Jump to content

Photo

Impulse buys


35 replies to this topic

#1 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Mon Apr 17, 2017 12:52 AM

I tend to make impulse buys of things when I have a few extra dollars. I'm sure most of you have done that at one time or another in your lives as well, given the nature of our hobby. :D

Never heard of this brand before, But got a pretty sweet deal on a case of 5.25 floppy disks, sealed. 10 packs of 10.


Screenshot_20170417-014551-01_zps5qede0w


Screenshot_20170417-014622-01_zpsvwa9oat



Hope they work out...

Edited by Opry99er, Mon Apr 17, 2017 12:52 AM.


#2 Schmitzi OFFLINE  

Schmitzi

    River Patroller

  • 3,912 posts
  • ToXiC
  • Location:Germany

Posted Mon Apr 17, 2017 3:03 AM

Maybe it is a problem (other thread) that they are preformatted for PC ?

(But I really don´t know about, and maybe only problems are given between 40 and 80 tracks, if pre-formatted)

 

YOU ´never heard of this Brand before´ ??  :-D



#3 mizapf OFFLINE  

mizapf

    River Patroller

  • 2,622 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Mon Apr 17, 2017 7:19 AM

No, the tracks on (soft sectored) floppy disks are physically unstructured, so you can write any pattern on it, just like a magnetic tape. The only thing to watch out is that they are not HD disks.



#4 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Sat Apr 22, 2017 2:02 AM

Interesting... My disks arrived.

20170421_134454_zpsiv7cn28c.jpg

20170421_134501_zps1lhjdtwj.jpg

20170421_134600_zpsdciptsr3.jpg



Every disk shows as "Write Protected" in DM2 and DM1000.


Not sure why exactly... There is no tape over the notch.

Could it be a hard-sector disk? The listing said it could be reformatted for Apple, Commodore, etc.

#5 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Sat Apr 22, 2017 2:28 AM

Only one index hole... seems like a soft sectored disk to me... physically the exact same as my working TI floppies... the media surface is pristine on these as well... glossy and flawless.

#6 sometimes99er OFFLINE  

sometimes99er

    River Patroller

  • 3,993 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Sat Apr 22, 2017 3:19 AM

Try these instead.

 

Attached File  disks.jpg   94.38KB   2 downloads



#7 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Sat Apr 22, 2017 3:33 AM

:D

#8 mizapf OFFLINE  

mizapf

    River Patroller

  • 2,622 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Sat Apr 22, 2017 6:18 AM

Every disk shows as "Write Protected" in DM2 and DM1000.

Not sure why exactly... There is no tape over the notch.

 

This should not happen (yes, the least helpful comment that came to my mind ... :) )

 

But indeed, write protection is hardware-based; there is a contact on the side, maybe a light sensor, and there is a separate line on the Shugart bus leading to the disk controller. That is, there is normally no way to prevent or produce that situation deliberately via software or via data on the disk. Maybe you could check with a working floppy disk whether there is something wrong with that notch (not a the right position, bad shape, whatever ...).



#9 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Sat Apr 22, 2017 10:01 AM

Yes, the floppies are identical. From the anti-bend notches by the media window to the write prot3ct notch. The index hole is in the same place and it is precisely the same size. If you lay one on top of the other, they match up flawlessly.

I have never experienced this before.

#10 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Sat Apr 22, 2017 11:47 AM

So I tried reading from and saving to a known good disk and had no issues.

I guess the next step is to try to reformat a known good disk to see what happens.

#11 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Sat Apr 22, 2017 12:19 PM

It could be that pin 36 is erroneously set to "low" for one reason or another. But if that is the case, I should not be able to save an XB program to disk, correct?

I'll try to go down and give it a try again later...

Any other ideas for testing would be much appreciated. :)

#12 Schmitzi OFFLINE  

Schmitzi

    River Patroller

  • 3,912 posts
  • ToXiC
  • Location:Germany

Posted Sat Apr 22, 2017 12:29 PM

From my side, no more ideas at this moment. I think your (old) hardware problem still exists, or a part of that problem :(

If shipping wouldn´t be so expensive I would send u a pile of stuff for more testing/comparing.

I really hope you´re going to find something small problem.

Can you point me back to the original thread(s) for that problem, I cannot find it here in the forum.



