Jump to content

Photo

colecovision letters in the wrong colors


17 replies to this topic

#1 bradhig1 OFFLINE  

bradhig1

    Moonsweeper

  • 253 posts
  • Location:Olathe Kansas

Posted Thu Jun 8, 2017 7:35 PM

Sometimes when I start my Colecovision the Colecovision logo is in the wrong colors.  The c is purple instead of red.  Sometimes turning it off and reinserting the game fixes it.    What is causing the problem.

Attached Thumbnails

  • IMG_5260.JPG


#2 SignGuy81 OFFLINE  

SignGuy81

    Dragonstomper

  • 543 posts

Posted Thu Jun 8, 2017 7:47 PM

I've found your problem.  You have a Westinghouse TV.

 

JK

 

Does this happen with every game?  Has ever turning it off and on without taking game out and in also fixed it?



#3 BassGuitari ONLINE  

BassGuitari

    Habitual Line Stepper

  • 5,655 posts
  • Remember how bright the future used to look?
  • Location:Milwaukee, WI

Posted Thu Jun 8, 2017 8:22 PM

10-to-1 it's related to the power switch.

Mine does that sometimes, too.



#4 Jinks OFFLINE  

Jinks

    River Patroller

  • 3,572 posts
  • Location:Canada

Posted Thu Jun 8, 2017 8:28 PM

It knows it's license has expired. To prevent further C and D notices your coleco is slowly changing all logos.
Cardillo did it :P

#5 Oldschool80skid ONLINE  

Oldschool80skid

    Chopper Commander

  • 117 posts
  • Location:Delaware

Posted Fri Jun 9, 2017 7:52 AM

My CV does this sometimes too. It goes away after turning the power off and then re-inserting the cartridge before turning the power back on. Sometimes it takes 2-3 tries.

My CV has been refurbished by Yurkie 2 years ago.

Some people have replaced the power switch with a rocker switch as seen below.

https://goo.gl/images/FsMJ89

#6 Oldschool80skid ONLINE  

Oldschool80skid

    Chopper Commander

  • 117 posts
  • Location:Delaware

Posted Fri Jun 9, 2017 7:54 AM

My CV does this sometimes too. It goes away after turning the power off and then re-inserting the cartridge before turning the power back on. Sometimes it takes 2-3 tries.

My CV has been refurbished by Yurkie 2 years ago.

Some people have replaced the power switch with a rocker switch as seen in the link below.

https://goo.gl/images/FsMJ89

#7 SignGuy81 OFFLINE  

SignGuy81

    Dragonstomper

  • 543 posts

Posted Fri Jun 9, 2017 4:03 PM

I could be wrong but the thing I don't understand is if it is a power switch issue, is why then need to remove and reinsert the cartridge.  To me if the problem is the power switch(dirty contacts perhaps) that the whole removing and reinserting the cartridge and then it coming on after doing that and power cycle so was just a coincidence and the main thing that would have got it working would have been just flipping the switch off and on.



#8 bradhig1 OFFLINE  

bradhig1

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 253 posts
  • Location:Olathe Kansas

Posted Fri Jun 9, 2017 4:04 PM

Good I am not alone with this problem.



#9 ValkerieSilk OFFLINE  

ValkerieSilk

    Stargunner

  • 1,217 posts
  • Location:Earth

Posted Fri Jun 9, 2017 4:10 PM

Mine did this after the contacts wore out on the cart input.  Soldering on a replacement fixed the issue.  I didn't know the power switch could be a cause as well.   



#10 bradhig1 OFFLINE  

bradhig1

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 253 posts
  • Location:Olathe Kansas

Posted Fri Jun 9, 2017 9:58 PM

I've found your problem.  You have a Westinghouse TV.

 

JK

 

Does this happen with every game?  Has ever turning it off and on without taking game out and in also fixed it?

I've have that TV since 2012 and it has a composite video connection.  Most TVs nowadays don't have that anymore.    We had a Heathkit console TV back in the late 1970s early 1980s that was a real problem child.  Dad built it cause he was trying to get into a  TV repair job but failed.   That Heathkit set would last a year maybe a year and a half then something would break and it was off to Heathkit on St Charles Rock Rd for parts again and it work for a while. Finally the picture went solid green and dad scrapped it.  My Westinghouse TV is a lot better then that cheapo Element Electronics I had back in St. Louis.  Could play Haunted Adventure Trilogy cause the picture due to the game using some weird video mode.



#11 Oldschool80skid ONLINE  

Oldschool80skid

    Chopper Commander

  • 117 posts
  • Location:Delaware

Posted Sat Jun 10, 2017 7:02 AM

I could be wrong but the thing I don't understand is if it is a power switch issue, is why then need to remove and reinsert the cartridge.  To me if the problem is the power switch(dirty contacts perhaps) that the whole removing and reinserting the cartridge and then it coming on after doing that and power cycle so was just a coincidence and the main thing that would have got it working would have been just flipping the switch off and on.


All of my cartridge contacts are clean including the cartridge connector. I have a second CV unit which operates without issue using the same cartridges.

#12 -^CrožBow^- OFFLINE  

-^CrožBow^-

    River Patroller

  • 4,828 posts
  • Collector of Fine Atari and Sega Antiquities!
  • Location:Ivory Tower, Fantasia (Oklahoma)

Posted Mon Jun 12, 2017 1:46 PM

I have also seen this happen when the power supply plug isn't making good contact with the power port on the back. In fact mine just yesterday was doing this and also some odd static for a second or two in the video. Mine is AV modded for composite and I also have a replaced power switch using a rocker switch. Once I pulled the power cord out about a mm or so, the issue cleared up. So I have to assume the pins inside the power plug are just starting to get worn out. 



#13 VectorGamer ONLINE  

VectorGamer

    Go Sleep In the Cold

  • 13,088 posts
  • \m/
  • Location:Retrocade, USA

Posted Mon Jun 12, 2017 2:00 PM

You have a power adapter that's going to die soon. Get a new one in working condition before you start having other problems. This is one of the problems I was having with the power adapter that came with my unit.



#14 bradhig1 OFFLINE  

bradhig1

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 253 posts
  • Location:Olathe Kansas

Posted Tue Jun 13, 2017 9:32 PM

power cable was lose.



#15 newcoleco OFFLINE  

newcoleco

    Stargunner

  • 1,262 posts
  • Always Tired
  • Location:Quebec

Posted Thu Jun 15, 2017 4:36 PM

power cable was lose.

 

When that happened to me, I noticed the issue was related to the power cable, if put in a certain way the issue was occuring often. I've thrown away multiple power supplies in the garbage years ago because I didn't know how to fix it beside just trying another power supply that seems to not have that defect.



#16 NIAD OFFLINE  

NIAD

    Quadrunner

  • 5,713 posts
  • Location:Chicago Suburb

Posted Sat Jun 17, 2017 8:17 AM

Never throw away a bad CV Power Transformer without first cutting the cord so that it can be repurposed... that is, if the cord is in good enough condition.

#17 digress ONLINE  

digress

    Dragonstomper

  • 877 posts
  • Location:Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Posted Sat Jun 17, 2017 8:33 AM

100% it's the on/off power switch. It needs to either be disassmbeld and cleaned or replaced.

 

I replaced mine with the exact issues with a rocker switch and havn't had the problem since 4+ years



#18 bradhig1 OFFLINE  

bradhig1

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 253 posts
  • Location:Olathe Kansas

Posted Tue Jun 20, 2017 10:24 PM

I noticed a dotted line in the moving wall room of venture for a split second.  I saw a similar artifact on Destructor.  Is this normal for modded systems?






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users