Jump to content


The AtariAge Forum is undergoing a major upgrade today.  The forum is currently in read-only mode except for the Announcements Forum.  Please read this important post!

Photo

Services Offered: Repairs, Recaps, upgrades and more! Most Systems

Amiga Nintendo Sega Atari NeoGeo NEC Consoles Classics

28 replies to this topic

#1 Acill OFFLINE  

Acill

    Space Invader

  • 18 posts
  • Location:Port Hueneme, Ca (USA)

Posted Wed Apr 26, 2017 6:43 PM

Hello everyone, I just wanted to reach out and introduce myself here since I've been asked by some of the Amiga owners I have done services for about other systems as well. My Name is Paul Rezendes, and if you follow the Amiga scene you may know me fairly well. I do a lot of upgrades and repair work in my free time on classic systems, consoles, vintage home audio gear at times and several other projects.  I am located in the USA in S. California. 

 

I haven't added much to my web site about non-Amiga related items just yet, but I do them quite often by word of mouth. If you're interested in getting recaps done on any of your machines please feel free to ask. The only catch is it may take some time to complete due to the nature of my full-time job. I work as an Engineering Tech and travel quite a bit, so this is done on my spare time. I usually get recaps back fast, but repairs can take quite a bit of time to diagnose and return. Just please be understanding of that and I can take good care of you. 

 

Here are some examples of some recent work I have done and some of the prices I charge. I've heard I am very reasonable in prices asked. 

 

My web site is located at http://www.acill.com(Its a work in progress and I hate the Shopify service so it may close and change soon)

 

Typical cost for a recap on the A600 and A1200 is $58 and the A4000 is $68. I use Panasonic Hybrid caps only and this adds to the cost. I have done some for less when the owner insists on sending a cap kit from Amikit. In that case it usually is about $38.

Replacing simm sockets is $25 each which includes the new socket. 

Battery circuit repairs on A4000 can run from $120 and up depending on the work involved. 

CD32 recaps using hybrid caps is about $80 depending on current price of the caps. This is because of the high nimber required.

A4000T complete recap is $100 which includes the main board and three modules. 

Buster replace/upgrade is $38

Socket replace is also $38 each.

That should give you a good idea. Here is also a list of recent work with some good quality pictures. 

A3000D Paula Socket Repairs
https://goo.gl/photo...YuQqP41KFodM7r5

A4000cr SIMM Socket Replace
https://goo.gl/photo...YuQqP41KFodM7r5

A1200 Floppy and IDE Header Replace, Recap and General Restoration
https://goo.gl/photo...ZG2r5ZiDvrD7i97

A4000cr Complete Restoration
https://goo.gl/photo...Enc1DX1nAUnAYK7

A1200 Bad Cap Job Repair, Leak Fix, Recap and Trace Jumper
https://goo.gl/photo...qgz32kSWSKYoNj6

A4000 Clock Circuit Fix
https://goo.gl/photo...yrREhrTTTauy8M6

68040 to 68060 Adapter Build
https://goo.gl/photo...THH3g4hvYq62UN8

A4000T Port Module Hand Built
https://goo.gl/photo...kjZehQF5VaqVrk7

A4000 New Simm sockets and trace repairs
https://goo.gl/photo...e3oPw78RhYH7jo6

Rapidfire SCSI Card Repairs
https://goo.gl/photo...qHjvvMVe8N4KeQ8

Blizzard 040 to 060 Conversion
https://goo.gl/photo...zMbgNWpfpG5gc68

Apollo 1240 to 1260 Conversion 
https://goo.gl/photo...vdxNiGuXnZsrYM9


Edited by Acill, Wed Apr 26, 2017 7:18 PM.


#2 eebuckeye ONLINE  

eebuckeye

    Stargunner

  • 1,320 posts

Posted Wed Apr 26, 2017 7:13 PM

Where are you located?



#3 Acill OFFLINE  

Acill

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 18 posts
  • Location:Port Hueneme, Ca (USA)

Posted Wed Apr 26, 2017 7:19 PM

Southern California in the USA. 



#4 cjameslv OFFLINE  

cjameslv

    Dragonstomper

  • 656 posts
  • Location:Las Vegas

Posted Wed Apr 26, 2017 7:26 PM

I follow Amiga and i haven't heard of you. How about some references please.

