Jump to content

Photo

Amoeba: newly discovered proto software


51 replies to this topic

#1 Savetz OFFLINE  

Savetz

    Dragonstomper

  • 816 posts
  • Location:Portland OR

Posted Mon Apr 3, 2017 4:22 PM

I recently acquired a batch of APX disks, and one of the disks appears to be unreleased prototype software. I have no idea what it is supposed to do. A utility of some sort? Let's figure it out.

 

It is labeled:

AMOEBA

© 1982 atari inc

REV # Prototype

SERIAL # 21

 

Screenshot 2017-04-03 15.12.24.png

Attached File  Amoeba.atr   90.02KB   85 downloads

Attached File  Amoeba_kyroflux.zip   4.08MB   54 downloads

image1.JPG



#2 tschak909 OFFLINE  

tschak909

    Stargunner

  • 1,793 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Mon Apr 3, 2017 4:34 PM

Any back story on this?



#3 tschak909 OFFLINE  

tschak909

    Stargunner

  • 1,793 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Mon Apr 3, 2017 4:42 PM

ok, so first of all, it needs OS B, will not work in XL or XE. When placed in memory, it displays something very much like an in-memory debugger.

 

-Thom



#4 tschak909 OFFLINE  

tschak909

    Stargunner

  • 1,793 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Mon Apr 3, 2017 4:44 PM

Ah, mini assembler too. very nice... mini disassembler as well. looks like a nice little programmers workbench. Where the F@#()532 did this come from?

-Thom



#5 tschak909 OFFLINE  

tschak909

    Stargunner

  • 1,793 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Mon Apr 3, 2017 4:47 PM

ok, so.. definitely a combo of an in-memory disassembler and re-assembler for doing quick patches to code that's been assembled into memory.

 

-Thom



#6 MrFish OFFLINE  

MrFish

    River Patroller

  • 4,080 posts
  • Location:1010-1010

Posted Mon Apr 3, 2017 4:52 PM

Some screenshots:

 

amoeba 1.png    amoeba 2.png

 

amoeba 3.png     amoeba 4.png

 


Edited by MrFish, Mon Apr 3, 2017 5:05 PM.


#7 Savetz OFFLINE  

Savetz

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 816 posts
  • Location:Portland OR

Posted Mon Apr 3, 2017 5:05 PM

Oh! I should have though of using OS B given the copyright date. Duh.

 

Backstory: not interesting. I bought this on ebay as part of a batch that had some unpreserved APX disks. I have asked the seller if s/he can give me more info, but haven't heard back yet.

 

-Kevin



#8 tschak909 OFFLINE  

tschak909

    Stargunner

  • 1,793 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Mon Apr 3, 2017 5:11 PM

I'm throwing together a quick video on how this works. Stay tuned.

 

-Thom



#9 Savetz OFFLINE  

Savetz

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 816 posts
  • Location:Portland OR

Posted Mon Apr 3, 2017 5:14 PM

When I run it from DOS 2.0S under Atari800MacX, after I enter a two-digit number I get THANK YOU PLEASE WAIT, then it hangs or crashes.



#10 Bill Lange OFFLINE  

Bill Lange

    Dragonstomper

  • 827 posts
  • Location:Somerset, NJ

Posted Mon Apr 3, 2017 5:23 PM

after I enter a two-digit number I get THANK YOU PLEASE WAIT, then it hangs or crashes.

 

What memory location are you putting it at?  I used 38 and it crashed, but it worked at 40.

 

Bill



#11 Savetz OFFLINE  

Savetz

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 816 posts
  • Location:Portland OR

Posted Mon Apr 3, 2017 5:31 PM

What memory location are you putting it at?  I used 38 and it crashed, but it worked at 40.

 

Bill

 

40 works!



#12 DrVenkman OFFLINE  

DrVenkman

    River Patroller

  • 2,264 posts
  • Back off, man! I'm a scientist.
  • Location:KMBT

Posted Mon Apr 3, 2017 5:31 PM

Well, I just loaded it with DOS 2.5. I used 60 (based on long-ago fooling-around-with-tiny-ML-routines memories as a teenager) and it worked.



#13 MrFish OFFLINE  

MrFish

    River Patroller

  • 4,080 posts
  • Location:1010-1010

Posted Mon Apr 3, 2017 6:50 PM

ok, so first of all, it needs OS B, will not work in XL or XE.

 

Interestingly, it will work in Altirra with 600XL/800XL or 65XE/130XE hardware selected and Altirra OS for XL/XE/XEGS. It doesn't like 1200XL or XEGS hardware with this OS, though.



#14 luckybuck OFFLINE  

luckybuck

    Dragonstomper

  • 696 posts

Posted Mon Apr 3, 2017 8:03 PM

Starts good in version 3.0 :-)

 

Startscreen.jpg

 

 

As Thom said, an debugger like DDT and BUG/65...

