Jump to content

Photo

OT: Uninterruptable Power Supply (Real World Opinions/Advice)


20 replies to this topic

#1 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    .....................

  • 10,281 posts
  • TI-99/4A Fanatic
  • Location:In the den playing with my FinalGROM 99!

Posted Wed Apr 19, 2017 6:10 PM

I'm considering getting a UPS for my den and at first glance << THIS ONE >> appears to be good, but I'd like to get some advice and opinions from people who have one.

 

Ultimately I'd like to get one that gives me at least 2 hours of continuous use after an outage. 

 

The items I would have plugged in are:

 

WiFi router, laptop, 20" LCD monitor, telephone and a LaserJet (not printing).  I figure I can do without the TI during an outage.

 

I'm considering a second unit as well for the living room powering  a 42" LED TV and a satellite receiver and possibly even a lamp with a 12 watt LED bulb.

 

Comments, advice, suggestions?



#2 digdugnate OFFLINE  

digdugnate

    Moonsweeper

  • 451 posts
  • Location:SW Missouri

Posted Wed Apr 19, 2017 6:16 PM

I highly recommend the APC Smart UPS units, similar to linked: https://www.amazon.c...c smart ups 750

 

I have used APC UPS units for about 11 years at both home and where I work (supporting ~150 computers locally daily); we have really dirty power here and so far I have not had more than a handful of machines die on me.

 

The batteries tend to last 3-5 years.

 

(edit to add that we also use the rack-mount ones to support all our network equipment nationwide as well, but that might be overkill ;) )


Edited by digdugnate, Wed Apr 19, 2017 6:17 PM.


#3 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 2,426 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Wed Apr 19, 2017 7:49 PM

Have you measured the power draw of all these devices?

Sent from my LG-H830 using Tapatalk

#4 Lee Stewart ONLINE  

Lee Stewart

    River Patroller

  • 3,272 posts
  • Location:Silver Run, Maryland

Posted Wed Apr 19, 2017 8:02 PM

I would NOT support the LaserJet printer on the UPS! Even at idle, the fuser is kept warm, wasting precious watts.

 

...lee



#5 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    .....................

  • Topic Starter
  • 10,281 posts
  • TI-99/4A Fanatic
  • Location:In the den playing with my FinalGROM 99!

Posted Wed Apr 19, 2017 8:39 PM

Have you measured the power draw of all these devices?

 

 Nope, I don't have a KILL-A-WATT, but I can always get down on the floor tomorrow and and read the ratings of the power transformers.

 

I would NOT support the LaserJet printer on the UPS! Even at idle, the fuser is kept warm, wasting precious watts.

 

Good point!  I should get in the habit of turning it off when not in use.  I've been keeping it on standby 24/7 in case I want to print anything or receive an email over it.



#6 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 2,426 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Wed Apr 19, 2017 11:18 PM

they sell those at harbor freight for pretty cheap..save you some time/energy/math

 

Greg



#7 schmitzi OFFLINE  

schmitzi

    River Patroller

  • 3,769 posts
  • ToXiC
  • Location:Germany

Posted Thu Apr 20, 2017 2:52 AM

APC ist best, but no laserjets on a UPS

2 hours maybe is a joke. I give you less than 30 minutes (with 1500VA).

but depends on your TV´s wattage, and maybe maybe, but I don´t think so

I post a photo of my USVs later, to show how you can gain 2 hours ;)



#8 digdugnate OFFLINE  

digdugnate

    Moonsweeper

  • 451 posts
  • Location:SW Missouri

Posted Thu Apr 20, 2017 4:58 AM

great point made (that i forgot) about the laserjets- the power draw will freak out a UPS if you have it plugged into 'battery' side.  have to plug in to 'surge' side. :)



#9 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    .....................

  • Topic Starter
  • 10,281 posts
  • TI-99/4A Fanatic
  • Location:In the den playing with my FinalGROM 99!

Posted Thu Apr 20, 2017 6:36 AM

 

2 hours maybe is a joke. I give you less than 30 minutes (with 1500VA).

but depends on your TV´s wattage, and maybe maybe, but I don´t think so

 

 

Well technically I could plug the laptop into the surge side and run off it's internal battery for a couple of hours, that would just leave the 20" monitor and the router plugged in.  If I cant get at least 2 hours out of those two devices, I'll just forget the whole idea as I'm not willing to spend over $200.00 on this.



#10 schmitzi OFFLINE  

schmitzi

    River Patroller

  • 3,769 posts
  • ToXiC
  • Location:Germany

Posted Thu Apr 20, 2017 8:24 AM

IIRC there is a power calculator on the APC website.

If the TV doesn´t suck so much, maybe it can work. Just check the powersupplies

 

Or maybe someone here can calculate that ?



#11 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    .....................

  • Topic Starter
  • 10,281 posts
  • TI-99/4A Fanatic
  • Location:In the den playing with my FinalGROM 99!

Posted Fri May 5, 2017 2:54 PM

The verdict is in:  9.4 watts is the draw (according to the 'Kill-A-Watt').

 

The computer can run on it's own internal battery, so I only need the monitor and router powered.



