IGNORED

Beginning Machine Language with a 600XL

Hi Guys,

I have a great interest in learning basics for machine language programming on the 6502. I own a real Atari 600XL but do you think it would be easier at least at the beginning to use an emulator?

I am a noob and would like to know any books or publication on how to code ML for beginners on an XL computer. Also which assembler shall I use and how to compile the source code then?

I know there are some threads on this matter already but there is a lot of information and I cannot dig out what would be essential for a good start. :?

Many thanks :)

Rick

If it is a 16k 600xl, use an emulator to start because the alternative would be using a cassette for storing your programs. If you expand the memory to 64k, then you have better options then the cassette.

Common denominator would probably be some form of the ASM/ED cartridge. There are better assemblers out there, matter of fact it would probably be hard to find one that isn't better! :) Most published code from books will probably be compatible.

Couple of links

https://www.atarimax.com/freenet/freenet_material/12.AtariLibrary/2.MiscellaneousTextFiles/showarticle.php?111

https://atariwiki.org/wiki/attach/Atari%20Assembler%20Editor/ATARI%20Assembler%20Editor%20Users%20Manual.pdf

http://onlinebooks.library.upenn.edu/webbin/book/browse?type=lcsubc&key=Atari%20800%20(Computer)%20--%20Programming

Develop using WUDSN. Atari Roots is a good book to start with. And, of course, this wonderful group of talented developers can always get you over the rough patches. After you get 6502 down, you'll want to read a Atari specific book. De Re Atari is really good but also ready technical so I wouldn't suggest that for beginners.

Edited by Justin Payne

H Guys,

Many thanks to both of you for your advices :-). The 600 is modded to 64k. WUDSN is that a Window based assembler? Sorry I did not specify I am on MAC. Is there any Atari assembler for MAC OSX available?