Jump to content

Photo

Are there Any Old Fashion Dial Up BBS's Left?


31 replies to this topic

#1 DavidMil OFFLINE  

DavidMil

    Moonsweeper

  • 433 posts
  • Location:Kingwood, Texas

Posted Mon Jun 19, 2017 12:31 AM

I'm not talking about connecting over the internet (as I found after looking through about 10 pages of search results here) .  I'm talking about picking

up the phone and dialing a 10 digit number, hearing the modem respond, and putting the hand set into the coupler type BBS.  If there are any, can

someone post a couple of the phone numbers?  I'm trying to show my great granddaughter what it was like in the 'dark ages'.  When I tried to explain

it to her she asked me why didn't I just use my smart phone...

 

Thanks,

DavidMil



#2 arcadeshopper ONLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 2,494 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Mon Jun 19, 2017 12:34 AM

Mine is still up since 83.. The web site is www.thekeep.net and the modem no is 503 646 2407

Sent from my LG-H830 using Tapatalk

#3 Kosmic Stardust OFFLINE  

Kosmic Stardust

    Princess Rescuer

  • 15,279 posts
  • Location:Milky Way Galaxy

Posted Mon Jun 19, 2017 12:43 AM

Mine is still up since 83.. The web site is www.thekeep.net and the modem no is 503 646 2407

Sent from my LG-H830 using Tapatalk

So if I dialed 1-503-646-2407 through a land line with a dial up modem, what would happen? Would I need a web browser? I didn't get my first PC until 1997 btw.



#4 arcadeshopper ONLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 2,494 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Mon Jun 19, 2017 12:45 AM

You'd get the bbs what else?

Sent from my LG-H830 using Tapatalk

#5 Kosmic Stardust OFFLINE  

Kosmic Stardust

    Princess Rescuer

  • 15,279 posts
  • Location:Milky Way Galaxy

Posted Mon Jun 19, 2017 12:46 AM

You'd get the bbs what else?

Sent from my LG-H830 using Tapatalk

Can I access it with Firefox? :dunce:



#6 arcadeshopper ONLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 2,494 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Mon Jun 19, 2017 12:47 AM

Sure there's a telnet client on the website

Sent from my LG-H830 using Tapatalk

#7 arcadeshopper ONLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 2,494 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Mon Jun 19, 2017 9:00 AM

Your questions make me wonder if you understand what a modem terminal connection is.

You use a terminal program on your end and communicate using a modem to establish a serial connection to the BBS. The BBS will answer the call, negotiate the modem connection speed and then send text to your terminal sw that you interact with.

Firefox is a web browser that needs a tcp/ip connection to operate. Modems can be used for a tcp/ip connection also but it is an either/or situation.

My BBS does not provide a modem tcp/ip connection it is a text based terminal connection as they were before the internet became available. It is also accessible via the internet with your browser.

Greg

Sent from my LG-H830 using Tapatalk

#8 zzip OFFLINE  

zzip

    Stargunner

  • 1,318 posts

Posted Mon Jun 19, 2017 9:06 AM

Mine is still up since 83.. The web site is www.thekeep.net and the modem no is 503 646 2407

Sent from my LG-H830 using Tapatalk


Since long distance charges are basically I thing of the past, I was tempted to call it...

until I realized RS-232 ports are also a thing of the past on todays's PCs and I can't hook up my modem :/

#9 arcadeshopper ONLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 2,494 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Mon Jun 19, 2017 9:18 AM

Easy to fix I recommend GearMo USB RS-232 Serial Adapter with LED Indicators Windows 10, 8, 7, Vista, XP, 2000 Support https://www.amazon.c...p_hLdY1lKh82lBf

Sent from my LG-H830 using Tapatalk

#10 DavidMil OFFLINE  

DavidMil

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 433 posts
  • Location:Kingwood, Texas

Posted Mon Jun 19, 2017 11:24 AM

Mine is still up since 83.. The web site is www.thekeep.net and the modem no is 503 646 2407

Sent from my LG-H830 using Tapatalk

 

Thank you arcadeshopper.  I'll call it this afternoon.

 

DavidMil



#11 arcadeshopper ONLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 2,494 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Mon Jun 19, 2017 11:25 AM

I can add some Atari specific areas in the file library and forums if there's interest

Sent from my LG-H830 using Tapatalk

#12 Tillek OFFLINE  

Tillek

    Dragonstomper

  • 609 posts
  • Location:NE Ohio, USA

Posted Mon Jun 19, 2017 3:09 PM

I can add some Atari specific areas in the file library and forums if there's interest

Sent from my LG-H830 using Tapatalk

Is it still a pay BBS?  Or is that old info?



