Jump to content

Photo

So, my new F18a seems to have died

sadness F18A

15 replies to this topic

#1 blakespot OFFLINE  

blakespot

    Chopper Commander

  • 126 posts
  • Location:Alexandria, VA (USA)

Posted Sun May 21, 2017 2:48 PM

I spent much of the weekend opening my 99/4A, removing the cassette jack, installing F18a, placing VGA out in the place of the cassette jack, etc.

 

Powered on and all was good. Fun last night and was online (telnet BBS) via WiFi232 and TIMXT this morning. Left the term prog loaded all day while I cleaned and rearranged the room so I can actually sit in front of the 99 to BBS properly, aaaand.... I noticed the text on TIMXT was no longer white but a muddy color. No keyboard response. I powered off and on -- no more video output.

 

I can hear the TV power up, I hit 2 for FR99, can hear things as I navigate thru it and load a random cart and I see from its LED that it's loading a cart. But no video out. 

 

I tried it on a different VGA LCD, no video there either -- so it's not my screen. 

 

SO disappointing. Was so looking forward to BBSing in ANSI color on the TI here on my 45th birthday (today). Definite birthday downer. I really don't want to pull everything out again and open up the TI -- no energy for that again, not tonite.

 

Any ideas out there? Is there a chance things are not fried? I now the TI needs the gfx chip to access memory, or I believe it does. So, it can't be fully fried.

 

The ribbon cable is well secured, screwed into the case. No stress on it since I turned on this morning. 

 

https://twitter.com/...030731725819904

 

 

Thanks.

 

 

 

bp



#2 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 2,557 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Sun May 21, 2017 3:01 PM

Have you contacted Matthew?

Sent from my LG-H830 using Tapatalk

#3 InsaneMultitasker OFFLINE  

InsaneMultitasker

    Stargunner

  • 1,731 posts

Posted Sun May 21, 2017 3:25 PM


I can hear the TV power up, I hit 2 for FR99, can hear things as I navigate thru it and load a random cart and I see from its LED that it's loading a cart. But no video out. 

Have you tried a different monitor?  One of my old 4:3 monitors failed recently, so maybe it's worth checking if you haven't already done so.



#4 blakespot OFFLINE  

blakespot

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 126 posts
  • Location:Alexandria, VA (USA)

Posted Sun May 21, 2017 3:33 PM

Have you tried a different monitor?  One of my old 4:3 monitors failed recently, so maybe it's worth checking if you haven't already done so.

 

Yep. Not the monitor. Does the F18a run hot? Thermal failure likely?



#5 blakespot OFFLINE  

blakespot

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 126 posts
  • Location:Alexandria, VA (USA)

Posted Sun May 21, 2017 3:42 PM

If I leave the machine on, every now and again the LCD power light goes amber to green and I get message : 

 

"1 analog signal -- cannot display this video mode"

 

So it's periodically sending something not VGA-coherent. 



#6 Sinphaltimus OFFLINE  

Sinphaltimus

    Stargunner

  • 1,971 posts
  • Distracted at the Keyboard
  • Location:Poconos, PA

Posted Sun May 21, 2017 4:26 PM

If I leave the machine on, every now and again the LCD power light goes amber to green and I get message : 
 
"1 analog signal -- cannot display this video mode"
 
So it's periodically sending something not VGA-coherent. 


Last easy fix check....Is it the same cable or are you changing vga cables when you changed monitors? I've had vga cables go bad, usually the connectors on old highly used cables.

Worth a check, swap it out if you haven't already.

#7 blakespot OFFLINE  

blakespot

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 126 posts
  • Location:Alexandria, VA (USA)

Posted Sun May 21, 2017 4:35 PM

Tried different VGA cables (and displays). Sadly, not the cause.

#8 InsaneMultitasker OFFLINE  

InsaneMultitasker

    Stargunner

  • 1,731 posts

Posted Sun May 21, 2017 4:44 PM

 

Yep. Not the monitor. Does the F18a run hot? Thermal failure likely?

I have left mine on for days at times without any problems. I couldn't tell you if it runs hot or cool, though.   With luck, when you do open the TI, you'll find something simple like a loose cable or connector. 



