Jump to content

Photo

BBS dial out Catch-All thread


99 replies to this topic

#26 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Sun Mar 26, 2017 11:32 PM

I spent a good hour or two tonight tying up the phone line dialing out to BBSes.

Hey Chris, is Fusion equipped with dial-up? If so, I would very much like to dial in. :)

I have spent all my time on The Keep and The Reef tonight. So much fun, it should be illegal.

#27 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Mon Mar 27, 2017 12:06 PM

Buck loves The Hidden Reef. :)


20170327_120826-01_zpsjgrjwlgg.jpeg

#28 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Wed Mar 29, 2017 9:13 PM

This TELCO is a SIGNIFICANT upgrade... Holy cow. One-touch auto-dial. :)

20170329_214748-01_zps5vsupxsp.jpeg


Epic, epic, epic. Very glad to have this as a stop-gap until I start running the F18A-enhanced TIMXT.

Edited by Opry99er, Wed Mar 29, 2017 10:09 PM.


#29 Tursi OFFLINE  

Tursi

    River Patroller

  • 4,822 posts
  • HarmlessLion
  • Location:BUR

Posted Thu Mar 30, 2017 12:57 AM

I absolutely loved Telco, it was a great piece of software :)



#30 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    TI-Runner

  • 10,600 posts

Posted Thu Mar 30, 2017 5:51 AM

Back in the day I loved  and used Telco so much I was conditioned to jump when the end of download chime went off.  It's the reason I use it at the end of my videos now.



#31 InsaneMultitasker OFFLINE  

InsaneMultitasker

    Stargunner

  • 1,731 posts

Posted Thu Mar 30, 2017 9:31 AM

Telco was quite the feat.  I didn't care for the module loading when I had my floppy-only system, but it's abilities were (and are) quite amazing to this day.

 

When I wrote my terminal emulator for the Geneve, I used the same chimes to signal the end of a transfer.  There just didn't seem to be any other "proper" sound :)



#32 Vorticon OFFLINE  

Vorticon

    River Patroller

  • 2,805 posts
  • Location:Eagan, MN, USA

Posted Thu Mar 30, 2017 9:43 AM

Back in the day I loved  and used Telco so much I was conditioned to jump when the end of download chime went off.  It's the reason I use it at the end of my videos now.

 

Ah! Now I remember that chime! It sounded so familiar, and yet I could not place its origin :}



#33 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Thu Mar 30, 2017 10:04 AM

It is probably the most "professional" execution of any of the legacy software I have used. The overlapping windows, clean menus, the ability to customize virtually everything... I am a fan, for sure.

#34 mizapf OFFLINE  

mizapf

    River Patroller

  • 2,581 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Thu Mar 30, 2017 10:04 AM

I seem to remember that this chime is from somewhere else, maybe a game.

 

The only glitch in TELCO is that there is something wrong with the XModem transfer initiation; I think it expects a byte where the protocol does not. For my MDOS XModem tool I had to include a "TELCO option".



#35 InsaneMultitasker OFFLINE  

InsaneMultitasker

    Stargunner

  • 1,731 posts

Posted Thu Mar 30, 2017 12:36 PM

I seem to remember that this chime is from somewhere else, maybe a game.

I think the chime is in the Editor Assembler manual?



#36 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    TI-Runner

  • 10,600 posts

Posted Thu Mar 30, 2017 1:31 PM

Telco was quite the feat.  I didn't care for the module loading when I had my floppy-only system, but it's abilities were (and are) quite amazing to this day.

 

When I wrote my terminal emulator for the Geneve, I used the same chimes to signal the end of a transfer.  There just didn't seem to be any other "proper" sound icon_smile.gif

 

Yeah, but if you use Telco with a SuperCart it'll keep a couple of more modules active once loaded.  

 

Charles Earl thought of everything.  If he was releasing it these days, I bet all the modules with the exception of the macros and phone directory would be on a single cartridge.  And of course it would have been F18A compatible. icon_biggrin.gif

 

gallery_35324_1027_13406.jpg



#37 InsaneMultitasker OFFLINE  

InsaneMultitasker

    Stargunner

  • 1,731 posts

Posted Thu Mar 30, 2017 2:07 PM

Charles Earl thought of everything.  If he was releasing it these days, I bet all the modules with the exception of the macros and phone directory would be on a single cartridge.  And of course it would have been F18A compatible. icon_biggrin.gif

If someone was to track down the source code or obtain it from the author, I would be willing to take a stab at updating it to work with the F18A as well as implement the color ANSI and high speed RS232 routines from TIMXT. 