 

Thanks 



#5 Acill OFFLINE  

Acill

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 18 posts
  • Location:Port Hueneme, Ca (USA)

Posted Wed Apr 26, 2017 7:36 PM

I follow Amiga and i haven't heard of you. How about some references please.

 

Thanks 

Really? Sure....

 

http://eab.abime.net...ead.php?t=85663

 

http://www.amiga.org...ead.php?t=70747

 

https://www.facebook...CommodoreAmiga/

 

https://www.facebook.../AcillClassics/

 

http://www.amibay.co...and-SMD-repairs

 

Just post in any of the Amiga specific forums and ask as well. I am particularly active on Amiga.org and in the Commodore Amiga facebook group. 



#6 CPUWIZ OFFLINE  

CPUWIZ

    Commander

  • 35,198 posts
  • I am the one who knocks!
  • Location:SoCal

Posted Wed Apr 26, 2017 7:39 PM

Southern California in the USA. 

 

Interesting, any clue why your IP originates in Japan? :ponder:



#7 thegoldenband OFFLINE  

thegoldenband

    Quadrunner

  • 5,594 posts
  • Location:The Sapphire Galaxy

Posted Wed Apr 26, 2017 7:44 PM

Paul, forgive us if folks here are a bit gun-shy -- we recently had an ugly incident with a person offering repair services. It's nothing personal, just a case of once bitten twice shy. :)

 

Do you have any expertise with Intellivision repairs? There's a real need for someone who knows how to diagnose and fix those systems.



#8 Acill OFFLINE  

Acill

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 18 posts
  • Location:Port Hueneme, Ca (USA)

Posted Wed Apr 26, 2017 7:54 PM

 

Interesting, any clue why your IP originates in Japan? :ponder:

Because I am working in Japan right now. My full time job is with the US Navy as a civilian engineering technician. I travel a lot as a result. I totally understand you being cautious! I get home on the 29th and will post again to show you I am actually home in California! ;) 



#9 Acill OFFLINE  

Acill

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 18 posts
  • Location:Port Hueneme, Ca (USA)

Posted Wed Apr 26, 2017 7:57 PM

Paul, forgive us if folks here are a bit gun-shy -- we recently had an ugly incident with a person offering repair services. It's nothing personal, just a case of once bitten twice shy. :)

 

Do you have any expertise with Intellivision repairs? There's a real need for someone who knows how to diagnose and fix those systems.

 

I havent worked on them in a long time, but if I have a schematic and can locate parts I shouldnt have much of an issue. They are simple machines but the parts are hard to come by new. 

 

NO offence taken on the questioning. I can understand the worry and my IP showing Japan right now. I am actually here working In Yokosuka for a few more days. 



#10 ToddUGA OFFLINE  

ToddUGA

    Chopper Commander

  • 140 posts

Posted Wed Apr 26, 2017 7:58 PM

Done business with Paul. Top notch work. He's also well known over at Amiga.org.



#11 mattsoft OFFLINE  

mattsoft

    Moonsweeper

  • 343 posts
  • Gaming
  • Location:Seattle

Posted Wed Apr 26, 2017 8:30 PM

I haven't been on this board for long as I'm mostly an Amiga guy, but I've had 2 Amiga 600 motherboards recap'd by Paul. He's an honest guy and does great work. If you REALLY follow Amiga, and are on Amibay or amiga.org or the English Amiga Board, you know Paul. He's been around a long time.

 

Paul - since you're now on AtariAge, does that mean you could recap my 800XL and Mega ST? :)



#12 Acill OFFLINE  

Acill

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 18 posts
  • Location:Port Hueneme, Ca (USA)

Posted Wed Apr 26, 2017 8:33 PM

I haven't been on this board for long as I'm mostly an Amiga guy, but I've had 2 Amiga 600 motherboards recap'd by Paul. He's an honest guy and does great work. If you REALLY follow Amiga, and are on Amibay or amiga.org or the English Amiga Board, you know Paul. He's been around a long time.

 

Paul - since you're now on AtariAge, does that mean you could recap my 800XL and Mega ST? :)

 

Thanks Matt, and yes I have always done other systems, I just don't advertise it a lot since I am a one man show. If you need them done I can happily do them for you. I just have to order some more parts and be home long enough to catch back up.  How is that 2nd A600 by the way?

