Jump to content

Photo

FREE: Texas Instruments Omni 800 Model 840 printer in Marketplace


38 replies to this topic

#1 Mitkraft OFFLINE  

Mitkraft

    Moonsweeper

  • 498 posts
  • Location:Houston, TX area

Posted Thu Apr 20, 2017 1:51 PM

Please save this from the recyclers!  I can't store it any longer.

 

I thought this might get more eyeballs in the TI sub-forum but if cross-posting like this is frowned upon please let me know and I'll delete this thread.

 

Thanks!



#2 budz2355 OFFLINE  

budz2355

    Moonsweeper

  • 275 posts
  • Location:Minnesota

Posted Thu Apr 20, 2017 1:54 PM

Does it work? If so I'll take it?

#3 budz2355 OFFLINE  

budz2355

    Moonsweeper

  • 275 posts
  • Location:Minnesota

Posted Thu Apr 20, 2017 1:55 PM

I have a CorComp triple tech card which I believe has a 64K print buffer. Could I connect this printer directly?

#4 Mitkraft OFFLINE  

Mitkraft

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 498 posts
  • Location:Houston, TX area

Posted Thu Apr 20, 2017 2:00 PM

I sadly can not answer any of your questions.  If you check the linked thread there are some more details.  The short of it is that I've never tested or used it.  I also am not knowledgable enough to answer your question about the CorComp card.  If there was a simple way for me to test the printer with what I have (I have a TI 99/4A with PEB, Nano PEB, Flash99 cart) then I'd be willing to try.  Local pickup would get preference but if nobody local wants it we can talk about shipping.  Fair warning, it might be expensive-ish.



#5 digdugnate OFFLINE  

digdugnate

    Chopper Commander

  • 226 posts
  • Location:SW Missouri

Posted Thu Apr 20, 2017 2:17 PM

I'm interested too if no one else picks up. Would depend on shipping tho to Missouri:-)

#6 budz2355 OFFLINE  

budz2355

    Moonsweeper

  • 275 posts
  • Location:Minnesota

Posted Thu Apr 20, 2017 8:23 PM

My zip is 55901 -- would you be able to use an online shippint calculator to give me a quote please?

#7 Mitkraft OFFLINE  

Mitkraft

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 498 posts
  • Location:Houston, TX area

Posted Thu Apr 20, 2017 11:50 PM

My zip is 55901 -- would you be able to use an online shippint calculator to give me a quote please?


PM me your full address and I can get a pretty accurate quote through PayPal shipping.

#8 schmitzi OFFLINE  

schmitzi

    River Patroller

  • 3,680 posts
  • ToXiC
  • Location:Germany

Posted Fri Apr 21, 2017 3:52 AM

If nobody wants it, and people saying "I take it if nobody wants it" don´t want it too, then I want to take it.  (really)

 

...to be continued ;)



#9 budz2355 OFFLINE  

budz2355

    Moonsweeper

  • 275 posts
  • Location:Minnesota

Posted Fri Apr 21, 2017 6:22 PM

Here is the back of my corcomp card ..... Either of those connections look like a thing that connects to the printer ?

Attached Files



#10 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 2,195 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Fri Apr 21, 2017 10:29 PM

Here is the back of my corcomp card ..... Either of those connections look like a thing that connects to the printer ?

 

the printer is either centronics parallel or rs232

 

your corcomp card works with a parallel printer heres the manual http://ftp.whtech.co...tech manual.pdf page 3 has the details.

one ribbon cable goes from the card to a rs232/parallel card the other to the printer and needs one of these cables to hook to a printer that supports it

 

http://www.connectwo...n/cabled/L1156?

 

Greg


Edited by arcadeshopper, Fri Apr 21, 2017 10:32 PM.


#11 budz2355 OFFLINE  

budz2355

    Moonsweeper

  • 275 posts
  • Location:Minnesota

Posted Sat Apr 22, 2017 6:18 AM

 
the printer is either centronics parallel or rs232
 
your corcomp card works with a parallel printer heres the manual http://ftp.whtech.co...tech manual.pdf page 3 has the details.
one ribbon cable goes from the card to a rs232/parallel card the other to the printer and needs one of these cables to hook to a printer that supports it
 
http://www.connectwo...n/cabled/L1156?
 
Greg


Greg you are the man, much appreciated!

Right now I have a lantronix hooked up to my rs232, but I think the serial connection has two ports. Do I need one of those Y splitters then for my rs232 card?

#12 budz2355 OFFLINE  

budz2355

    Moonsweeper

  • 275 posts
  • Location:Minnesota

Posted Sat Apr 22, 2017 6:22 AM

Also.... Could I just plug in another rs232 card? I have a TI one hooked up now, but I think I have a spare CorComp branded one I picked up at the TI Faire last year.

#13 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    --- Ω ---

  • 9,971 posts
  • Location:Virgo Supercluster, Gould Belt in the Orion arm of Milky Way galaxy.