#38 Tursi OFFLINE  

Tursi

    River Patroller

  • 4,822 posts
  • HarmlessLion
  • Location:BUR

Posted Thu Mar 30, 2017 2:51 PM

I think the chime is in the Editor Assembler manual?

 

Yes, it's one of the sound samples. I used it in my own BBS as the 'page sysop' sound and in Mr Chin as the extra life sound (even on the Coleco version ;) )



#39 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    TI-Runner

  • 10,600 posts

Posted Thu Mar 30, 2017 8:53 PM

Owen,

   I'm not sure if you've been able to print the Telco Documentation or not.  So just in case, here is the PDF conversion I made a couple of years back that will let you print up your own book on a modern printer.

 

gallery_35324_1027_45434.jpg

 

 

Attached Files



#40 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Thu Mar 30, 2017 9:53 PM

Thanks. I had downloaded it but had not yet had a chance to print it. :D

Nicely done, BTW.

#41 Shift838 OFFLINE  

Shift838

    Stargunner

  • 1,950 posts
  • SHIFT838
  • Location:Texas

Posted Thu Mar 30, 2017 10:03 PM

I spent a good hour or two tonight tying up the phone line dialing out to BBSes.

Hey Chris, is Fusion equipped with dial-up? If so, I would very much like to dial in. :)

I have spent all my time on The Keep and The Reef tonight. So much fun, it should be illegal.

 

No, FuSiON is only telnet accessible.  The phone company has gone almost complete digital and the analog modems seem to not connect worth a crap.  At least in my area that seems to be the case so I have only put it up via telnet.



#42 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Thu Mar 30, 2017 10:21 PM

Gotcha. Thanks for letting me know. :)

#43 aftyde OFFLINE  

aftyde

    Chopper Commander

  • 219 posts

Posted Fri Mar 31, 2017 7:29 AM

What could be the best terminal program for accessing the Hidden Reef.  Just got the modem working again...  



#44 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Fri Mar 31, 2017 8:26 AM

Telco for me... select green text on black background.

If you have xb2.7, you can use Mass Transfer (option F from the menu screen)

#45 RickyDean OFFLINE  

RickyDean

    Dragonstomper

  • 685 posts

Posted Fri Mar 31, 2017 8:39 AM

Telco was my TI option, great. But my main system was PFM+ Genny and Port was the program, Tim does great work.



#46 aftyde OFFLINE  

aftyde

    Chopper Commander

  • 219 posts

Posted Fri Mar 31, 2017 11:13 AM

Telco for me... select green text on black background.

If you have xb2.7, you can use Mass Transfer (option F from the menu screen)

 

Mass Transfer just locks up from xb2.7, perhaps it doesn't like the HDX mod on the card???  I am able to use it with ZTERM, comes up "ROM Interrupt Mode Activated" and seems to work slowly (misses keystrokes and such when attempting to post - annoying) at least the card is talking to the modem.



#47 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Fri Mar 31, 2017 11:20 AM

What cable configuration are you using from the rs233 to the modem?

Edited by Opry99er, Fri Mar 31, 2017 11:21 AM.


#48 InsaneMultitasker OFFLINE  

InsaneMultitasker

    Stargunner

  • 1,731 posts

Posted Fri Mar 31, 2017 3:44 PM

Telco was my TI option, great. But my main system was PFM+ Genny and Port was the program,

When I wrote Port I really wanted two things:  speed and color ansi.  :)   I still use it these days for the hex dump mode, where the top 10 lines of the screen are reserved to display every incoming character, in hex.  Makes it much easier to debug protocols and such. 



#49 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 2,555 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Fri Mar 31, 2017 4:22 PM

I think the chime is in the Editor Assembler manual?

 

yes but the original program wouldn't work as it has a bug prob fixed in one of the errata's 



#50 aftyde OFFLINE  

aftyde

    Chopper Commander

  • 219 posts

Posted Sat Apr 1, 2017 8:08 AM

Is there a F18A compatible terminal program?  I have something on my FlashROM but it seems corrupted - garbage at the bottom of the screen and all.






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users