Jump to content

Photo

New IIe owner here


22 replies to this topic

#1 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Thu Apr 20, 2017 11:53 AM

I have many excellent experience from my childhood with the IIe. My school had a room full of them for one. I had a TI-99/4A in my home growing up, but I had a friend named Eddie whose family had a IIe and a monochrome monitor. He had all kinds of great games and his parents used the computer for making banners and Sunday School literature on Dot Matrix paper.

He always loved my TI for graphics and sound stuff, and I always loved his Apple for Oregon Trail and Bard's Tale. We were just little kids, so we didn't do well on Bard's Tale--but the world was very encompassing!

Anyway, I have remained a passionate TI enthusiast, and I lost touch with Eddie over a decade ago.

Fast Forward to today. I have recently acquired an Apple IIe in a trade. It is shipping to me this week and I am very excited to fire it up.

It has a green monochrome monitor and a DuoDisk.

FB_IMG_1492036550345_zpsccxjt7bu.jpg

It does not have a cable for the DuoDisk, however, so I am relegated to Applesoft until I get one. I also will be in need of a Serial interface card so I can get programs over to it. Also looking for a copy of ADTPro (I think is what it is called) to allow me to transfer.

I recently bought 100 NOS 5.25 floppies on eBay, so I will not have a shortage of media.

Does anyone have a DuoDisk cable or serial card they wouldn't mind parting with for a reasonable fee?

#2 Bloodnose OFFLINE  

Bloodnose

    Space Invader

  • 49 posts
  • Location:Richmond, RI

Posted Thu Apr 20, 2017 1:34 PM

You're going to want a drive cable sooner rather later.  Bootstrapping from ADTPro is cool, but you have to keep doing it with each image.
I really like IEC for their Apple II products -- http://www.iec-usa.c...i-bin/iec/L1569

 

In the meantime, playing with audio transfers with ADTPro is a pretty cool exercise.  Then you'll be cooking when you get your serial card.

 

Super Serial cards are very common on eBay -- just make sure you get one with the cable that you mount to the backplate.  A lot of offerings are missing the cable.



#3 R.Cade OFFLINE  

R.Cade

    Stargunner

  • 1,064 posts
  • Location:Augusta, Georgia, USA

Posted Thu Apr 20, 2017 1:37 PM

DuoDisk cable = http://www.iec-usa.c...i-bin/iec/L1569

 

Very reasonable price. Probably not too many floating around not used with the drives...



#4 Keatah ONLINE  

Keatah

    Quadrunner

  • 18,719 posts

Posted Thu Apr 20, 2017 2:11 PM

Congrats you got the premium Platinum //e. PM me if you're interested in getting some disks made.

 

For sup'a serial cards try not to pay more than $20 bucks. They're always showing up on ebay. And the manual can be found on ftp asimov if you want to dig into it. Otherwise the instructions from ADTpro are more than enough to get going.

http://www.ebay.com/...serial&_sacat=0

 

There's even instructions how to bootstrap your rig if you have no ADTpro disk to start with. Once you finish bootstrapping, you can make your ADTpro disk, which you will then use to transfer disk images to floppies. It goes pretty fast at 30 seconds per disk. You only bootstrap one time - to get the ADTpro disk.

http://adtpro.source.../bootstrap.html

 

Eventually you may want to get one of these:

http://dreher.net/?s...ppleII/main.php

https://www.bigmesso...com/floppy-emu/

 

I also highly recommend getting a head-cleaner disk (or a homemade scythe-shaped wooden tool-Q-tip) to get in the drive and clean the heads. Even NOS disks shed their coating nowadays causing odd random errors. This happens more now than it did in the past.

 

I also recommend getting Ciderpress and AppleWin emulator, along with a set of utility disks. And learn how to use the online repositories. These tools complement and add a lot to the classic Apple experience.

http://a2ciderpress.com/

https://github.com/A...pleWin/releases

 

Attached File  185447920.png   18.45KB   4 downloadsAttached File  185415463.png   19.21KB   3 downloads



#5 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Thu Apr 20, 2017 6:39 PM

Very good info fellas... thank you!

Yea, I need that DuoDisk cable asap...

As far as the card goes, there's a couple on eBay now, but I won't have the extra scratch until next Friday. I'm sure one will be available at that time or shortly thereafter.

#6 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Thu Apr 20, 2017 6:43 PM

Out of curiosity, what is the difference between the Platinum and the "premium Platinum" IIe?

