Jump to content

Photo

TIPI - TI-99/4A to Raspberry PI interface development


717 replies to this topic

#201 ndp630 OFFLINE  

ndp630

    Star Raider

  • 50 posts

Posted Tue Oct 17, 2017 5:24 AM

 

Looking at this photo makes me think, "Yes".

 

Awesome. That looks great. I have a PEB with 32K, rs-232, and ti disk controller, so it looks like I'm set. I wouldn't mind getting a 32k sidecar though.



#202 jedimatt42 OFFLINE  

jedimatt42

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,826 posts
  • Location:Beaverton, OR

Posted Fri Oct 20, 2017 12:15 AM

This week's progress: I've been able to play Wizard's Doom, Old Dark Caves 2, Legends, Legends 2, and Panzer Strike.

Their save game mechanisms all work as well. Although, I haven't run through the l2conv disk for Legends 2.

-M@

#203 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    Sunbaenim

  • 13,198 posts

Posted Fri Oct 20, 2017 7:28 AM

 

The Sideport TIPI has no power port. It expects to get it from the +5v pin on the 32k board's expansion header. The 32k board won't offer +5v on that pin, unless an external power supply is used (as designed).
 

 

This just jumped out at me.  I don't know why I missed it the first time I read it.  Anyway, since you are the creator of both, what do you recommend in milliamps to supply both?



#204 jedimatt42 OFFLINE  

jedimatt42

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,826 posts
  • Location:Beaverton, OR

Posted Fri Oct 20, 2017 8:41 AM

I haven't measured the TIPI board's consumption yet. But I'd guess it is less than 100ma.

Some 32k boards use 65ma, some use 25ma.

These are what I'd recommend:

https://www.arcadesh...tegory=22342013

-M@

#205 ndp630 OFFLINE  

ndp630

    Star Raider

  • 50 posts

Posted Sun Oct 22, 2017 6:53 PM

Ive got a 32k sidecar preordered from Arcadeshopper along with a power supply (and a joystick adapter for good measure ha). Ill be ready when the TIPI is available to order. The only thing I dont have on my setup is storage because I dont have a nonfried disk drive right now, so Im thinking I will wait for TIPI to be my storage answer. I would be interested in double sided drive if I can find one at a reasonable price. I had 2 slimline drives in my peb at one time.

Edited by ndp630, Sun Oct 22, 2017 6:54 PM.


#206 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    Sunbaenim

  • 13,198 posts

Posted Tue Oct 24, 2017 7:00 AM

The case that comes with the Rpi kit that Shift838 recommended is actually quite good.  If we do end up having a sleight height issue with the cabling, a specially designed TI logo 'added height' replacement top could be made with perfect slot/hole. 



#207 jedimatt42 OFFLINE  

jedimatt42

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,826 posts
  • Location:Beaverton, OR

Posted Wed Oct 25, 2017 1:16 AM

I have to put function over form.

-M@

#208 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    Sunbaenim

  • 13,198 posts

Posted Wed Oct 25, 2017 5:20 AM

I have to put function over form.

 

Perfectly understandable, and expected from an excellent hardware guy like yourself. :)    In my case, admittedly not being anywhere near your league, I am relegated to just looking to the future on how best to dress up the little gadget to my own personal taste.  It's about the only fun and excitement I get while I wait for the big day when TIPI changes everything for the TI enthusiast.



#209 Shift838 OFFLINE  

Shift838

    River Patroller

  • 2,447 posts
  • SHIFT838
  • Location:Deer Park, Texas

Posted Thu Oct 26, 2017 1:31 PM

For everyone the kit I recommended based on the case is because the case is solid, and the top can either be completely removed or since it's plastic can easily be modified....So it should work nicely when the Ti-Pi is released since we will need to open the top part because of the GPIO headers and cable for the Ti-Pi.

 

Should be easy enough to dremel it straight...That's my plan anyway..



#210 digdugnate OFFLINE  

digdugnate

    River Patroller

  • 2,036 posts

Posted Thu Oct 26, 2017 3:49 PM

looking forward to the 'next big thing' in modern TI kit!



