Jump to content

Photo

RAM upgrades

RAM upgrade mod atari

64 replies to this topic

#51 DrVenkman OFFLINE  

DrVenkman

    Stargunner

  • 1,804 posts
  • Back off, man! I'm a scientist.
  • Location:KMBT

Posted Sat Apr 15, 2017 1:53 PM

One of the challenges is that most of these upgrades go through multiple production periods.  Someone announces they will build a batch if there is sufficient interest, orders come in, a certain number are made and then they are out of production until another batch is announced, sometimes years later by an entirely different person.

 

This is what makes understanding what is available so difficult for newbies. 

 

Exactly! And frankly why something like the U1MB is now so commonly-recommended for "serious" hobbyists who want to use their machines for a variety of general purposes - being commercially-produced for a number of years now, it's readily available, the firmware is still have active bug-fixes and maintenance (thanks, Jon!) and all the quirks associated with it are pretty well-understood at this point. 



#52 relo999 OFFLINE  

relo999

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 69 posts
  • Location:The Nether-lands

Posted Sat Apr 15, 2017 1:55 PM

One of the challenges is that most of these upgrades go through multiple production periods.  Someone announces they will build a batch if there is sufficient interest, orders come in, a certain number are made and then they are out of production until another batch is announced, sometimes years later by an entirely different person.

 

This is what makes understanding what is available so difficult for newbies. 

I'll add that bit in and make a category for those that, as far as I know, are plagued by such availability issues. Which makes things a bit easier.



#53 JoSch OFFLINE  

JoSch

    Moonsweeper

  • 422 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Sat Apr 15, 2017 2:30 PM

 
As far as I know, the SysCheck requires the 600XL to be upgraded to 64K for the 512K expansion to work. 
 
Edit: I ran a quick test on a 600, and the ram expansion doesn't work. The O/S switcher works, but my imagination isn't vivid enough to imagine what a 16K machine can be used for.  

Yeah, just wanted to be sure for the sake of a correct guide.
As for the usefulness: The 16k 600XL sure is a fine machine for cart games. But I have to say that I upgraded my 600XL to 64k.

#54 relo999 OFFLINE  

relo999

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 69 posts
  • Location:The Nether-lands

Posted Fri Apr 21, 2017 8:35 AM

Does anybody know good and broad guides to install upgrades (preferably ones that adress multiple machines)? I think that adds a lot of value to the guide as it also shows difficulty of installing, which would impact a purchasing decision.

Also, more out of curiosity, what is the difference between the original U1MB and the U1MB 2K14 revision?



#55 Stefan Both OFFLINE  

Stefan Both

    Chopper Commander

  • 238 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Fri Apr 21, 2017 2:00 PM

the aditional resistors as far as I remember...

Stefan

#56 steddyman OFFLINE  

steddyman

    Star Raider

  • 57 posts

Posted Fri Apr 21, 2017 4:29 PM

Great post.  This should be stickied.



#57 flashjazzcat ONLINE  

flashjazzcat

    Quadrunner

  • 12,349 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted Sat Apr 22, 2017 1:31 AM

Also, more out of curiosity, what is the difference between the original U1MB and the U1MB 2K14 revision?


First run of U1MB (Candle) required resistors in the MMU cable (to prevent over-voltage of Xilinx chip with certain cartridges). Subsequent black PCBs had the resistors incorporated on the PCB. "Revised" 2K14 version simply replaced the boxed IDC connectors on the board with inferior right-angle header pins and omitted the JTAG connector.

#58 relo999 OFFLINE  

relo999

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 69 posts
  • Location:The Nether-lands

Posted Sat Apr 22, 2017 4:49 PM

Than a lot of tutorials on how to install it seem to be outdated considering, I assume because it's logical, the only board on the market already has the resistor fix in. Something, aside from Lotharek bullet points which aren't very newbie friendly, all mention you should do by cutting traces and adding resistors (but maybe I'm looking in the wrong places).