#13 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Sat Apr 22, 2017 12:40 PM

From my side, no more ideas at this moment. I think your (old) hardware problem still exists, or a part of that problem :(
If shipping wouldn´t be so expensive I would send u a pile of stuff for more testing/comparing.
I really hope you´re going to find something small problem.
Can you point me back to the original thread(s) for that problem, I cannot find it here in the forum.



http://atariage.com/...k-issues/page-1

#14 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Sat Apr 22, 2017 5:06 PM

It seems more has happened.

I tried to reformat a known good/working disk. It did not go well.

20170422_173339_zpst9iuswmd.jpg



I then tried to format one of the new disks again and it went even worse.

20170422_173546_zpskpr3vcfb.jpg


So... I am guessing I need a deep cleaning or maybe a new drive entirely...

#15 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Sat Apr 22, 2017 7:31 PM

Took the drive apart and cleaned the head... it had some junk on it.

20170422_193236_zpsfj9coz9d.jpg


Once put back in, it reads fine, but now considers all drives to be Write Protected. I looked at the Write protection mechanism, and it seems to be in working order. The switch clicks properly when the tab pops up into the notch.

20170422_200428_zpsc9jzefw9.jpg


I followed the brown and black wires back to the edge connector that attaches to the PCB. All looks to be in order.

The felt pad on the top arm seems to be a bit tattered... if I remember correctly, it was very tight and firm last time I was in this drive. Not sure if that would have anything to do with anything.

#16 Schmitzi OFFLINE  

Schmitzi

    River Patroller

  • 3,912 posts
  • ToXiC
  • Location:Germany

Posted Sat Apr 22, 2017 7:35 PM

just desperate: maybe the cable itself, or yes, the drive....

maybe move the controller one slot over....



#17 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Sat Apr 22, 2017 8:33 PM

Something wrong with the drive or cable. I can format, read, and write to DSK2 and 3... when Intry to write to DSK1, I get this...

20170422_210656_zpshienc8vd.jpg


When I try to format a disk in DSK1, I get this:

20170422_210232_zpsiziu9sa0.jpg

#18 Schmitzi OFFLINE  

Schmitzi

    River Patroller

  • 3,912 posts
  • ToXiC
  • Location:Germany

Posted Sun Apr 23, 2017 3:24 AM

So if you jumper your DSK1-drive to DSK2 (or 3), this drive suddenly runs ?



#19 Flottmann1 OFFLINE  

Flottmann1

    Star Raider

  • 93 posts

Posted Sun Apr 23, 2017 4:04 AM

With me it occurred after about 50 Disks when creating images on,  no more Discs were read

probably abrasion

After use of a cleaning Disc it works again



#20 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Sun Apr 23, 2017 4:33 AM

Hey schmitzi,

What I meant to say is that my 3.5" drives have no issues at all with any disk or file functions. The 5.25 will not do anything useful currently.

I don't have the ability to set up my 5.25 as DSK2 due to cabling and configuration limitations.

#21 Schmitzi OFFLINE  

Schmitzi

    River Patroller

  • 3,912 posts
  • ToXiC
  • Location:Germany

Posted Sun Apr 23, 2017 8:58 AM

ah OK, I just thought: Dismount all drives except the 5.25"er, and jumper it to DSK2 (or 3), to see if it works.

AND, vice versa, connect your 3.5" (also alone!) as DSK1 to see if this works.

 

Then you exactly know wether your 5.25"er ist defective, and what controller and cable "say", in general.



#22 marc.hull OFFLINE  

marc.hull

    Stargunner

  • 1,119 posts
  • Location:Oklahoma CIty.

Posted Sun Apr 23, 2017 12:11 PM

Hey schmitzi,

What I meant to say is that my 3.5" drives have no issues at all with any disk or file functions. The 5.25 will not do anything useful currently.

I don't have the ability to set up my 5.25 as DSK2 due to cabling and configuration limitations.


Does your 5.25 drive have termination set up correctly ?

#23 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Sun Apr 23, 2017 12:29 PM

I believe so, Marc. Earlier this week I was formatting, saving, and loading programs to/from the 5.25 drive. I was copying ToD games from the 5.25 to the 3.5 with no issues.

I have not changed anything in my configuration since then.

#24 marc.hull OFFLINE  

marc.hull

    Stargunner

  • 1,119 posts
  • Location:Oklahoma CIty.

Posted Sun Apr 23, 2017 1:41 PM

If your 5.25 is full height i would pull it and take a picture of the shunt pack and post it with the make/model of drive.

#25 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Sun Apr 23, 2017 1:48 PM

10-4.

Currently the top two on the pack are jumpers. None others.

It is a Shugart 400.




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users