Jump to content

Photo

BBS dial out Catch-All thread


99 replies to this topic

#1 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Mon Mar 20, 2017 9:31 PM

This thread is for dumping information on the TI, serial interfacing, dialing out via phone line modem to BBSes, etc...

Going to be posting some stuff here, asking for some stuff here... eventually will be posting videos here, etc.

Let the games begin. :)

#2 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Mon Mar 20, 2017 9:34 PM

First up... anyone have text docs for Mass Transfer (the XB2.7 Suite version)?

I think they were DV80 files on the disk itself, but I do not have a copy, not am I currently at a terminal to extract docs.


I HAVE extracted the Term80 docs and will post them to this thread either tonight or tomorrow.

#3 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Mon Mar 20, 2017 9:52 PM

Okay.  These are the documents for Mass Transfer 4.1--

 

Sorta tough to find, buried in the pc99 utility folder in whtech.com.

 

 

I have also attached the .DSK image for Mass Transfer 4.1 for anyone who needs it.

 

 

 

Spoiler

Attached Files



#4 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Mon Mar 20, 2017 10:01 PM

These are the documents for Term80

 

I have also attached the .DSK image for Term80 for anyone who needs it.

 

 

***edit***

 

These docs are truncated to 60k, but you can get the full versions inside the disk image.  The docs are there.  :)

 

 

 

Spoiler

Attached Files


Edited by Opry99er, Mon Mar 20, 2017 10:45 PM.


#5 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Mon Mar 20, 2017 10:27 PM

I bought this modem... Looks like an EXCELLENT choice.  In speaking with arcadeshopper, it appears that this one is handshake-ready with the TI... straight-thru cable will have the TI talking to this modem brilliantly.  (At least that's the plan)  ;)

 

 

I have attached the manual for this modem here so you can see the pinouts and determine if it is something for you!

 

002806-00.jpg

Attached Files



#6 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Mon Mar 20, 2017 10:38 PM

There are some very inexpensive straight thru cables on Amazon.  Here is one:

 

https://www.amazon.c...l straight thru

 

 

$2.95 a piece for a 3 foot cable.

 

 

41uyC9waxFL._SX425_.jpg

 

 

 

A short cable from the rs232 to the modem is all you need to dial out.  I have purchased a splitter box (Belkin Data Switch) so that I can remain hooked up to both my modem and my PC, and switch between them with the flick of a knob.

 

20170319_193203_zps2wuaegxj.jpg

 

20170319_193214_zpsq5t9wldj.jpg



#7 mister35mm OFFLINE  

mister35mm

    Star Raider

  • 73 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted Mon Mar 20, 2017 10:50 PM

Alternatively...

 

telehack.wikia.com/wiki/Telehack_Wiki



#8 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Mon Mar 20, 2017 11:19 PM

Not directly BBS related, but this is my favorite file transfer program for the TI.  This is a serial interfacing thread, too... so.  It counts.  :)

 

MagicFileManipulator, or MFM for short.

 

 

Excellent program.  Ernie Pergrem sent me my first copy many years ago in the mail so that I could start transferring files.  I did ALL the Opry99er serial transfer videos using this program.

Attached Files

  • Attached File  MFM.zip   28KB   7 downloads


#9 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Mon Mar 20, 2017 11:29 PM

Here are two PDFs.  A general and a detailed spec of the functions of the rs232 interface card... hardware, software, and protocol.

 

 

Attached Files



#10 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Mon Mar 20, 2017 11:45 PM

This is a fairly complete list of all the dial-up BBSes still in operation in North America.  Pretty awesome.

 

 

 

http://telnetbbsguid...ection/dial-up/



#11 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Sat Mar 25, 2017 2:18 AM

Alright, I have connected my system... I now have the US Robotics modem hooked up to my A/B box, as well as the serial cable out to my PC for transfers.  I have all the cables hooked up, ready to go for BBSing via dialup.

 

 

20170324_035102_zpsidbn8ydh.jpg

 

 

The ad for the modem said "Adapter Included"..... apparently we had differing opinions of what 'adapter' meant.  

 

 

 

20170324_035052_zpsus4qbfqg.jpg

 

 

 

So... it had an ETHERNET adapter, but no power adapter.... UGH!

 

Luckily I found a Universal Adapter at WalMart and picked it up... It cost more than the modem plus shipping.   :D

 

 

 

548beae7-a6fd-446b-aaed-adea280f1280_1.7

 

 

 

 

The phone company jerked me around this week and I still do not have a phone jack installed in my basement next to my system where I need it.  Fortunately, I have a 100ft phone cord upstairs... I don't think it will reach going down the two flights of stairs (plus it is hazardous) but I might be able to slip the cord out the window, down to the main level of the house, through the deck boards, and into the window of my basement, with just enough cord left to plug into my modem....

 

It's a long shot, but I am really eager to get up and running.

