Jump to content

Photo

A 1200 Question...


13 replies to this topic

#1 DavidMil OFFLINE  

DavidMil

    Chopper Commander

  • 223 posts
  • Location:Kingwood, Texas

Posted Sun Mar 19, 2017 4:35 PM

Did any software take advantage of the Function Keys on the 1200?

 

DavidMil

 



#2 tjlazer OFFLINE  

tjlazer

    Stargunner

  • 1,746 posts
  • Retro Atari Addict
  • Location:Historic South Tacoma, WA USA

Posted Sun Mar 19, 2017 6:13 PM

I haven't seen anything, but I'm curious as well.

Edited by tjlazer, Sun Mar 19, 2017 6:13 PM.


#3 ACML OFFLINE  

ACML

    Dragonstomper

  • 543 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Sun Mar 19, 2017 6:26 PM

These work in BASIC, Atariwriter, etc., but you have to have the 600/800XL or 1200XL OS.  The 400/800 and XE OS ROMs do not support the added keyboard functions. 

 

Non-Redefinable 1200XL Function Key Behavior

_____________________________________________________________

CONTROL + F1 Keyboard enable/disable (console keys not affected)

CONTROL + F2 Screen display enable/disable

CONTROL + F3 Key click sound enable/disable

CONTROL + F4 Domestic/International character set toggle

 

Redefinable 1200XL Function Key Behavior

___________________________________________

F1 Cursor up

SHIFT + F1 Cursor to upper-left corner

F2 Cursor down

SHIFT + F2 Cursor to lower-left corner

F3 Cursor left

SHIFT + F3 Cursor to start of physical line

F4 Cursor right

SHIFT + F4 Cursor to end of physical line


Edited by ACML, Sun Mar 19, 2017 6:30 PM.


#4 Gunstar OFFLINE  

Gunstar

    Gunstar

  • 8,148 posts
  • Location:Kellyville, Oklahoma

Posted Sun Mar 19, 2017 7:20 PM

I love the irony of the 1200XL, as far as I know, the only Atari 8-bit with no PAL edition, yet the only one with a built-in International Character set! I use the function keys for cursor movement and disabling the keyboard and screen (works great to speed up rendering of Super 3D Plotter and ChromaCAD 3D projects) all the time. I wonder if Atarimania has a list hidden away like they do with lists of trackball/mouse programs, keypad programs, etc.



#5 Josť Pereira OFFLINE  

Josť Pereira

    River Patroller

  • 3,966 posts
  • Location:Lisbon - Portugal

Posted Sun Mar 19, 2017 9:57 PM

But my 800XL also had the International letters built in though directly pressing CONTROL it shows the gfxs forms.
What do you mean with that? It shows them first instead of the letters?

Edited by Josť Pereira, Sun Mar 19, 2017 9:58 PM.


#6 Gunstar OFFLINE  

Gunstar

    Gunstar

  • 8,148 posts
  • Location:Kellyville, Oklahoma

Posted Mon Mar 20, 2017 7:42 AM

This is an educated guess, but I think that although your 800XL may have the International character set built in, a hold-over from the 1200XL OS, it can't be accessed with keyboard commands, or maybe not at all. You have to press control and F4 at the same time, and since there is no F4 on your 800XL...nada.


Edited by Gunstar, Mon Mar 20, 2017 7:43 AM.


#7 Josť Pereira OFFLINE  

Josť Pereira

    River Patroller

  • 3,966 posts
  • Location:Lisbon - Portugal

Posted Mon Mar 20, 2017 8:03 AM

Only posted because you said "yet the only one with a built-in international character set" ;).
Don't others than XLs also have?

#8 Gunstar OFFLINE  

Gunstar

    Gunstar

  • 8,148 posts
  • Location:Kellyville, Oklahoma

Posted Mon Mar 20, 2017 9:19 AM

Only posted because you said "yet the only one with a built-in international character set" ;).
Don't others than XLs also have?

I guess I worded it wrong, I mean, the only one with a built-in International character set that can be used. ;)

 

If you add some function keys to your 800XL so you can press CONTROL+F4, then yes, other XL can have an I.C. set.

I could be wrong, but I don't think so. Can YOU access your 800XL I.C. set?


Edited by Gunstar, Mon Mar 20, 2017 9:23 AM.


#9 Brentarian OFFLINE  

Brentarian

    Chopper Commander

  • 204 posts
  • Location:Columbus, GA

Posted Mon Mar 20, 2017 9:51 AM

From what I remember, all XL/XE's can use international character set. POKE 756,204 enables, and POKE 756,224 returns it back to normal ATASCII characters. unless a modified OS uses that area for something else...

#10 Josť Pereira OFFLINE  

Josť Pereira

    River Patroller

  • 3,966 posts
  • Location:Lisbon - Portugal

Posted Mon Mar 20, 2017 10:23 AM

You get always alphabet, numbers and punctation, arithmetic and other symbols together, no need to POKE, those graphic forms (the ones that are displayed on the 65/130XE and XEGS in the front of the bottom three lines of keys).
If you POKE 756,204 then you get all the first and the graphic forms are replaced for the international character set.

Edited by Josť Pereira, Mon Mar 20, 2017 10:41 AM.


#11 DavidMil OFFLINE  

DavidMil

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 223 posts
  • Location:Kingwood, Texas

Posted Mon Mar 20, 2017 11:09 AM

This has been a very interesting and educational thread.  The only one that I remember (or think I remembered after I started this thread) was Syncalc.   I'm glad you guys have the

knowledge and are willing to share.  Keep it coming!

 

Thanks again,

David Milsop

Kingwood, Texas



#12 Gunstar OFFLINE  

Gunstar

    Gunstar

  • 8,148 posts
  • Location:Kellyville, Oklahoma

Posted Mon Mar 20, 2017 11:41 AM

Well, it's good to know there is a way to select International Character sets on XL/XE's, but I am certainly glad I can do it far more easily by a couple of key presses and the irony of the only non-international Atari being the only one with such easy access is still valid. 



#13 kheller2 OFFLINE  

kheller2

    Dragonstomper

  • 848 posts
  • Location:PA, USA

Posted Tue Mar 21, 2017 5:23 AM

So along these lines, what programs made use of the extra LEDs? I swear there was a game that lit up each players turn.

#14 DavidMil OFFLINE  

DavidMil

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 223 posts
  • Location:Kingwood, Texas

Posted Tue Mar 21, 2017 11:36 AM

A good question kheller2.  And along with your question, what was Atari's description/reason for the L1 and L2 lights?

 

David






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users