Or is that just a term of endearment? :)

Edited by Opry99er, Thu Apr 20, 2017 6:44 PM.


#7 Keatah ONLINE  

Keatah

    Quadrunner

  • 18,719 posts

Posted Thu Apr 20, 2017 6:47 PM

Term of endearment.



#8 Grimakis OFFLINE  

Grimakis

    Chopper Commander

  • 184 posts
  • Location:Weston, CT

Posted Thu Apr 20, 2017 8:41 PM

You aren't limited to AppleSoft.

You can load machine language programs of audio cable.

Check this website:
http://asciiexpress.net/gameserver/

#9 Keatah ONLINE  

Keatah

    Quadrunner

  • 18,719 posts

Posted Thu Apr 20, 2017 8:47 PM

Limited to AppleSoft?



#10 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Thu Apr 20, 2017 11:39 PM

Thanks again for the Intel.

I am eager to get started. My first goal will be getting my Apple to talk to my TI. :D

#11 Grimakis OFFLINE  

Grimakis

    Chopper Commander

  • 184 posts
  • Location:Weston, CT

Posted Fri Apr 21, 2017 4:26 AM

Thanks again for the Intel.

I am eager to get started. My first goal will be getting my Apple to talk to my TI. :D


Well that will be easy, just get a serial cable :)

#12 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Fri Apr 21, 2017 7:42 AM

True... and I have a metric F Ton of serial cables here already.

The key will be to get a capable terminal program for the Apple.

#13 MarkO OFFLINE  

MarkO

    Dragonstomper

  • 867 posts
  • Location:Albany, Oregon, USA, North Western Hemisphere, Planet Tera

Posted Fri Apr 21, 2017 9:07 AM

True... and I have a metric F Ton of serial cables here already.

The key will be to get a capable terminal program for the Apple.


A lot of people like ProTerm.

I like ASCII Express.


Search the ASIMOV Site Index to locate the Documentation.


MarkO



#14 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Fri Apr 21, 2017 11:32 AM

Thank you, sir.

#15 c0op3r OFFLINE  

c0op3r

    Star Raider

  • 65 posts
  • Location:Orlando Fl

Posted Fri Apr 21, 2017 7:56 PM

Congrats on the Apple IIe Platinum - that is my Favorite version of the machine.



#16 Grimakis OFFLINE  

Grimakis

    Chopper Commander

  • 184 posts
  • Location:Weston, CT

Posted Sat Apr 22, 2017 8:13 AM

For what it's worth, Modem.MGR is the best terminal package in my opinion.

 

http://apple2.org.za...GR_PDOS_DSK.zip



#17 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Sun Apr 23, 2017 5:18 AM

Thanks!

#18 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Thu Apr 27, 2017 5:22 PM

Well, the packages have been shipped. :)

I will be buying the disk cable I need from that place in Denver... strangely, my grandmother's house is less than 5 miles from that location.

Anyway, on the serial card... Most I hsv4 seen are listed as "untested" which (in vintage computer lingo) typically means you're 60% of the time buying junk that doesn't work anymore.

Are these cards pretty durable? Should I expect it to work, untested?

#19 Keatah ONLINE  

Keatah

    Quadrunner

  • 18,719 posts

Posted Thu Apr 27, 2017 5:26 PM

I purchased several untested SSCs and had no issues - that is once I got the configuration set the way it needs to be. ADTpro website tells you how, and the original Apple manual explains what the switches, jumper block, and pinouts are.

 

With vintage telecom things need to be set just so.



#20 Grimakis OFFLINE  

Grimakis

    Chopper Commander

  • 184 posts
  • Location:Weston, CT

Posted Thu Apr 27, 2017 7:53 PM

I've bought two that were untested, and both worked fine.



#21 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 8,261 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Fri Apr 28, 2017 11:34 AM

Ordered the cable today. Waiting for a suitable serial card to pop up on eBay. :)

#22 Keatah ONLINE  

Keatah

    Quadrunner

  • 18,719 posts

Posted Fri Apr 28, 2017 12:41 PM

In the "completed" listings I'm seeing them move for $17 - $30 with cable. NIB CIB trades for $40 - $50. These are all very reasonable prices at this time.



#23 potatohead OFFLINE  

potatohead

    River Patroller

  • 4,397 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon

Posted Sat Apr 29, 2017 8:13 PM

I bought one, worked.



Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users