Jump to content

Photo

Flashrom 99 or Crashrom 99


8 replies to this topic

#1 cbmbsw OFFLINE  

cbmbsw

    Combat Commando

  • 5 posts
  • Location:OKRVALLEY

Posted Wed Mar 29, 2017 11:17 PM

Might it be possible ,that the using of the Flashrm 99 kills european TI-99/4a,after half n our of use ?

If this is so ,its an expensive way to do..

Have anyone out the the same probs with overheating ???

Tested with 2 running Ti s..for me as a programmer its a horrible thinkin,

to sell something without test,or is it a Testrom 99/ CRASHROM ??-- ( very angry )



#2 ralphb ONLINE  

ralphb

    Moonsweeper

  • 425 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Wed Mar 29, 2017 11:52 PM

Never heard of such problems, and there are more than 200 FlashROMs in circulation.

 

Where did you get yours?



#3 sometimes99er OFFLINE  

sometimes99er

    River Patroller

  • 3,830 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Thu Mar 30, 2017 12:16 AM

Old computers have a certain tendency to break. If you only turn them on to test them, then tests will seem to be the cause of failure.

 

You could eliminate the FlashROM99 from the equation by using an old cartridge like TI Invaders instead.



#4 gfreige OFFLINE  

gfreige

    Star Raider

  • 74 posts
  • Location:La Plata, Argentina

Posted Thu Mar 30, 2017 12:54 AM

I've used flashrom99 in both a PAL and a NTSC TI without problems. Mostly in the NTSC one, but even my pretty battered PAL one (an argentinean model) runs it fine. I bought mine directly from ralph preassembled 



#5 vectrexroli OFFLINE  

vectrexroli

    Moonsweeper

  • 451 posts

Posted Thu Mar 30, 2017 2:09 AM

Got my Flashrom directly from Ralph and I have it running for hours on my European TI-99, so I am pretty sure that there are no design flaws that will kill your computer. What always could be is that something is wrong with your specific Flashrom version you got.



#6 PeBo OFFLINE  

PeBo

    Dragonstomper

  • 714 posts
  • Location:Toronto, Canada

Posted Thu Mar 30, 2017 11:49 AM

anytime my Flashrom has crashed it was one of two things:

 

1 (most common): it was my nanoPEB that had to be reseated (so if you use a sidecar memory, check that. Bet that your problem is a sidecar memory one not a cartridge one)

2. The cartridge itself was not inserted effectively (the TI cartridge port is not the most reliable  - especially if it is heavily used (lots of swapping carts). Ofcourse this is a good reason to HAVE a FR99.

 

(or FGR99 - I say with great antici...

 

 

 

 

...pation)



#7 schmitzi OFFLINE  

schmitzi

    River Patroller

  • 3,692 posts
  • ToXiC
  • Location:Germany

Posted Fri Apr 7, 2017 4:38 PM

Anything new on that "very angry" problem ??



#8 ralphb ONLINE  

ralphb

    Moonsweeper

  • 425 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Thu Apr 13, 2017 4:53 AM

The OP apologized to me and said that his TI had bad VRAM.  So all is well now.



#9 schmitzi OFFLINE  

schmitzi

    River Patroller

  • 3,692 posts
  • ToXiC
  • Location:Germany

Posted Thu Apr 13, 2017 5:06 AM

cool.






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users