 

I had planned on trying to run the phone cord down tonight, but I spent the time after work getting all the gear set up just the way I wanted it, clearing up my desk a bit, vacuuming the floors, dusting, etc...  Now I can look at this set up and be proud of it.   :)

 

 

 

20170325_030425-01_zpsjq52ux7z.jpeg

 

 

 

20170325_030628-01_zpsdew53qtj.jpeg

 

 

 

 

Tomorrow, I will try to string the phone cord through the deck boards and dial in to the Hidden Reef.  :)

 

 

This hobby is insane........



#12 Lee Stewart ONLINE  

Lee Stewart

    River Patroller

  • 3,356 posts
  • Location:Silver Run, Maryland

Posted Sat Mar 25, 2017 9:58 AM

Does not the phone line go into your house to a small punch-down block in your basement?  Something like this, perhaps? 

 

Attached File  modular66PunchDown.png   98.01KB   1 downloads

 

...lee



#13 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Sat Mar 25, 2017 10:17 AM

Unfortunately no...

I have my phone through Frontier... I have one of these at the start of my phone line.


20170325_110916_zpsicbyb5qh.jpg

#14 Lee Stewart ONLINE  

Lee Stewart

    River Patroller

  • 3,356 posts
  • Location:Silver Run, Maryland

Posted Sat Mar 25, 2017 10:34 AM

Is that outside?  If outside, you still may have a block somewhere inside.

 

...lee



#15 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Sat Mar 25, 2017 10:47 AM

There is a small box on the inside of the same wall. My phone is currently plugged into that small box.

#16 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Sat Mar 25, 2017 10:50 AM

The temporary plan is to run a splitter off that box and run the long phone cord down to the basement

#17 arcadeshopper ONLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 2,497 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Sat Mar 25, 2017 11:39 AM

 

 

The ad for the modem said "Adapter Included"..... apparently we had differing opinions of what 'adapter' meant.  

 

 

 

20170324_035052_zpsus4qbfqg.jpg

 

 

 

So... it had an ETHERNET adapter, but no power adapter.... UGH!

 

 

 

This is not an ethernet adapter, it's a rs232 adapter to use an ethernet or other rj45 cable as the cable..  I used these on my BBS when I had 12 lines so that I could do wire management easier. Also good for making interchangeable adapters.

 

like dis one  https://smile.amazon...s=rs232 to rj45



#18 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Sat Mar 25, 2017 12:44 PM

Sweet!

#19 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Sun Mar 26, 2017 3:02 PM

So the straight through cable did not work... The docs on the modem were a bit confusing, so it was all wonky.

I had a straight through cable that I cut in half and used a meter to identify the necessary cables.

20170326_145739_zpsrt6k0prv.jpg


I didn't have any electrical tape, so it was suggested that I just do the ol' twisty McScotch tape dealy-o. Which I did.

:D

And I plugged it all up... and got an immediate response from the modem!!!

Yay!!!

I'll be attempting my first dial out later today.


The cable setup:

1 -- 1
2 -- 3
3 -- 2
6 -- 20
7 -- 7
20 -- 6

#20 schmitzi OFFLINE  

schmitzi

    River Patroller

  • 3,844 posts
  • ToXiC
  • Location:Germany

Posted Sun Mar 26, 2017 4:16 PM

:music:   :thumbsup:  8)



#21 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Sun Mar 26, 2017 7:54 PM

20170326_204736_zpsnfrcm9hu.jpg


And, success. :)

The colors are weird (not green on black) but so cool to DL files onto my disks natively. :)

#22 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Sun Mar 26, 2017 8:08 PM

Note: I did have to reset the modem to factory presets because it was not allowing my TI screen to see the data.

Greg McGill diagnosed that one pretty quickly. :)

BTW, I realized how badly I need 80 columns when I dialed in to thekeep.net. :) The awesome 80 col graphics don't look all that hot in 40 columns. :D

#23 Shift838 OFFLINE  

Shift838

    Stargunner

  • 1,944 posts
  • SHIFT838
  • Location:Texas

Posted Sun Mar 26, 2017 9:15 PM

Note: I did have to reset the modem to factory presets because it was not allowing my TI screen to see the data.

Greg McGill diagnosed that one pretty quickly. :)

BTW, I realized how badly I need 80 columns when I dialed in to thekeep.net. :) The awesome 80 col graphics don't look all that hot in 40 columns. :D

 

Sounds like it's time for an F18A!



#24 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Sun Mar 26, 2017 10:33 PM

This is why I love typewriters...

20170326_210050_zpstvwcesjo.jpg

Just a pack of cheap all purpose label stickers from the Dollar Tree and 5 seconds on my 1949 Royal KMG typer and "Who needs a label maker?!?!"

#25 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Sun Mar 26, 2017 11:12 PM

Also... CTRL+ = changes the screen color in Mass Transfer

FCTN + 1 changes the text color.


:D




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users