IGNORED

Most irritating final boss fight.

mbd30

My pick is Adventures of Bayou Billy for the NES.

I started playing this about a week ago. I've reached the final boss twice. Couldn't do it. The game's main villain is incredibly easy as long as you have the whip and bullet proof vest. It's his two bodyguards that you must fight afterward that are such a pain in the thumb.

They're two huge guys with a long reach who constantly follow you. If they get close, you take damage. You have to avoid them while continuously moving around in circles... with a NES controller, and hit them with the whip when you have a chance. You can't stop moving. It isn't easy staying away from them either. The thumb pain sets in fast. And they take FOREVER to kill. You hit them and hit them and hit them and the health meter doesn't even go down. It's an exercise in self-torture. I would like to beat this game, but it's going to be rough.

The driving stages also suck ass, especially the second one. I do like this game for the most part, but it could have been better.

• Like 1

Bosses like that just seem so spammy and poorly designed, as if someone was just assigning random but ever-escalating numbers, without bothering to think whether it would be any fun to play.

It's a game with huge potential that was botched with some lousy design choices. The driving stages should be more forgiving. The final boss should have way less health. I don't mind difficulty, but not when it's at the expense of fun.

Still I keep trying so it must be doing something right.

I liked it for much the same reason I liked Golgo 13, lots of variety with running, jumping, driving, shooting. I just wish it were ...better.

Not that I've touched it in thirty years, though. o.O

The graphics, sound and music are really good. I love the whole Louisiana setting and atmosphere. The gameplay is good for the most part. It's mainly the second driving stage and final boss fight that try my patience.