IGNORED

What's wrong with this Jag?

w00tguy

This is embarrassing. I recently bought a Jaguar on ebay thinking it was working (for a great price!) but it turns out I didn't read the listing carefully. It doesn't power on.

Anyway, I opened it up to look for anything obviously wrong and I see someone has worked on this thing before. One of the RAM chips has a couple of resistors bridging the Vss pins to the UWE/LWE pins (read enable/write enable). This chip has some corrosion/gunk on and around it. I also see a blue wire connecting one of the pins on U11 to TP3 (no idea what either of these are for).

I don't know why either of these modifications were done (neither does the seller). Maybe those chips were failing and that happened to fix them for a while? Maybe this is a normal mod people do to these consoles? I'm new to jaguar and I've never done any hardware troubleshooting like this before. I'm guessing the RAM chip needs replacement, but I don't know how to prove that. Any ideas on what I should do?

>Image of the board<

Edited by w00tguy

The resistors and wire could have been done at Atari.

You need to have a cartridge inserted into the Jag for it to power up, if the power led in not illuminating when you switch it one there are three main possibilities...

1) A faulty power unit, if you have access to a multi meter measure its output.

2) A faulty on/off switch, again if you have access to a multi meter measure the continuity across the contacts to make sure they are switching

3) A blown regulator IC, this is very common as a result of people connecting the wrong power unit, especially one with the polarity reversed

If you do a search of both this and the hardware forum you should be able to find information on the regulator/switch, how to confirm they are faulty and what/how to replace them as these things have been covered before.

• Like 1

Thanks for the info. I wasn't sure where to begin.