#59 DrVenkman OFFLINE  

DrVenkman

    Stargunner

  • 1,804 posts
  • Back off, man! I'm a scientist.
  • Location:KMBT

Posted Sat Apr 22, 2017 5:06 PM

Than a lot of tutorials on how to install it seem to be outdated considering, I assume because it's logical, the only board on the market already has the resistor fix in. Something, aside from Lotharek bullet points which aren't very newbie friendly, all mention you should do by cutting traces and adding resistors (but maybe I'm looking in the wrong places).

 

To install a U1MB in a fully-socketed motherboard, all  you do is pull two chips, insert the two ribbon cables from the U1MB in their places, and then solder four jumper wires between the U1MB and vias on the board. No need whatsoever to cut traces or add resistors (*).

 

CAVEAT: to ensure stability in a troublesome board, you might need to add a very small capacitor between two pins on the U1MB. This fix was identified in the last year or so for difficult "noisy" machines by Hias and flashjazzcat. My 800XL does not need this fix but if I ever install a second one in a 1200XL of mine that was problematic, I'll give that a try.



#60 relo999 OFFLINE  

relo999

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 69 posts
  • Location:The Nether-lands

Posted Tue May 9, 2017 7:09 AM

Small update, I added a resource header for other or more in depth info on ram upgrades. And I'm planning to add a section that shows chip locations on the motherboards (or a link to a post that shows them), unless someone already knows of such a resource. As that is quite useful for modding purposes.



#61 scotty OFFLINE  

scotty

    Moonsweeper

  • 307 posts
  • I have, but have **YOU** played Atari today?
  • Location:North Olmsted, Ohio

Posted Tue May 9, 2017 9:08 AM

 

But if you go the U1MB route, there are other benefits: first, it's super easy to install - two ribbon cables that plug into existing sockets in XL machines (some later models and the XE machines might require desoldering chips), plus four easy wire jumpers to solder to via points on the board. Second, the U1MB lets you select from four different OS roms for your particular needs, 4 versions of BASIC (or any other 8K rom you might want to use), and optionally 4 XEGS game roms if you use an XEGS OS and set a jumper on the U1MB board. 

 

Which jumper is it??  Also, what is the procedure to get it to boot the XEGS game?  Real hardware is to unplug the keyboard.  I am sure that is not the case with the U1MB.

 

 

 



#62 relo999 OFFLINE  

relo999

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 69 posts
  • Location:The Nether-lands

Posted Tue May 9, 2017 9:18 AM

Which jumper is it??  Also, what is the procedure to get it to boot the XEGS game?  Real hardware is to unplug the keyboard.  I am sure that is not the case with the U1MB.

 

http://atariage.com/...te-1mb-on-xegs/

This suggest P3 header. Although I see online that other versions of the board can call it XEGS mode.



#63 dakidski OFFLINE  

dakidski

    Space Invader

  • 43 posts

Posted Tue May 9, 2017 10:05 AM

I never really needed more than 64KB. :)



#64 relo999 OFFLINE  

relo999

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 69 posts
  • Location:The Nether-lands

Posted Mon May 15, 2017 7:50 AM

I installed the Ultimate 1MB (I'll write up a more detailed and updated install guide than I could find online), how do I set it up though? When I boot it it goes straight into SpartaDOS and help+Restarting doesn't seem to do anything.



#65 JoSch OFFLINE  

JoSch

    Moonsweeper

  • 422 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Mon May 15, 2017 8:10 AM

From SDX, you can do COLD /N, which cold starts the Atari without booting to SDX.

If you are using flashjazzcat's BIOS, you can disable SDX and reboot. Since you have two config slots, you could config one slot with SDX enabled and one with SDX disabled. I also configured different theme colors, so I can switch between them and see with the color what config is active.


Edited by JoSch, Mon May 15, 2017 8:11 AM.






Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: RAM, upgrade, mod, atari

0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users