Jump to content

Photo

fixing Doom for the 32x


71 replies to this topic

#1 2600problems OFFLINE  

2600problems

    Chopper Commander

  • 234 posts

Posted Sun Jun 18, 2017 7:50 PM

​what is a good development tool for the sega 32x/genesis?  (preferably visual) the reason being, I want to fix the 32X version and release the updated version. my aim is 4 fold:

 

​1. include the BFG

2. include the spider-demon and cyberdemon

​3. take advantage of the 32X's improved sound and video capabilities to bring it up to play station or near play station standards,

    removing pixilation and improving the video quality.

4. try (and I mean try) to include the nuts wad. it may be futile but damn it at least I tried.

 

any ideas? I also might start work on jagdoom and try to add sound, but that's for another time

 

 

 

 


Edited by 2600problems, Sun Jun 18, 2017 7:55 PM.


#2 SignGuy81 OFFLINE  

SignGuy81

    Dragonstomper

  • 592 posts

Posted Sun Jun 18, 2017 7:57 PM

I don't have the answers you are asking for but just want to tell you that would be awesome.



#3 Noah120 OFFLINE  

Noah120

    Chopper Commander

  • 147 posts
  • Location:Washington

Posted Sun Jun 18, 2017 9:16 PM

 I highly doubt you could modify the game without the actual source code, or reverse engineering it. You would probably be better off just making a new port of the game off of the PC or Jag source. Regardless, Chilly Willy on sega-16 seems to be the dude for 32X stuff so try talking to him, he might be able to point you in the direction of some good tools or tips.



#4 Osgeld OFFLINE  

Osgeld

    River Patroller

  • 3,814 posts
  • Location:Nashville, TN

Posted Sun Jun 18, 2017 9:53 PM

​what is a good development tool for the sega 32x/genesis?  (preferably visual) the reason being, I want to fix the 32X version and release the updated version. 

 

lol, what is visual? code is code

 

3. take advantage of the 32X's improved sound and video capabilities to bring it up to play station or near play station standards,

    removing pixilation and improving the video quality.

 

hm the best I recall is about half a Saturn and most of the time the saturn was the lacking platform in 3d, so you want to take half of lacking and make it better than?

 

seriously, the pc version hardly runs at a decent rate on hardly anything less than a 486 and even the PS1 version is a pretty darn good effort 



#5 Rybags OFFLINE  

Rybags

    Quadrunner

  • 15,026 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted Sun Jun 18, 2017 10:40 PM

For sure?

 

You seemed to be struggling to do a Basic menu program for the Atari computer and now expect to graduate to modifying what's probably a 2 Meg or bigger game on a system that's about 10 times as complex.



#6 2600problems OFFLINE  

2600problems

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 234 posts

Posted Mon Jun 19, 2017 10:53 AM

not right away. a few years down the road.



#7 Josť Pereira OFFLINE  

Josť Pereira

    River Patroller

  • 4,037 posts
  • Location:Lisbon - Portugal

Posted Mon Jun 19, 2017 11:02 AM

not right away. a few years down the road.

Ah! O.K. we'll be here all waiting :)...



#8 Josť Pereira OFFLINE  

Josť Pereira

    River Patroller

  • 4,037 posts
  • Location:Lisbon - Portugal

Posted Mon Jun 19, 2017 11:02 AM

DEL.


 


Edited by Josť Pereira, Mon Jun 19, 2017 11:03 AM.


#9 Jinroh OFFLINE  

Jinroh

    Dragonstomper

  • 547 posts
  • Catgirl Maid Lover

Posted Mon Jun 19, 2017 11:12 AM

Pretty much all of those things can be attempted with Saxman's WAD Converter I believe. I think you can use also use DeHacked patches as well to extend some functionality.

 

http://www.romhackin.../utilities/649/

 

There may be a few more editing utilities, but that was the big one I remember. Hacking the existing engine, presumably as far as it can go may be a good starting point before you commit to re-implementing everything. :)

 

There's been quite a number of impressive conversions to 32X DOOM this way.

 

http://www.romhackin...community/1065/<- Saxman's Romhacking.net page has a good number of resources. Including hacking notes.


Edited by Jinroh, Mon Jun 19, 2017 12:43 PM.


#10 miker OFFLINE  

miker

    Stargunner

  • 1,811 posts
  • Stay Atari!
  • Location:Warsaw, Poland

Posted Mon Jun 19, 2017 1:52 PM

I doubt that this thread belongs here, eh?



#11 Josť Pereira OFFLINE  

Josť Pereira

    River Patroller

  • 4,037 posts
  • Location:Lisbon - Portugal

Posted Mon Jun 19, 2017 3:01 PM

Why not here? An A8/5200 coder with all tricks, multiple modes, etc, etc,... our machines have is totally prepared to help in all the machines on earth. Maybe even in all the universe...

Edited by Josť Pereira, Mon Jun 19, 2017 3:03 PM.