Posted Sat Apr 22, 2017 6:37 AM

Yes, you can run up to two RS-232's and two Y-adapters for a max of four usable RS-232 ports.  You will need to change the address of one of the cards.



#14 Mitkraft OFFLINE  

Mitkraft

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 498 posts
  • Location:Houston, TX area

Posted Sat Apr 22, 2017 12:25 PM

I'll check the connections on the printer shortly and report back.

#15 Mitkraft OFFLINE  

Mitkraft

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 498 posts
  • Location:Houston, TX area

Posted Sat Apr 22, 2017 1:33 PM

I just realized I forgot to post the link to my Marketplace thread with more info and pics. Sorry:

http://atariage.com/...el-840-printer/

#16 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • 8,220 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Sat Apr 22, 2017 2:19 PM

Dang... guess it is spoken for.

What an awesome printer!!!

#17 schmitzi OFFLINE  

schmitzi

    River Patroller

  • 3,680 posts
  • ToXiC
  • Location:Germany

Posted Sat Apr 22, 2017 2:22 PM

I just realized I forgot to post the link to my Marketplace thread with more info and pics. Sorry:

http://atariage.com/...el-840-printer/

 

ah yes, I saved this nice pics last year :)



#18 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • 8,220 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Sat Apr 22, 2017 2:25 PM

Man... how did I miss this!?

I'll be looking for one on eBay now. :)

#19 Mitkraft OFFLINE  

Mitkraft

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 498 posts
  • Location:Houston, TX area

Posted Sat Apr 22, 2017 2:48 PM

Wow, I guess timing is everything. I tried twice before to give this thing away here on AK without a single nibble of interest and look at all the interest now. It's very encouraging though. Looks like one way or another I should be able to find a new home for it. I'm going to start in order of those wanting to ship till I get a taker. I've given Budz2355 a quote (was $45 to his zip) and will work on posting pics of the connector. If he passes I'll move to the next interested party. Thanks guys!

#20 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • 8,220 posts
  • Location:Cookeville, TN

Posted Sat Apr 22, 2017 3:08 PM

Did you post it to the TI forum, or Marketplace?

I surely would have taken it, had I seen it here. :D

#21 Mitkraft OFFLINE  

Mitkraft

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 498 posts
  • Location:Houston, TX area

Posted Sat Apr 22, 2017 4:04 PM

I'm so used to the rules at AudioKarma where all for-sale stuff HAS to be posted in the members only section for it. You can't even himt at selling something outside of there so I feel strange posting stuff for sale outside of Marketplace. This time I thought to post here as well though.

#22 Mitkraft OFFLINE  

Mitkraft

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 498 posts
  • Location:Houston, TX area

Posted Sat Apr 22, 2017 6:43 PM

UPDATE:

 

I check the printer out in order to see about testing it and get some more pictures of the connection.  I opened up the top panel and found that apparently there were several places where originally some foam pieces were attached to the inside of the printer and on the underside of the lid.  All of the foam looks like its dried and crumbling.  Some pieces have come detached.  Because of this I'm not even going to attempt to power it on or test it.  For those interested please let me know if you still are.  Be sure and check out the details and pictures in the thread above as well as these additional ones:

 

image.jpgimage.jpgimage.jpgimage.jpgimage.jpgimage.jpg


  • RXB likes this

#23 digdugnate OFFLINE  

digdugnate

    Chopper Commander

  • 226 posts
  • Location:SW Missouri

Posted Sat Apr 22, 2017 6:55 PM

i got 'the look' from my wife so i'm going to bow out. :)  

 

happy wife, happy life!



#24 budz2355 OFFLINE  

budz2355

    Moonsweeper

  • 275 posts
  • Location:Minnesota

Posted Mon Apr 24, 2017 5:57 AM

Mitkraft -- just to clarify: that foam is permanently attached to the printer? Also you do not believe the printer is functional?

#25 Mitkraft OFFLINE  

Mitkraft

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 498 posts
  • Location:Houston, TX area

Posted Mon Apr 24, 2017 12:12 PM

Mitkraft -- just to clarify: that foam is permanently attached to the printer? Also you do not believe the printer is functional?

 

The foam was originally permenantly attached i.e. part of the original design.  It has dried with age and is starting to crumble and come lose in places.  The few loose chunks on the pool table were found inside the printer when I opened up the top.  I'm thinking now that unless I can confirm that it at least powers up I'm not sure anyone would be willing to take the risk and pay to ship it.  Those who are seriously interested in paying the shipping for it please let me know if you'd prefer that I not apply power to it (since there is some loose foam and foam-dust inside or would you rather at least see that it powers up?  My only concern was the print cart spinning up and moving back and forth like some do on power-up.  I wasn't sure if the foam dust needed to be cleaned out before doing that and I'm not willing to go through the trouble to clean the inside.

 

Please, let me know who's still interested and whether I should do a power-on test.

 

Thanks!






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users