Jump to content

Photo

BBS dial out Catch-All thread


108 replies to this topic

#101 Opry99er ONLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 10,208 posts
  • Location:Hustisford, WI

Posted Fri Nov 30, 2018 11:00 AM

Welp, necro time...

I've moved into a new house in a new state and have a new ISP. There are no copper-line phone companies anymore, so I'll be using Frontier DSL.

As in my last house, I need a phone jack installed in my dungeon. Service technician is coming out Monday.

I've lost my custom Telco diskette, so I get to start from scratch. :) I'm actually excited to go through the journey again. Hopefully, by Tuesday night, I'll be surfing the boards at a blazing 1200 baud. ;)

#102 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    Sunbaenim

  • 13,207 posts

Posted Fri Nov 30, 2018 11:10 AM

 

Hopefully, by Tuesday night, I'll be surfing the boards at a blazing 1200 baud. ;)

 

Ooooh smokin'!   :lolblue:

Seriously, it''s fast enough for Chatti too!  Log in and see if you have any messages.



#103 Opry99er ONLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 10,208 posts
  • Location:Hustisford, WI

Posted Fri Nov 30, 2018 11:43 AM

No TIPI

#104 arcadeshopper ONLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 3,952 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Fri Nov 30, 2018 12:15 PM

No TIPI

 

i have sidecars in stock ;)



#105 OLD CS1 OFFLINE  

OLD CS1

    Technomancer

  • 5,787 posts
  • Technology Samurai
  • Location:Tallahassee, FL

Posted Fri Nov 30, 2018 3:36 PM

Welp, necro time...

I've moved into a new house in a new state and have a new ISP. There are no copper-line phone companies anymore, so I'll be using Frontier DSL.

As in my last house, I need a phone jack installed in my dungeon. Service technician is coming out Monday.

 

I am confuse; request clarification.  Does Frontier really suck so badly they offer DSL (which is over copper) on a "dry pair," with no dial-tone??



#106 Opry99er ONLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 10,208 posts
  • Location:Hustisford, WI

Posted Fri Nov 30, 2018 3:41 PM

Not 100% sure what you're asking there, but Frontier's phone service is standard compressed VOIP. There is a dial tone, but it runs on a bandwidth-saving compression that cuts down the available baud rate.

#107 Opry99er ONLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 10,208 posts
  • Location:Hustisford, WI

Posted Tue Dec 4, 2018 3:38 AM

Alrighty folks.... back up and running!! :D

Tonight I made a video logging into the Reef and uploading a file. It's compressing now and I'll upload it tomorrow.

With my service, 2400 baud is as good as I'm going to get... but it's enough. :)



Attached File  9305316C-7336-4BC1-AD22-45C861A18DEB.jpeg   1.44MB   0 downloads

Attached File  2963FD53-EBD2-40F0-A57C-25F3FABB484A.jpeg   539.11KB   0 downloads

Attached File  701FE248-056C-4B76-B67E-6CF306727EDA.jpeg   539.66KB   0 downloads

#108 Opry99er ONLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 10,208 posts
  • Location:Hustisford, WI

Posted Tue Dec 4, 2018 11:35 AM

Posted a video of some BBSing fun here:


http://atariage.com/...f/#entry4170214

#109 FarmerPotato OFFLINE  

FarmerPotato

    Chopper Commander

  • 181 posts
  • Location:Austin, TX

Posted Wed Dec 5, 2018 8:41 AM

 

I am confuse; request clarification.  Does Frontier really suck so badly they offer DSL (which is over copper) on a "dry pair," with no dial-tone??

 

I had Frontier in rural Wisconsin in 2012. The town was mostly legacy copper. We subscribed to DSL only, no voice plan, and it came with a dial tone, 911 out and incoming calls only. Was the last time I used my 1992 "Princess Phone".

 

Time Warner gave me a quote to bring fiber from the highway into the neighborhood. $17,000 divided amongst us to pass each mailbox, but not to connect to the house. Copper lives on.






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users