#12 Josť Pereira OFFLINE  

Josť Pereira

    River Patroller

  • 4,037 posts
  • Location:Lisbon - Portugal

Posted Mon Jun 19, 2017 3:07 PM

Humm... Maybee the solution is our coders do Doom for A8 so that they can later help 2600problems to fix and update the 32X version.
Time to do it seems not a problem as he will not do it now.
:grin:

Edited by Josť Pereira, Mon Jun 19, 2017 3:08 PM.


#13 2600problems OFFLINE  

2600problems

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 234 posts

Posted Mon Jun 19, 2017 9:30 PM

would it be possible for the 32X to run nuts? the wad



#14 2600problems OFFLINE  

2600problems

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 234 posts

Posted Mon Jun 19, 2017 9:43 PM

so I have the wad converter but now I need a tool to edit the wads in question. any ideas? when I run wad32x, it just sits there and exits when I do anything



#15 2600problems OFFLINE  

2600problems

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 234 posts

Posted Mon Jun 19, 2017 9:57 PM

currently attempting to port brutal doom. wish me luck



#16 Jinroh OFFLINE  

Jinroh

    Dragonstomper

  • 547 posts
  • Catgirl Maid Lover

Posted Mon Jun 19, 2017 9:59 PM

You'll need a WAD editing program like WADManager.

https://doomwiki.org...ng_a_WAD_editor

 

My advice would be to run from the command line:
WAD32X.EXE doom32x.bin doom32X.wad

 

To generate a base WAD (make a backup) and then go to town with WADManager or whatever you choose.

 

Read up on the Editing Tutorials and goto town. https://doomwiki.org...iting_tutorials


Edited by Jinroh, Mon Jun 19, 2017 10:00 PM.


#17 Jinroh OFFLINE  

Jinroh

    Dragonstomper

  • 547 posts
  • Catgirl Maid Lover

Posted Mon Jun 19, 2017 10:04 PM

currently attempting to port brutal doom. wish me luck

 

Good luck, though I'd think trying to get the Cyberdemon would be a better starting point before you get too crazy. ^_^;



#18 2600problems OFFLINE  

2600problems

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 234 posts

Posted Tue Jun 20, 2017 6:41 PM

ran into a problem. i want to use doom 32x as a base for testing but it won't show up in batch files. how do i convert a 32X rom to .bat?



#19 Jinroh OFFLINE  

Jinroh

    Dragonstomper

  • 547 posts
  • Catgirl Maid Lover

Posted Wed Jun 21, 2017 9:11 AM

What are you trying to do exactly?

 

Converting the DOOM32X binary to a .bat isn't the solution I would think. ^_^;

 

I'd think you'd wanna make a bat that references an external program that passes in the 32X ROM as a parameter.


Edited by Jinroh, Wed Jun 21, 2017 9:13 AM.


#20 _The Doctor__ OFFLINE  

_The Doctor__

    River Patroller

  • 2,354 posts
  • Location:10-0-11-00:02

Posted Wed Jun 21, 2017 11:44 AM

tenor.gif



#21 Stephen OFFLINE  

Stephen

    Quadrunner

  • 6,292 posts
  • A8 Gear Head
  • Location:Akron, Ohio

Posted Wed Jun 21, 2017 12:02 PM

No way this dude can be for real.  I'd block him, but the posts are too amusing.



#22 tschak909 ONLINE  

tschak909

    Stargunner

  • 1,771 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Wed Jun 21, 2017 12:05 PM

Is this guy eight years old, or what?

 

-Thom



#23 BassGuitari OFFLINE  

BassGuitari

    Habitual Line Stepper

  • 5,811 posts
  • Remember how bright the future used to look?
  • Location:Milwaukee, WI

Posted Wed Jun 21, 2017 12:17 PM

I'm very confused by what your objective is here. You're trying to improve the 32X version of Doom by porting Brutal Doom to the Atari 800? :?
 

would it be possible for the 32X to run nuts? the wad

Possibly, if you reduce the monster count from around 10,500 to about, oh, 30.

C'mon, man.

 

currently attempting to port brutal doom. wish me luck

Walk before you run. Or do regular Doom first, which ain't gonna happen in any playable way, shape, or form on an Atari 800 anyway (except maybe in Roguelike form).



#24 SignGuy81 OFFLINE  

SignGuy81

    Dragonstomper

  • 592 posts

Posted Wed Jun 21, 2017 4:16 PM

ran into a problem. i want to use doom 32x as a base for testing but it won't show up in batch files. how do i convert a 32X rom to .bat?

 

I believe we will be waiting a very long time for the updated version.


Edited by SignGuy81, Wed Jun 21, 2017 4:27 PM.


#25 carlsson OFFLINE  

carlsson

    River Patroller

  • 4,509 posts
  • Location:VšsterŚs, Sweden

Posted Wed Jun 21, 2017 5:17 PM

No Doom today. Doom tomorrow. There's always a Doom tomorrow... well, for a very long time perspective of "tomorrow".






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users