#211 ElectricLab OFFLINE  

ElectricLab

    Chopper Commander

  • 245 posts
  • Location:Hillsboro, Oregon

Posted Thu Nov 2, 2017 1:39 AM

Here is another quick demo of using the web administration to copy/paste some BASIC code into a web form hosted on the TIPI, then loading the code on real hardware and running it.



#212 ndp630 OFFLINE  

ndp630

    Star Raider

  • 50 posts

Posted Tue Nov 7, 2017 5:53 PM

I anxiously await giving you guys my money. I’ve got a sidecar 32k ordered, and 1 of my 3 Raspberry Pi’s available. Really looking forward to it!

#213 jedimatt42 OFFLINE  

jedimatt42

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,826 posts
  • Location:Beaverton, OR

Posted Mon Dec 4, 2017 4:47 PM

Since TIPI is leaching into other threads... Here is an update:

It is in the hands of a few early beta testers. Working out the issues with initial setup, and upgrade.

We have tested it on Raspberry PI Zero W. I put zero forethought into this. It just worked... and just fit... There are a couple picks over here on my website:

http://ti994a.cwfk.net/TIPI.html

--

The next thing I plan to do is add a TI BASIC call to the DSR... CALL TIPI to load the EA5 config tool from TIPI.TIPICFG, so you can have easy access to changing DSK1 mapping without swapping cartridges ( or cartridge images as is often the case today )

--

I have also recently fixed DSR issues with cascading to your real floppies if DSK1 isn't mapped. This is more important for the upcoming PEB version... I haven't worked on routing the PEB version much since I was concerned about that not working correctly.
Joyously, that is working now. My problem was that all the documentation says I can mess with the scratchpad memory used for the floating point accumulator. But this isn't 100% true.

If you intend to handle the request or ERROR, then sure, you can use all the FAC. But If you want to let DSRLNK find a subsequent card to handle the request, then you need to leave the FAC intact up to 0x8355.

--

For the PEB version... I'm still confused about my GenMod Geneve. It seems to me, I should be able to decode AMA through AME and it still should work on a stock TI, but for reasons I cannot determine, all of the schematics I've seen use jumpers to disable that decoding. Which if necessary, means I don't understand the decoding at all.

I doubt the January time frame I mentioned elsewhere will hold for the PEB. I'd like it to at least function to the same extent as HDX on a Geneve.

-M@

#214 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    Sunbaenim

  • 13,198 posts

Posted Tue Dec 5, 2017 9:18 AM

Matt,

   I have a question..  Is the 'official device' going to be the Rpi 0 W?  Working in headless mode, I like it as it's smaller and could reduce the overall cost.  

 

   But now I have another question?  Who out there will consider making a case to contain all three boards?  This can be the "ULTIMATE SIDECAR" for the 'ol TI for sure.  

Attached Files



#215 Sinphaltimus OFFLINE  

Sinphaltimus

    River Patroller

  • 2,515 posts
  • Distracted at the Keyboard
  • Location:Poconos, PA

Posted Tue Dec 5, 2017 11:16 AM

Matt,

   I have a question..  Is the 'official device' going to be the Rpi 0 W?  Working in headless mode, I like it as it's smaller and could reduce the overall cost.  

 

   But now I have another question?  Who out the will consider making a case to contain all three boards?  This can be the "ULTIMATE SIDECAR" for the 'ol TI for sure.  


It will really be something to see. 32k, TiPi and Pi0 all in one case with one power connector. That will really be something. I'm sure we'll see pics posted at some point in the future. A complete nanPEB replacement really with added benefits. I think we'll see TiPi development eventually eliminate the need for rs232.



#216 AMenard OFFLINE  

AMenard

    Dragonstomper

  • 759 posts
  • Location:Beauharnois, Qc, Canada

Posted Tue Dec 5, 2017 12:45 PM

Well, RS232 could still have it use for hobbyist so I wouldn't take it out if it was me.



#217 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    Sunbaenim

  • 13,198 posts

Posted Tue Dec 5, 2017 12:50 PM

A complete nanPEB replacement really with added benefits. I think we'll see TiPi development eventually eliminate the need for rs232.