 

Thats why I put the disclaimer in the first post about being slow at time ;)


Edited by Acill, Wed Apr 26, 2017 8:34 PM.


#13 Kremlar OFFLINE  

Kremlar

    Space Invader

  • 41 posts

Posted Thu Apr 27, 2017 10:47 AM

I've used Acill/Paul as well.  I think I was one of the first, found him on amiga.org.  Sent him my Amiga 4000T motherboard & assorted boards, then my Amiga 1200 board.  Did great work on both.

 

Paul seems like a great guy genuinely interested in helping people save their vintage hardware!

I wouldn't hesitate sending him anything.  As a matter of fact I still have an Amiga 600 I'd like to send him.  :)



#14 -^CrožBow^- OFFLINE  

-^CrožBow^-

    Quadrunner

  • 7,225 posts
  • Collector of Fine Atari and Sega Antiquities!
  • Location:Ivory Tower, Fantasia (Oklahoma)

Posted Thu Apr 27, 2017 11:51 AM

My only nit pick is the use of machine pinned sockets for replacements. I've had bad luck with using these as drop in sockets given that the pins on ICs are flat blades and not round. So I've ran into connection problems with using them over time. This was especially true when I was using them on my Hi-DEF NES. I ended up pulling them out and replacing them with standard dual wipe sockets and the odd PPU glitches I was getting before went away.



#15 Acill OFFLINE  

Acill

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 18 posts
  • Location:Port Hueneme, Ca (USA)

Posted Thu Apr 27, 2017 2:43 PM

My only nit pick is the use of machine pinned sockets for replacements. I've had bad luck with using these as drop in sockets given that the pins on ICs are flat blades and not round. So I've ran into connection problems with using them over time. This was especially true when I was using them on my Hi-DEF NES. I ended up pulling them out and replacing them with standard dual wipe sockets and the odd PPU glitches I was getting before went away.

 

Machined sockets work great if you know what you are doing. Strange that you had connection issues with them. They fit tighter and hold the IC more securely in most cases.  I don't use these if the customer doesn't want them. 



#16 eightbit OFFLINE  

eightbit

    River Patroller

  • 3,455 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Thu Apr 27, 2017 10:35 PM

I have heard your name in Amiga circles as well and was curious about getting some work done. Thank you for offering your services here on AtariAge. That said, I will PM you some questions ;)

 

Also, to ensure "you are who you are" for people concerned, can you reply to your thread here and mention you have posted in the AA forums offering services as well?

 

http://www.amiga.org...t=70747&page=14


Edited by eightbit, Thu Apr 27, 2017 10:53 PM.


#17 Acill OFFLINE  

Acill

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 18 posts
  • Location:Port Hueneme, Ca (USA)

Posted Thu Apr 27, 2017 10:59 PM

Done! And thanks again for all the warm welcomes I've been getting! 



#18 eightbit OFFLINE  

eightbit

    River Patroller

  • 3,455 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Fri Apr 28, 2017 6:36 AM

Thanks for that Paul! That said you should see my A2000 motherboard in about two weeks ;) Very very fair price quote I must say! When the work is done I will be posting pictures and my thoughts on the work in this thread for others to evaluate!


Edited by eightbit, Fri Apr 28, 2017 6:37 AM.


#19 Bratwurst OFFLINE  

Bratwurst

    Stargunner

  • 1,225 posts

Posted Fri Apr 28, 2017 8:23 AM

 

Machined sockets work great if you know what you are doing. Strange that you had connection issues with them. They fit tighter and hold the IC more securely in most cases.  I don't use these if the customer doesn't want them. 

 

Machine sockets are terrible to desolder and the expression 'square peg in a round hole' applies very much to flat pins which 99% of ICs have. The only practical application for them imo is for headers made out of round pins...



#20 Acill OFFLINE  

Acill

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 18 posts
  • Location:Port Hueneme, Ca (USA)

Posted Fri Apr 28, 2017 4:06 PM

 

Machine sockets are terrible to desolder and the expression 'square peg in a round hole' applies very much to flat pins which 99% of ICs have. The only practical application for them imo is for headers made out of round pins...

