Programming a game - concepts

17 replies to this topic

#1 Xebec OFFLINE  

Xebec

Chopper Commander

• 105 posts

Posted Thu Apr 20, 2017 8:18 AM

Hi folks!

I'm a seriously unskilled programmer, and had a few basic questions about programming on the Atari 8-bit..

First is - when you're writing a game with background music that plays continuously while the game is running -- how often do you have to update POKEY to change tunes?  is it literally every time you want to change a note?  or can you send a series of instructions and come back later?  Is there some good place to read about this?

Second - C is what I used to write in years ago.. any real 'gotchas' writing applications or programs for the atari 800 in 'C' today?  any reason to throw 'C' in the trash and go with a different language?  (I'm assuming that certain 'advanced' routines may require some custom assembly code inserted of course)..

Finally - what are some good sources/books to read up on this kind of stuff - including code examples of the atari doing graphics, sound, and processing of logic at the same time?  (in any language)..

John

#2 jvas OFFLINE  

jvas

Moonsweeper

• 391 posts

Posted Thu Apr 20, 2017 9:11 AM

http://www.wudsn.com...ri800/tutorials

#3 Xebec OFFLINE  

Xebec

Chopper Commander

• Topic Starter
  • 105 posts

Posted Thu Apr 20, 2017 10:40 AM

Excellent - thanks jvas!

#4 baktra OFFLINE  

baktra

Moonsweeper

• 252 posts

Posted Thu Apr 20, 2017 12:06 PM

Second - C is what I used to write in years ago.. any real 'gotchas' writing applications or programs for the atari 800 in 'C' today?  any reason to throw 'C' in the trash and go with a different language?  (I'm assuming that certain 'advanced' routines may require some custom assembly code inserted of course)..

For any serious game programming for 8-bit Atari, you will need to combine C with assembler.

In general, it all depends on what games you want to create.