Jump to content

Photo

RAM upgrades

RAM upgrade mod atari

58 replies to this topic

#51 DrVenkman OFFLINE  

DrVenkman

    Stargunner

  • 1,495 posts
  • Starmaster Leader
  • Location:KMBT

Posted Sat Apr 15, 2017 1:53 PM

One of the challenges is that most of these upgrades go through multiple production periods.  Someone announces they will build a batch if there is sufficient interest, orders come in, a certain number are made and then they are out of production until another batch is announced, sometimes years later by an entirely different person.

 

This is what makes understanding what is available so difficult for newbies. 

 

Exactly! And frankly why something like the U1MB is now so commonly-recommended for "serious" hobbyists who want to use their machines for a variety of general purposes - being commercially-produced for a number of years now, it's readily available, the firmware is still have active bug-fixes and maintenance (thanks, Jon!) and all the quirks associated with it are pretty well-understood at this point. 



#52 relo999 OFFLINE  

relo999

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 56 posts
  • Location:The Nether-lands

Posted Sat Apr 15, 2017 1:55 PM

One of the challenges is that most of these upgrades go through multiple production periods.  Someone announces they will build a batch if there is sufficient interest, orders come in, a certain number are made and then they are out of production until another batch is announced, sometimes years later by an entirely different person.

 

This is what makes understanding what is available so difficult for newbies. 

I'll add that bit in and make a category for those that, as far as I know, are plagued by such availability issues. Which makes things a bit easier.



#53 JoSch ONLINE  

JoSch

    Moonsweeper

  • 371 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Sat Apr 15, 2017 2:30 PM

 
As far as I know, the SysCheck requires the 600XL to be upgraded to 64K for the 512K expansion to work. 
 
Edit: I ran a quick test on a 600, and the ram expansion doesn't work. The O/S switcher works, but my imagination isn't vivid enough to imagine what a 16K machine can be used for.  

Yeah, just wanted to be sure for the sake of a correct guide.
As for the usefulness: The 16k 600XL sure is a fine machine for cart games. But I have to say that I upgraded my 600XL to 64k.

#54 relo999 OFFLINE  

relo999

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 56 posts
  • Location:The Nether-lands

Posted Fri Apr 21, 2017 8:35 AM

Does anybody know good and broad guides to install upgrades (preferably ones that adress multiple machines)? I think that adds a lot of value to the guide as it also shows difficulty of installing, which would impact a purchasing decision.

Also, more out of curiosity, what is the difference between the original U1MB and the U1MB 2K14 revision?



#55 Stefan Both OFFLINE  

Stefan Both

    Chopper Commander

  • 219 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Fri Apr 21, 2017 2:00 PM

the aditional resistors as far as I remember...

Stefan

#56 steddyman OFFLINE  

steddyman

    Space Invader

  • 27 posts

Posted Fri Apr 21, 2017 4:29 PM

Great post.  This should be stickied.



#57 flashjazzcat OFFLINE  

flashjazzcat

    Quadrunner

  • 12,213 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted Sat Apr 22, 2017 1:31 AM

Also, more out of curiosity, what is the difference between the original U1MB and the U1MB 2K14 revision?


First run of U1MB (Candle) required resistors in the MMU cable (to prevent over-voltage of Xilinx chip with certain cartridges). Subsequent black PCBs had the resistors incorporated on the PCB. "Revised" 2K14 version simply replaced the boxed IDC connectors on the board with inferior right-angle header pins and omitted the JTAG connector.

#58 relo999 OFFLINE  

relo999

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 56 posts
  • Location:The Nether-lands

Posted Sat Apr 22, 2017 4:49 PM

Than a lot of tutorials on how to install it seem to be outdated considering, I assume because it's logical, the only board on the market already has the resistor fix in. Something, aside from Lotharek bullet points which aren't very newbie friendly, all mention you should do by cutting traces and adding resistors (but maybe I'm looking in the wrong places).



#59 DrVenkman OFFLINE  

DrVenkman

    Stargunner

  • 1,495 posts
  • Starmaster Leader
  • Location:KMBT

Posted Sat Apr 22, 2017 5:06 PM

Than a lot of tutorials on how to install it seem to be outdated considering, I assume because it's logical, the only board on the market already has the resistor fix in. Something, aside from Lotharek bullet points which aren't very newbie friendly, all mention you should do by cutting traces and adding resistors (but maybe I'm looking in the wrong places).

 

To install a U1MB in a fully-socketed motherboard, all  you do is pull two chips, insert the two ribbon cables from the U1MB in their places, and then solder four jumper wires between the U1MB and vias on the board. No need whatsoever to cut traces or add resistors (*).

 

CAVEAT: to ensure stability in a troublesome board, you might need to add a very small capacitor between two pins on the U1MB. This fix was identified in the last year or so for difficult "noisy" machines by Hias and flashjazzcat. My 800XL does not need this fix but if I ever install a second one in a 1200XL of mine that was problematic, I'll give that a try.







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: RAM, upgrade, mod, atari

0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users