#9 blakespot OFFLINE  

blakespot

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 126 posts
  • Location:Alexandria, VA (USA)

Posted Sun May 21, 2017 6:37 PM

Opened the unit. Bare board, it works. Tho shield has not cut into ribbon insulation at all. Not sure what's going on.

#10 matthew180 OFFLINE  

matthew180

    River Patroller

  • 2,408 posts
  • Location:Castaic, California

Posted Mon May 22, 2017 1:23 AM

A few thoughts as I read through the thread:

 

1. No, the F18A does not run hot.  It actually runs much cooler and uses less power than the original 9918A.  Just make sure you remove the 9918A heat-sink from the upper metal shield!  The original heat sink is not required and *will* cause problems and/or damage to your F18A if you leave it attached and reinstall the upper shield.

 

2. I'm not sure what could have caused the video to just "go out".  I would have suspected maybe the F18A came lose in the socket and just needed to be re-seated, but you mentioned being able to hear things happening with the computer.  Since the F18A provides the 16K of VRAM, if it was not seated correctly in the socket then I would expect the system would have problems accessing the VRAM, and thus most software would crash very quickly.

 

3. There is an LED on the F18A.  If the LED is on then you know the F18A is powered and configured properly.  If the LED is on but you do not have video, then the problem is going to be: a.) some pins on the VGA header may be shorted, b.) something is wrong with the VGA pigtail, c.) something is wrong with the external VGA cable, d.) something is wrong with the monitor.

 

4. I have seen the pigtail have a bad crimp on the IDC connector side (the end that plugs into the F18A).  Wiggling the cable sometimes exposes the bad connection.  If that is the problem, I will replace the pigtail, or you can re-crimp it yourself if you are comfortable doing that kind of thing.

 

You said it seems to be working with the "bare board".  I think that means your F18A is working with the computer taken apart?  If that is the case then you might try reassembly in steps, checking that it still works after each step.  If you are putting the shields be on the motherboard, make sure they are lined up and properly secured.  It is very easy to get them misaligned which can cause shorts.  If you cut holes in the shield for the pigtail then I recommend putting electrical tape around the edges of the hole to protect the pigtail from the sharp edges.

 

I hope some of this helps.



#11 InsaneMultitasker OFFLINE  

InsaneMultitasker

    Stargunner

  • 1,731 posts

Posted Tue May 23, 2017 12:43 PM

 

 Just make sure you remove the 9918A heat-sink from the upper metal shield!  The original heat sink is not required and *will* cause problems and/or damage to your F18A if you leave it attached and reinstall the upper shield.

I almost made this mistake when I put mine together.  I wanted to get up and running and almost goofed in the process.



#12 Plastik OFFLINE  

Plastik

    Chopper Commander

  • 142 posts
  • The future is 8-bit
  • Location:New Jersey

Posted Wed May 31, 2017 8:18 PM

A bit off topic but when are the F18A's gonna be back in stock? I've been itching to get one for my Ti.



#13 matthew180 OFFLINE  

matthew180

    River Patroller

  • 2,408 posts
  • Location:Castaic, California

Posted Thu Jun 1, 2017 12:42 AM

Send me a message (the "contact" form on my website (http://codehackcreate.com/contact-us) is a good way to do that) with your name and email and I will put you on the contact list.  Making another batch of boards is driven by demand (I just ran out of boards last week.)



#14 Plastik OFFLINE  

Plastik

    Chopper Commander

  • 142 posts
  • The future is 8-bit
  • Location:New Jersey

Posted Thu Jun 1, 2017 10:52 AM

Send me a message (the "contact" form on my website (http://codehackcreate.com/contact-us) is a good way to do that) with your name and email and I will put you on the contact list.  Making another batch of boards is driven by demand (I just ran out of boards last week.)

Will do thanks

#15 jedimatt42 OFFLINE  

jedimatt42

    Stargunner

  • 1,260 posts
  • Location:Beaverton, OR

Posted Fri Jun 2, 2017 1:08 PM

Any resolution from Blakespot?  It would be great to hear what the resolution is, so we can all learn.

 

-M@



#16 ryoder OFFLINE  

ryoder

    Star Raider

  • 85 posts

Posted Sat Jun 3, 2017 2:10 PM

I want to buy one or maybe 2 f18a boards. Messaged you





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: sadness, F18A

0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users