 

There certainly is a need.  My personal experience with multiple Nano's was less than stellar, especially where the RS-232 was involved.  If past experience with Matt & Corey's work is involved, it'll be a useful and RELIABLE piece of equipment.  The built-in WiFi capability alone will be a definite plus for sure.

 

I've been excited about the expansion port on Matt's 32K card since day one.  The thought and effort being put into this little gadget has been way above the call of duty.  I think the TI community will be indebted to those two guys for years to come.  I wonder how long it'll take for them to be inducted into TI-Sainthood status?   ;-)



#218 Sinphaltimus OFFLINE  

Sinphaltimus

    River Patroller

  • 2,515 posts
  • Distracted at the Keyboard
  • Location:Poconos, PA

Posted Tue Dec 5, 2017 1:05 PM

Well, RS232 could still have it use for hobbyist so I wouldn't take it out if it was me.

 

Well there is no RS232 without a PEB card or nanoPEB or UberGROM (afaik). For someone who has nothing and gets the 32k/TiPi/Pi0 combo, they aren't getting rs232 out of the gate. That's not to say that with future TiPi development, someone won't take a USB RS232 adaptor connected to the Pi and write all the software/DSR to get it working via TiPi. A command like OLD TIPI.RS232 might load a terminal program preconfigured to work with the Pi. 

There really are so many possibilities if developers are willing to jump on the Ti/Pi development platform. i wouldn't put all that pressure on the TiPi developers directly but perhaps folks in the community might take an interest in developing for TiPi specifically with these kinds of projects in mind..


Edited by Sinphaltimus, Tue Dec 5, 2017 1:06 PM.


#219 AMenard OFFLINE  

AMenard

    Dragonstomper

  • 759 posts
  • Location:Beauharnois, Qc, Canada

Posted Tue Dec 5, 2017 1:18 PM

 

Well there is no RS232 without a PEB card or nanoPEB or UberGROM (afaik). For someone who has nothing and gets the 32k/TiPi/Pi0 combo, they aren't getting rs232 out of the gate. That's not to say that with future TiPi development, someone won't take a USB RS232 adaptor connected to the Pi and write all the software/DSR to get it working via TiPi. A command like OLD TIPI.RS232 might load a terminal program preconfigured to work with the Pi. 

There really are so many possibilities if developers are willing to jump on the Ti/Pi development platform. i wouldn't put all that pressure on the TiPi developers directly but perhaps folks in the community might take an interest in developing for TiPi specifically with these kinds of projects in mind..

 

I misspoke. When I said taking it out, I meant ruling out the possibility of adding it in or supporting it in some way. 



#220 InsaneMultitasker OFFLINE  

InsaneMultitasker

    River Patroller

  • 2,299 posts

Posted Tue Dec 5, 2017 1:35 PM

For the PEB version... I'm still confused about my GenMod Geneve. It seems to me, I should be able to decode AMA through AME and it still should work on a stock TI, but for reasons I cannot determine, all of the schematics I've seen use jumpers to disable that decoding. Which if necessary, means I don't understand the decoding at all.

I doubt the January time frame I mentioned elsewhere will hold for the PEB. I'd like it to at least function to the same extent as HDX on a Geneve.

-M@

 

The TI isn't using those address lines, IIRC, which is why they are disabled.  The Genmod on the other hand requires that decoding or at minimum, configuring it accordingly.  Some cards tie the address lines where others do not; the latter card usually need an AMA/B/C decode added to them.  You should review the Genmod documentation for some additional details.

 

If you need a standard Geneve for testing I could send one your way sometime in the near future.  Just reach out to me via PM as I am not checking the forums very often, now that the end of the year crunch time is here.



#221 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 3,949 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Tue Dec 5, 2017 4:38 PM

 
The TI isn't using those address lines, IIRC, which is why they are disabled.  The Genmod on the other hand requires that decoding or at minimum, configuring it accordingly.  Some cards tie the address lines where others do not; the latter card usually need an AMA/B/C decode added to them.  You should review the Genmod documentation for some additional details.
 
If you need a standard Geneve for testing I could send one your way sometime in the near future.  Just reach out to me via PM as I am not checking the forums very often, now that the end of the year crunch time is here.