#12 digdugnate OFFLINE  

digdugnate

    Moonsweeper

  • 451 posts
  • Location:SW Missouri

Posted Fri May 5, 2017 3:20 PM

The verdict is in:  9.4 watts is the draw (according to the 'Kill-A-Watt').

 

The computer can run on it's own internal battery, so I only need the monitor and router powered.

Are you interested in a desktop-grade UPS still?  I think I have one still NIB in my office- the only gotcha is that I wouldn't be able to ship it till Monday if I still have it there.



#13 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    .....................

  • Topic Starter
  • 10,281 posts
  • TI-99/4A Fanatic
  • Location:In the den playing with my FinalGROM 99!

Posted Fri May 5, 2017 3:25 PM

Thanks, but I'll probably pick one up at Staples.  If I'm correct, and someone please correct me if I'm wrong, << THIS UNIT >> should last the two hours I've set as a goal with the 9.4 watt draw.



#14 digdugnate OFFLINE  

digdugnate

    Moonsweeper

  • 451 posts
  • Location:SW Missouri

Posted Fri May 5, 2017 3:30 PM

I'm thinking it should.

 

If you do happen to change your mind, let me know- it's just taking up space there so I'm happy to get rid of it for shipping cost (or trade).



#15 schmitzi OFFLINE  

schmitzi

    River Patroller

  • 3,769 posts
  • ToXiC
  • Location:Germany

Posted Fri May 5, 2017 5:12 PM

Thanks, but I'll probably pick one up at Staples.  If I'm correct, and someone please correct me if I'm wrong, << THIS UNIT >> should last the two hours I've set as a goal with the 9.4 watt draw.

 

9.4 Watt (the monitor?) sounds very good on a 1500 VA UPS.

Maybe it runs half a day or more ? (but not sure about!)

 

or what is the total watts you want to connect to it ?



#16 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    .....................

  • Topic Starter
  • 10,281 posts
  • TI-99/4A Fanatic
  • Location:In the den playing with my FinalGROM 99!

Posted Tue May 9, 2017 7:08 PM

It turns out I'll have much more time than my original target. :)

Below is the combined draw of my WiFi router, computer monitor and telephone/answering machine.

I may decide to plug in the laptop later, but it has it's own internal battery good for a few hours on it's own. 

 

gallery_35324_1027_61700.jpg



#17 iKarith OFFLINE  

iKarith

    Moonsweeper

  • 271 posts
  • Location:Portland OR

Posted Wed May 10, 2017 3:26 AM

40 watts for a desktop computer?  Um, my desktop has a CPU with a 77 watt TDP all on its own.  Granted it's not "entry level", but it's also not a gaming powerhouse with multiple video cards and whatnot.  Dell called it a Windows 7 workstation-class machine.

 

That's one of the cool things about retro systems.  The Apple IIgs had a 68 watt power supply, and while some people criticize the power supply for the IIgs was something like 68 watts.  Now, people describe the power capacity of the IIgs as "weak", but that's actually the result of the skinny power traces running to the expansion slots on the motherboard and the fact that all drives and whatnot ran off the system CPU.

 

The reason why current OSes and software run well on 4-5 year old computers decently is that the hardware makers have been focusing on recapturing the low power performance.  Intel's NUCs are like under 50 watts total with a monitor, which is perhaps what the above spec sheet is suggesting: A solid-state NUC.



#18 LASooner OFFLINE  

LASooner

    Chopper Commander

  • 120 posts

Posted Wed May 10, 2017 3:44 AM

Had nothing but bad luck with APC, 2 outages in the last 3 years it completely failed both times after being replaced the first time. My company replaced all APC battery backups with Cyberpower, I did the same at home.


Edited by LASooner, Wed May 10, 2017 3:44 AM.


#19 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    .....................

  • Topic Starter
  • 10,281 posts
  • TI-99/4A Fanatic
  • Location:In the den playing with my FinalGROM 99!

Posted Wed May 10, 2017 6:46 AM

Sorry you had such bad luck.  Everyone I talked to recommended APC to me, so that is what I went with.  I'll have to wait and see what happens as there is nothing I can do now anyway.  :)

 

Since my current load on the battery side is so low, I've been considering hooking a lamp up to it as well.

<< LED LIGHT BULBS >> like the ones in the link use so little current, that I think it would be a perfect option, especially if an outage occurred in the evening .



#20 schmitzi OFFLINE  

schmitzi

    River Patroller

  • 3,769 posts
  • ToXiC
  • Location:Germany

Posted Wed May 10, 2017 10:09 AM

Just test the power outage scenario from time to time.



#21 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    .....................

  • Topic Starter
  • 10,281 posts
  • TI-99/4A Fanatic
  • Location:In the den playing with my FinalGROM 99!

Posted Wed May 10, 2017 12:32 PM

Just test the power outage scenario from time to time.

 

I just had my first unplanned test!  -- My coffee got cold, so I put it in the microwave I have here in the den.  As soon as I turned on the microwave I heard a 'chunk' from the UPS.  Apparently it when into automatic 'boost mode'.  I normally have 122V, but according to the display on the UPS the voltage went down to 117.  Slick!






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users