#13 mindlord OFFLINE  

mindlord

    Star Raider

  • 76 posts

Posted Mon Jun 19, 2017 4:36 PM

http://telnetbbsguid...bbs/list/brief/

Sent from my SM-J727V using Tapatalk

#14 arcadeshopper ONLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 2,494 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Mon Jun 19, 2017 4:40 PM

It is but I'm happy to give a free account to any fellow retro computer fans just lmk you got on from atariage and I'll set you up

Greg

Sent from my LG-H830 using Tapatalk

#15 mindlord OFFLINE  

mindlord

    Star Raider

  • 76 posts

Posted Mon Jun 19, 2017 5:48 PM

I have my free account. :thumbs:

#16 arcadeshopper ONLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 2,494 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Tue Jun 20, 2017 10:48 AM

I have my free account. :thumbs:

I upgraded all the comp accounts to something more btw

Sent from my LG-H830 using Tapatalk

#17 Xebec OFFLINE  

Xebec

    Moonsweeper

  • 337 posts

Posted Tue Jun 20, 2017 1:14 PM

I would suggest wardialing,  but would probably be a bad idea today ;-)



#18 Joe Stella OFFLINE  

Joe Stella

    Moonsweeper

  • 333 posts
  • Location:NY NY

Posted Thu Jun 22, 2017 1:24 PM

I would suggest wardialing,  but would probably be a bad idea today icon_winking.gif

 

WOPR would detect it at NORAD, and you'd set off a nuclear war.



#19 Tillek OFFLINE  

Tillek

    Dragonstomper

  • 609 posts
  • Location:NE Ohio, USA

Posted Thu Jun 22, 2017 4:12 PM

 

WOPR would detect it at NORAD, and you'd set off a nuclear war.

Only if you asked it to play a game.

 

Geeze dude... Everyone knows that!



#20 tep392 OFFLINE  

tep392

    River Patroller

  • 2,761 posts
  • Location:Peoria, IL

Posted Thu Jun 22, 2017 4:33 PM

The keep was one of the bbs's I tried when I got my sx212 modem last month but I had problems with random characters being generated. Probably due to my majicjack connection.

#21 Tillek OFFLINE  

Tillek

    Dragonstomper

  • 609 posts
  • Location:NE Ohio, USA

Posted Thu Jun 22, 2017 4:39 PM

The keep was one of the bbs's I tried when I got my sx212 modem last month but I had problems with random characters being generated. Probably due to my majicjack connection.

Did you ever take a look at SimNet?  Basically you dial in, and it acts as a gateway to certain telnet BBS's.  You'll never know the difference.

 

http://www.uuhec.net/simnet/

 

I haven't seen their BBS list, but Dark Force is on there.  I haven't signed up my BBS since I was planning to set up a landline here (I can still get one) and was going to set up kind of a "private" version of this for just some of the BBS's I can regularly (and figured it would be a jerk move to be on SimNet and using their resources while at the same time not sharing mine).

 

But that's at least one Atari board you can call for now. 



#22 Triads OFFLINE  

Triads

    Moonsweeper

  • 262 posts
  • Location:Orlando, FL.

Posted Thu Jun 22, 2017 5:07 PM

Signed up, thanks.

#23 arcadeshopper ONLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 2,494 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Sun Jun 25, 2017 11:34 AM

The keep was one of the bbs's I tried when I got my sx212 modem last month but I had problems with random characters being generated. Probably due to my majicjack connection.

Magic jack is only good for voice. Modem the best I could get was 300 baud with many errors. That's the random characters you see.

Sent from my LG-H830 using Tapatalk

#24 BillC OFFLINE  

BillC

    Stargunner

  • 1,687 posts
  • Location:BC Canada

Posted Mon Jun 26, 2017 12:50 AM

I have no personal experience with it but my brother uses Ooma VOIP service with a FAX machine. His internet service is 15mbps cable broadband.

 

The following link indicates Ooma can also be used for outbound modem connections if the correct prefix is entered, I don't know what would be required for inbound connections.

 

http://www.ooma.com/...php?f=7&t=12555



#25 tep392 OFFLINE  

tep392

    River Patroller

  • 2,761 posts
  • Location:Peoria, IL

Posted Mon Jun 26, 2017 7:46 AM

The odd thing is my fax machine works just fine with Magicjack.  I'll have to look into this ooma.  Anyone else have success using modems with voip?






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users