IGNORED

Inflate/Deflate Has anyone optimized these routines

peteym5

Has anyone optimized "Inflate.asm" so it can inflate into RAM faster or get the routine to use less space? I did a few things with it over the years to see if it can inflate any faster. But this program is outside my normal knowledge dealing with compression. Many times I experimented with something to optimized it, can get garbage loaded into RAM. I did see it was originally inefficient with CPU usage, had many extra JSR calls that could be removed. Anybody else do anything with this program?

Hmmmm, whenever the inflate routine was used in an A8 program, it was stated later: "inflate routine by FoX", so you most likely have to ask FoX about it... ;-) His real world name is Piotr Fusik and you can find some code and info at Github:

https://github.com/pfusik/zlib6502

https://github.com/pfusik/zlib6502/commit/3faede80c34b7a060715873e4834d1fe3acebbfa

And no, I am not a programmer, so I never do anything with ASM sources (or any other programming sources)...

The main reason that decoding Deflate takes so much space is that it uses no less than three Huffman trees per dynamic block: one tree for literal/distance code, a second tree for the length codes, and a third tree to encode the first two (along with run-length encoding!). You can reduce this by making concessions such as hardcoding some or all of the trees and limiting encodings. For instance, restricting distances to 256 bytes would simplify the copy routine. These are difficult to take advantage of without customizing the compressor, however.

Before doing that, though, you might want to just check if LZ4 will work; its compression ratio won't be as good, but that may be made up for by a smaller decompressor. Deflate also tends to get poorer compression ratios on small streams due to the relatively large header on each dynamic block, so LZ4 might even get better compression at Atari-scale.

Edited by phaeron
  • Like 1