 

With Select one can switch...


Edited by luckybuck, Mon Apr 3, 2017 8:07 PM.


#15 tschak909 OFFLINE  

tschak909

    Stargunner

  • 1,793 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Mon Apr 3, 2017 11:12 PM

I've made a video showing it's usage and workflow:

 

 

Enjoy.

 

p.s. took longer than expected, because OBS and Altirra DO NOT like playing with one another!



#16 Stephen OFFLINE  

Stephen

    Quadrunner

  • 6,383 posts
  • A8 Gear Head
  • Location:Akron, Ohio

Posted Tue Apr 4, 2017 10:14 AM

Man - that would have been great to have something like that in ROM rather than the self test.  I'm sure there's way more than 2K of code.  Could this by chance be used in place of built in BASIC?



#17 tschak909 OFFLINE  

tschak909

    Stargunner

  • 1,793 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Tue Apr 4, 2017 10:32 AM

too big in its present state.

 

-Thom



#18 TangentAudio OFFLINE  

TangentAudio

    Chopper Commander

  • 217 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Tue Apr 4, 2017 10:48 AM

Wow, this actually looks like it could be a useful tool for current development - I'm kind of inspired to try it out for developing my PBI handler.  Not knowing how complete or bug-free it may be is a concern, of course...



#19 luckybuck OFFLINE  

luckybuck

    Dragonstomper

  • 696 posts

Posted Tue Apr 4, 2017 11:05 AM

Please further compare to these:

https://atariwiki.or....jsp?page=Bug65

https://atariwiki.or...ki.jsp?page=DDT

https://atariwiki.or...ge=Extended_DDT

http://atariage.com/...imon-cartridge/


Edited by luckybuck, Tue Apr 4, 2017 11:13 AM.


#20 tschak909 OFFLINE  

tschak909

    Stargunner

  • 1,793 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Tue Apr 4, 2017 5:32 PM

Looks like the mini-assembler, and patching functionality already set this debugger above most of the others.

 

-Thom



#21 Stephen OFFLINE  

Stephen

    Quadrunner

  • 6,383 posts
  • A8 Gear Head
  • Location:Akron, Ohio

Posted Tue Apr 4, 2017 6:42 PM

Would be great if we could discover the author.  Given the early date, I'd assume it would have had to be an internal Atari project.



#22 _The Doctor__ OFFLINE  

_The Doctor__

    River Patroller

  • 2,354 posts
  • Location:10-0-11-00:02

Posted Wed Apr 5, 2017 1:12 AM

keep digging this was not the last rendition of Amoeba if memory serves.. I don't remember it as a protoype but it should have a serial number in this case the custom vtoc says prototype 21 but 21 is actually the serial number of the program disk, not the revision of the prototype... The name said it all, it could be be moved about in memory and could muck about with whatever was in memory... and you could even move it after your program ran into it's space and continue on. Leave and pick up where you left off...  Thom you are doing an excellent explanation of the Amoeba toolkit, I really do enjoy watching this. Please play with Amoeba just a bit more :). How high have you moved it in memory and what memory expansions have you tried axlon/mosaic? Wonderful work.


Edited by _The Doctor__, Wed Apr 5, 2017 1:32 AM.


#23 tschak909 OFFLINE  

tschak909

    Stargunner

  • 1,793 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Wed Apr 5, 2017 10:07 AM

keep digging this was not the last rendition of Amoeba if memory serves.. I don't remember it as a protoype but it should have a serial number in this case the custom vtoc says prototype 21 but 21 is actually the serial number of the program disk, not the revision of the prototype... The name said it all, it could be be moved about in memory and could muck about with whatever was in memory... and you could even move it after your program ran into it's space and continue on. Leave and pick up where you left off...  Thom you are doing an excellent explanation of the Amoeba toolkit, I really do enjoy watching this. Please play with Amoeba just a bit more :). How high have you moved it in memory and what memory expansions have you tried axlon/mosaic? Wonderful work.

 

Ok, you need to spill. What do _you_ know about it? Particularly the Patch functionality? :)

 

-Thom



#24 Savetz OFFLINE  

Savetz

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 816 posts
  • Location:Portland OR

Posted Wed Apr 5, 2017 10:15 AM

tschak909's questions, plus : how did you know about it? Did it get out of Atari internal use, or were you inside Atari?



#25 tschak909 OFFLINE  

tschak909

    Stargunner

  • 1,793 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Wed Apr 5, 2017 10:16 AM

it's almost like somebody wanted something as close to a full ICE (in-circuit-emulator) system as they could get, and was willing to pull off some crazy gymnastics to make it work (For those of you who haven't dabbled in 6502 machine language coding, making code to _EXPLICITLY_ set processor flag states in EACH possible state is not trivial, it takes a lot of crazy gymnastics to do so for some flags in some states.)

 

-Thom






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users