 

I've been doing this for many years and have had more opinions on it than I can even begin to think of. As I mentioned in a previous thread, I only do it if asked and I prefer it for chips that don't get pulled in and out a lot myself.  As far as desoldering goes I find them much easier to replace. I have a Pace and Hakko vacuum desoldering station pair I use. By hand, I would never attempt it without them. 

 

The problem some people face with the spring pin sockets is they get cheap Chinese ones that come apart or have someone solder them that uses to much heat and the pins come out of them and break over a short time. A good socket will not do this, but they are harder to get if the owner insists on getting them off eBay or someplace like Gearbest or Wish. I get all mine in large batches from Element14 or DigiKey. If I am sent a socket I feel is junk I let the owner know and recommend they use one of mine. My price quotes are figured in with a socket I provide if I am doing the job anyway.

 

Same goes with the caps I use for SMD stuff. I use Panasonic Hybrid Caps, they are not cheap at all. Some people find cheaper lower rated and want to know why I charge what I do ( I think my fee is way lower than it even should be, but I do it for the love of it and not as my main source of income) and I show them the difference. Here are a couple examples of what I mean. 

 

22uF SMD is a very common cap to use in all the SMD Amiga models. The 600, 1200, 4000 and the 4000T all use this one.

 

You can use this one just fine at 20 cents each when you buy them in 50 or more: https://www.digikey....838CT-ND/766214

 

BUT, if you go to all the work to do a recap, why in the heck would you use a lower life cheap cap again? I use these at  97 cents each at 50 or more. I use this series in all my jobs because they are rated at 10,000 hours over 2000 or less for the others. 

 

Here is the same cap in the one I use in my work: https://www.digikey....51CT-ND/3088153

 

 

I dont want anyone getting the idea I am throwing the wrong part for the job in and do not know what I am doing here. I do military hardware for a living and understand this stuff very well. Some customers want things one way and others prefer them another way. I respect that decision and do the best I can to make sure it works right in all cases before I do a job. 


Edited by Acill, Fri Apr 28, 2017 4:12 PM.


#21 Acill OFFLINE  

Acill

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 18 posts
  • Location:Port Hueneme, Ca (USA)

Posted Sat Apr 29, 2017 5:51 PM

Here is an awesome project I'm about to start.Its an all new produced Amiga 500 Plus I'm building from scratch.

https://goo.gl/photo...xfSNepJpZMDGMk6

#22 Acill OFFLINE  

Acill

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 18 posts
  • Location:Port Hueneme, Ca (USA)

Posted Mon May 1, 2017 7:21 AM

This is an A4000 board I have been working on for a customer that had someone attempt to repair the ROM sockets and didn't do a very good job of it. The sockets were ripped out mostly and took several eyelets with it and tore several more from traces. He has limited funds so we are doing it as correct as I can for him in small stages. You can see the new copper eyelets in this shared album. 

 

https://goo.gl/photo...aEH4u1Du3Td2Cn6



#23 eightbit OFFLINE  

eightbit

    River Patroller

  • 3,455 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Mon May 1, 2017 7:10 PM

Here is an awesome project I'm about to start.Its an all new produced Amiga 500 Plus I'm building from scratch.

https://goo.gl/photo...xfSNepJpZMDGMk6

 

 

Will you be selling these?



#24 mattsoft OFFLINE  

mattsoft

    Moonsweeper

  • 343 posts
  • Gaming
  • Location:Seattle

Posted Mon May 1, 2017 7:21 PM

I'm hoping that Paul offers an install for Tuxbar's new megachip (http://www.amibay.co...achip-for-Amiga). :) 



#25 Acill OFFLINE  

Acill

    Space Invader

  • Topic Starter
  • 18 posts
  • Location:Port Hueneme, Ca (USA)

Posted Mon May 1, 2017 7:42 PM

 

 

Will you be selling these?

 

Sadly no, this was a project done over at the German language site A1k.org awhile back. I believe its done now and they sold all they offered to produce. 

 

I'm hoping that Paul offers an install for Tuxbar's new megachip (http://www.amibay.co...achip-for-Amiga). :)

 

I've asked him about it before and posted in his thread I was interested! 







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Amiga, Nintendo, Sega, Atari, NeoGeo, NEC, Consoles, Classics

0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users