Jump to content

Photo

Hooking up VCS through VCR vs. Direct to CRT TV


10 replies to this topic

#1 Atarikid96 OFFLINE  

Atarikid96

    Star Raider

  • 94 posts
  • Buy the ticket, take the ride.
  • Location:New Orleans LA

Posted Fri Apr 14, 2017 5:32 PM

I was wondering which would generally give me better picture: using an RF to coaxial adapter from the unit directly to the CRT tv, or running it through a VCR then to the TV? Anyone know?



#2 SignGuy81 OFFLINE  

SignGuy81

    Dragonstomper

  • 547 posts

Posted Fri Apr 14, 2017 5:59 PM

Unless your TV has issues with tuning and your vcr has better tuner I would say hook it directly to your TV.  I'm assuming you mean that your TV has composite inputs and you will be hooking your VCR up via composite.  Because if your TV has a crappy tuner and your VCR has a better one using the better one on the VCR for the Atari won't help if it is sending the signal out to the crappy tuner of the TV.  So really it all depends, just try different ways and see what you think looks best.


Edited by SignGuy81, Fri Apr 14, 2017 6:00 PM.


#3 Nathan Strum ONLINE  

Nathan Strum

    Quadrunner

  • 7,186 posts
  • Enjoying a sandwich
  • Location:Newhall, CA

Posted Fri Apr 14, 2017 6:01 PM

It depends entirely on how good the demodulator is in either device. Generally, the CRT TV would probably give better results for RF simply because it's one less device in the chain.

 

That said, I use a Sony TU-1041U for RF, and really like it (they show up regularly on eBay for around $25-$35). For RF, it's remarkably clean.



#4 Atarikid96 OFFLINE  

Atarikid96

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 94 posts
  • Buy the ticket, take the ride.
  • Location:New Orleans LA

Posted Fri Apr 14, 2017 6:10 PM

Would you recommend a modern dvd/vcr or older straight up vcr? Because I have both. Granted I'm going to try it and see, and post the results.



#5 Nathan Strum ONLINE  

Nathan Strum

    Quadrunner

  • 7,186 posts
  • Enjoying a sandwich
  • Location:Newhall, CA

Posted Fri Apr 14, 2017 6:30 PM

Would you recommend a modern dvd/vcr or older straight up vcr? Because I have both. Granted I'm going to try it and see, and post the results.

 

 

You answered your own question. :) Whichever works best.



#6 Atarikid96 OFFLINE  

Atarikid96

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 94 posts
  • Buy the ticket, take the ride.
  • Location:New Orleans LA

Posted Fri Apr 14, 2017 8:47 PM

True lol. I actually found the old VCR had better picture than the vcr/dvd combo. I also just switched my VCS from a 19" Panasonic CRT TV from the late 80s to a 32" JVC CRT TV from the same time period. It looks great!



#7 maiki OFFLINE  

maiki

    Dragonstomper

  • 671 posts

Posted Sat Apr 15, 2017 7:32 AM

It depends entirely on how good the demodulator is in either device.


This must be true. I have TVs that produce RF interference, and TVs that are clean. Running the signal through external antenna box also eliminates the interference.

#8 sixersfan105 OFFLINE  

sixersfan105

    Star Raider

  • 80 posts
  • Location:Philadelphia

Posted Sun Apr 16, 2017 10:40 PM

I use the VCR method b/c my modern LCD tv has an awful Coaxial/Antenna/RF (whatever you want to call it) input, to the point where the picture has static and the audio is all garbled. Running my VCS through a VCR, and then VCR to TV with composite cables, however, completely fixes this issue and works like a charm! Your mileage obviously will completely vary based on your TV's demodulator, as stated previously.

#9 spacecadet OFFLINE  

spacecadet

    River Patroller

  • 2,036 posts

Posted Mon Apr 17, 2017 11:40 AM

I'd be surprised if manufacturers these days really put much effort into their RF demodulators these days. Very few people actually need them. Usually that input is used for a digital cable connection.

 

In the old days, VCR's ranged from the very low end to the very high end. Higher end VCR's generally had better RF demodulators. So my guess is that often you'd get a better picture using a high-end VCR connected to a modern TV than using the TV's built into demodulator. It would surprise me if modern TV's had demodulators better than low-end VCR's, if even that good.



#10 sixersfan105 OFFLINE  

sixersfan105

    Star Raider

  • 80 posts
  • Location:Philadelphia

Posted Mon Apr 17, 2017 11:19 PM

I'd be surprised if manufacturers these days really put much effort into their RF demodulators these days. Very few people actually need them. Usually that input is used for a digital cable connection.

 

In the old days, VCR's ranged from the very low end to the very high end. Higher end VCR's generally had better RF demodulators. So my guess is that often you'd get a better picture using a high-end VCR connected to a modern TV than using the TV's built into demodulator. It would surprise me if modern TV's had demodulators better than low-end VCR's, if even that good.

 

sounds about right to me. The VCR that I use is a Broksonic (not really a quality brand) that I picked up off craigslist for $20 a year or so ago when I realized my modern TV's RF was crap. Best $20 I've spent in a long time and gets the job done!



#11 MrMaddog OFFLINE  

MrMaddog

    Moonsweeper

  • 477 posts
  • Still Atarian
  • Location:Parts Unknown

Posted Sat Apr 22, 2017 5:58 AM

I've used a VCR to hook RF only Atari systems to my Commodore video monitor, but that's only as a compatibility thing.   Picture quality was decent for gaming but it would never be as good as a pure composite video signal.  A $30 RF demodulator from Radio Shack could do the same thing but I already had the VCR plus I also used it for TV viewing with an OTA and also for movie rentals.

 

But on a modern HDTV I would never use the RF port for anything other than a digital OTA...






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users