Jump to content

Photo

Colour display issue on a six switcher

atari2600 troubleshooting displayissues sixswitch

5 replies to this topic

#1 Yosikuma OFFLINE  

Yosikuma

    Space Invader

  • 35 posts
  • Location:Independent Republic of Peoria

Posted Wed Apr 19, 2017 8:40 PM

I recently picked up a six switch 2600 and have noticed an odd issue. Sometimes, colours will switch gradually.  At times the green background of Stampede or Kaboom actually becomes red.  I have no idea how to resolve this issue.  Has anyone ever experienced this??



#2 DrVenkman OFFLINE  

DrVenkman

    Stargunner

  • 1,499 posts
  • Starmaster Leader
  • Location:KMBT

Posted Thu Apr 20, 2017 6:42 AM

Check the voltage regulator - gradual color shifts as the unit runs is possible symptom.

#3 -^CrožBow^- OFFLINE  

-^CrožBow^-

    River Patroller

  • 4,603 posts
  • Collector of Fine Atari and Sega Antiquities!
  • Location:Ivory Tower, Fantasia (Oklahoma)

Posted Thu Apr 20, 2017 8:49 AM

And it is heavy sixer and the TIAs in those are known to have issues over time. I've had to replace two TIAs in two separate H6s due to color shifting while playing games. 



#4 mojoatomic OFFLINE  

mojoatomic

    Chopper Commander

  • 185 posts
  • Location:Memphis, TN

Posted Thu Apr 20, 2017 11:31 AM

C106 on the 6 switch, C243 on the 4 switch unts, big 2200uf 16v cap, when it bleeds it can cause color issues as you describe. Very common to fail in this manner.  R213 pot on 6 and 4 switch units, although it's not common. TIA color shift under load - this is very common to fail in this manner. My money is on the TIA



#5 -^CrožBow^- OFFLINE  

-^CrožBow^-

    River Patroller

  • 4,603 posts
  • Collector of Fine Atari and Sega Antiquities!
  • Location:Ivory Tower, Fantasia (Oklahoma)

Posted Thu Apr 20, 2017 11:59 AM

C106 on the 6 switch, C243 on the 4 switch unts, big 2200uf 16v cap, when it bleeds it can cause color issues as you describe. Very common to fail in this manner.  R213 pot on 6 and 4 switch units, although it's not common. TIA color shift under load - this is very common to fail in this manner. My money is on the TIA

 

Wow! We agree on this! 



#6 mojoatomic OFFLINE  

mojoatomic

    Chopper Commander

  • 185 posts
  • Location:Memphis, TN

Posted Thu Apr 20, 2017 12:33 PM

 

Wow! We agree on this! 

We agree on a lot of things! 







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: atari2600, troubleshooting, displayissues, sixswitch

0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users