Jump to content

Photo

New Atari Console that Ataribox?


16412 replies to this topic

#16401 Nathan Strum ONLINE  

Nathan Strum

    Quadrunner

  • 8,363 posts
  • Enjoying a sandwich
  • Location:Newhall, CA

Posted Yesterday, 6:10 PM

I miss the simpler days of the Coleco Chameleon... where some idiot would post photos on Facebook of a fake console with a DVR card in it, and within hours the whole sorry mess would be over.

 

Good times... good times...

 

This Ataibox thing is just going on forever.


Edited by Nathan Strum, Yesterday, 6:13 PM.


#16402 Atariboy2600 OFFLINE  

Atariboy2600

    River Patroller

  • 2,148 posts

Posted Yesterday, 6:18 PM

Why do I have a feeling this ride will never end:P

Attached Thumbnails

  • Taco-Truck.jpg


#16403 OCAT OFFLINE  

OCAT

    Star Raider

  • 65 posts

Posted Yesterday, 6:25 PM

I miss the simpler days of the Coleco Chameleon...


I wonder if Mike Kennedy is a backer of this thing... that would be just splendid!
and more importantly hilarious!

#16404 Nathan Strum ONLINE  

Nathan Strum

    Quadrunner

  • 8,363 posts
  • Enjoying a sandwich
  • Location:Newhall, CA

Posted Yesterday, 6:37 PM

I wonder what sort of Miles Per Guacamole that thing gets?

 

Why do I have a feeling this ride will never end:P

 

post-5587-0-92102400-1553300310.jpg

 

 



#16405 Inky OFFLINE  

Inky

    Gobs of money!

  • 25,915 posts
  • Meh
  • Location:The Irradiated Wastelands

Posted Yesterday, 6:50 PM

I wonder if Mike Kennedy is a backer of this thing... that would be just splendid!
and more importantly hilarious!

 

I've never seen mike kennedy and fred cheesehead in the same place at the same time!



#16406 carlsson OFFLINE  

carlsson

    Metagalactic Mule

  • 8,641 posts
  • Location:Västerås, Sweden

Posted Yesterday, 6:51 PM

Wasn't the first Apple computer around $666.66? 

 

Yes, the Apple 1 was advertised for exactly that amount. From what I've read, Stephen Wozniak claims it just a coincidence and nobody at Apple had any idea what the number 666 might be a reference to. Yeah, right. That is why you ended up at that very even, very common price tag.



#16407 Flojomojo OFFLINE  

Flojomojo

    I can mash potatoes

  • 15,807 posts
  • I can do the twist

Posted Yesterday, 7:39 PM

I miss the simpler days of the Coleco Chameleon... where some idiot would post photos on Facebook of a fake console with a DVR card in it, and within hours the whole sorry mess would be over.
 
Good times... good times...
 
This Ataibox thing is just going on forever.

Yep, as scammers go, "AtariBox" is far more competent. Take the money, close off refunds, show nothing. :-(

#16408 kevtris ONLINE  

kevtris

    Dragonstomper

  • 742 posts
  • FPGA Whisperer
  • Location:Flyover, USA

Posted Today, 12:37 AM

I present to everyone... the Poly Ataco Mega Box VCS!   It has a 64 bit AMD CPU! and umm, electrons, and chips and things! 

 

 

First, the M.2 SSD is installed.  It has so much POWER that it sticks out past the end of the PCB, and it needs to be held down with a special retention device.

 

taco3.jpg

 

Well crap.  It has so much drively power that it wasn't bootable...  Never fear, the SSD of doom will fix it right up!  SATA to the rescue

 

taco1.jpg

 

After the drive situation is sorted, I proceeded to install Windows 10, earm, Linux on it...

 

taco4.jpg

 

Loading taco.exe....

 

taco5.jpg

 

Success! We have tacos! 

 

Oh yeah, it runs Millipede too. 

 

taco2.jpg

 

 

Seriously though, it is no joke.  I did indeed get this AMD dev board to install windows onto the SATA drive via a USB stick, and loaded MAME onto it and ran Millipede.   It took around 3-4 hours total, with about 1.5 hours spent futzing around with EDID hacking to fix my monitor's broken EDID so that I could get the entire image to display.  (known problem with this old LCD).    This shows that Atari did basically no work last year getting that board to run outside of installing an OS and an emulator. Proving that anyone can make an Ataribox prototype in their own home!

 

One thing, I didn't manage to get into the BIOS so I could not make the M.2 bootable.  This is a dev board so it might not be possible, or there's some weird way to do it.  If anyone knows, I'd like to hear.  I don't even know what BIOS it runs- it doesn't say on boot.



#16409 CPUWIZ OFFLINE  

CPUWIZ

    Commander

  • 34,752 posts
  • I am the one who knocks!
  • Location:SoCal

Posted Today, 1:23 AM

Kevin, never stop. :)



#16410 RainbowCemetery OFFLINE  

RainbowCemetery

    Chopper Commander

  • 105 posts

Posted Today, 1:27 AM

well it's even worse than that, the only thing they even kind of implied to have running on that board was a spinning cube. everything else was 'illustration purposes only'



#16411 kevtris ONLINE  

kevtris

    Dragonstomper

  • 742 posts
  • FPGA Whisperer
  • Location:Flyover, USA

Posted Today, 2:21 AM

well it's even worse than that, the only thing they even kind of implied to have running on that board was a spinning cube. everything else was 'illustration purposes only'

They showed last year in august their dev board (complete with photoshipped pics to strip identifying information) running centipede.  Of course we don't see anything but it running centipede- no OS or anything, so I suspect it was just windows like I did.  The pictures do appear genuine- I set this board up just like they had, and got it to run.  Compare the pictures in this article with pictures of my board.  They are nearly identical.  I still am not sure why that one guy in the last picture has his hand down the back of his pants... 

 

https://medium.com/@...it-44cddc7e474c



#16412 frankodragon OFFLINE  

frankodragon

    Quadrunner

  • 5,319 posts
  • Tacos are real and delicious.
  • Location:Planet Vastia

Posted Today, 3:30 AM

 I still am not sure why that one guy in the last picture has his hand down the back of his pants... 

 

 

I guess we'll never know but I have some sort of hunch.

 

itchy_butt.jpg



#16413 Nathan Strum ONLINE  

Nathan Strum

    Quadrunner

  • 8,363 posts
  • Enjoying a sandwich
  • Location:Newhall, CA

Posted Today, 3:39 AM

I present to everyone... the Poly Ataco Mega Box VCS!   It has a 64 bit AMD CPU! and umm, electrons, and chips and things! 

 

First, the M.2 SSD is installed.  It has so much POWER that it sticks out past the end of the PCB, and it needs to be held down with a special retention device.

 

taco3.jpg

 

 

Needs more electrical tape.






4 user(s) are browsing this forum

2 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users