Atari 2600 Hardware

4 replies to this topic

#1 Tomas Fahy OFFLINE  

Tomas Fahy

Combat Commando

• 1 posts
  • Dropped a CRT TV on my toe.

Posted Thu Jun 15, 2017 1:46 PM

Hi, i'm new to Atari 2600 collecting and was wondering what the best version of the 2600 was. I can't go for something rare/expensive E.G heavy sixer since i don't have the biggest budget, i'm only 12. I just need something that works.

Edited by Tomas Fahy, Thu Jun 15, 2017 1:47 PM.

#2 Thomas Jentzsch OFFLINE  

Thomas Jentzsch

Thrust, Jammed, SWOOPS!, Boulder Dash, THREE·S, Star Castle

• 22,371 posts
  • Always left from right here!

Posted Thu Jun 15, 2017 1:49 PM

I would suggest a Darth Vader. Jrs are cheaper, but have slight compatibility issues.

Attached Thumbnails

• Atari2600darthvader.jpg

Edited by Thomas Jentzsch, Thu Jun 15, 2017 1:52 PM.

#3 toiletunes ONLINE  

toiletunes

River Patroller

• 2,978 posts
  • Hater Brigader

Posted Thu Jun 15, 2017 2:04 PM

4 switch woody- common, inexpensive, easy to diagnose/repair, few if any incompatibility issues, good image quality. A good starter system.

Console of choice? A 7800.

#4 Osgeld OFFLINE  

Osgeld

River Patroller

• 3,555 posts

Posted Thu Jun 15, 2017 2:05 PM

all the 4 switchers seem to be pretty tough, I would say the vader is a little tougher, the jr's work but I dont like the buttons on them and apparently neither did a lot of people cause they are often smashed to death heh, but they mostly do everything the big boys do and are often cheap

Edited by Osgeld, Thu Jun 15, 2017 2:06 PM.

#5 RamrodHare OFFLINE  

RamrodHare

Chopper Commander

• 143 posts

Posted Sat Jun 17, 2017 12:36 PM