar 18, 2017 4:12 PM

Cool!

Will it need battery backing, or will it be Flash based?

I suppose anything is possible.  :)  However, as Ksarul said, it will at minimum be equivalent to the HRD4000, which requires battery backing, either for the circuit or at the chip level i.e., NVRAM.   I'm not too keen on the dual RAMdisk function or the Phoenix mod, since they are not really necessary with a few changes to the ROS, and they add more chips to the ramdisk for little gain.

 

 

 

Is it possible to put the actual ROS on the FlashROM´99 ?

I am sure you can put 'anything' on the FlashROM'99, but why would you want the Ramdisk OS there? ;)  ROS is the DSR for the Horizon RAMdisk.  Are you thinking of MENU or BOOT? 



#15 schmitzi OFFLINE  

schmitzi

    River Patroller

  • 3,846 posts
  • ToXiC
  • Location:Germany

Posted Sat Mar 18, 2017 6:33 PM

No, I am thinking of hoarding & sorting files :) :)

(no more plan on that for the moment, but will dig out my HRD soon)

 

---

 

Owen, yes, and  10-34 is "correct time" :)  

(whatever that means, but fits nice on the "clock chip" ) :)



#16 RXB OFFLINE  

RXB

    River Patroller

  • 2,766 posts
  • Location:Vancouver, Washington, USA

Posted Sun Mar 19, 2017 4:16 AM

It will be at a minimum, equivalent to an HRD 4000. I've been working with the Insane One to allow it to use his updated DSR and work like a single huge disk, instead of as a number of smaller ones. . .that also opens the way to disks well beyond 8M in size.

Do you mean the HRD would work like a SCSI Hard Drive with directories and multiple files per directories and even sub directories?






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users