A generous offer. I have one across town he can test with as well.

Sent from my LG-H830 using Tapatalk

#222 mizapf OFFLINE  

mizapf

    River Patroller

  • 3,423 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Tue Dec 5, 2017 4:59 PM

For the PEB version... I'm still confused about my GenMod Geneve. It seems to me, I should be able to decode AMA through AME and it still should work on a stock TI, but for reasons I cannot determine, all of the schematics I've seen use jumpers to disable that decoding. Which if necessary, means I don't understand the decoding at all.

I doubt the January time frame I mentioned elsewhere will hold for the PEB. I'd like it to at least function to the same extent as HDX on a Geneve.

 

Have a look here: https://www.ninerped...ry_organization



#223 jedimatt42 OFFLINE  

jedimatt42

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,826 posts
  • Location:Beaverton, OR

Posted Wed Dec 6, 2017 12:37 AM

Have a look here: https://www.ninerped...ry_organization


Thanks, I've read that before (quite a while back), but it makes more sense to me today..

I've noticed that the designs documented on TI-Tech-Pages, usually decode the extra address lines along with A0, as A0 is fed into other 'enablement' decoding.. using a LS'138 so A0 is high if not all of the signals are exactly right.

It just doesn't seem like the switch here is needed: http://www.unige.ch/...l/ti99/ide2.htm
With a flex-card in the PEB for a 4A like environment, the AMA-AME lines should be in the enabling configuration. Am I wrong, is the TI/Geneve switch function just a matter of principle? Or is it actually necessary?

I'd prefer to skip the switch if it isn't necessary.

---

I also keep torturing myself with doubts about A0, and how that relates to CRU decoding... but I think it doesn't matter, I assume the Geneve memory mapper isn't participating with CRU addressing.

---

As you have said before, this is probably why none of my TI DSRs work in GPL mode with the option to use the DSR ROMs.

-M@

#224 mizapf OFFLINE  

mizapf

    River Patroller

  • 3,423 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Wed Dec 6, 2017 4:40 AM

Thanks, I've read that before (quite a while back), but it makes more sense to me today..

 

Well-known effect. :-) It pays off to have a second look at some information that was not so clear at first sight.



#225 jedimatt42 OFFLINE  

jedimatt42

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,826 posts
  • Location:Beaverton, OR

Posted Sat Dec 30, 2017 10:02 PM

I'm starting to work on Level 2 IO routines for TIPI's DSR.

Just so everyone understands, TIPI is a FIAD system. there are no sectors.

Level 2 IO was meant to be used by Texas Instruments Disk Manager cartridges with a TI Floppy Disk Controller only. It really does not appear to be designed as a standard interface.
For instance, the level 2 IO routines are implemented in the DSR's BASIC call list. They just use single by CALL names, that are ascii codes 16 through 26 (non-typables on a 4a) (or even different sets for HDX, HFDC, SCSI, IDE cards)
Then parameter passing doesn't use the PAB as far as I can tell... Parameters must be stuffed into scratchpad at specific addresses in the FAC region. ( I need to find some source that actually uses these routines. )

I have been able to implement the 'protect' routine, based on Fred Kaal's documentation. And it interacts with DM2K correctly.

But here is the real kick in nuts about this practice: No existing file management tool will know what to do for a device named TIPI., or DSK0. I support drive to directory aliasing, so DM2K will work with me for something like DSK1., DSK2., DSK3.
File management tools have to have hard-coded information to map between device name and the set of 'names' for the CALL entries to use.

---

For compatibility, the best that can be expected is some of it works with DSK1-3 if the drive to dir mapping is used.

Alternative approaches exist, and value/effort may demand this concession:

* The TIPI file system is available over a samba share, point your TI99DIR at it, and have fun.
* TIPI will provide a WEB-UI file manager.

Both of those have the additional limitation of not being able to copy files from your floppies or other TI drives to TIPI (except HDX icon_smile.gif ) But that shouldn't be a problem when for sideport users, you have no other drives (in general)

---

Just venting, and sharing. I have high hopes for my progress this weekend.

-M@




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users