Jump to content

Photo

Are there Any Old Fashion Dial Up BBS's Left?


31 replies to this topic

#26 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 2,470 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Mon Jun 26, 2017 9:26 AM

The odd thing is my fax machine works just fine with Magicjack.  I'll have to look into this ooma.  Anyone else have success using modems with voip?

Fax is a totally different protocol and their codec is designed to support it.
I ended up getting a line with fios that works perfect at any baud rate.

Greg

Sent from my LG-H830 using Tapatalk

#27 ricortes ONLINE  

ricortes

    Dragonstomper

  • 598 posts

Posted Mon Jun 26, 2017 12:05 PM

I bought a USB modem several years ago, this model I think http://www.frys.com/...CH:MAIN_RSLT_PGIt ran OK for a couple of years but then went south on me. I'll probably be dropping my land line this year as I get 10 crank calls a day from telemarketers and only 4 calls a month from real humans.<sic>

 

IMHO: Lots of USB modems for sale at lower price points then the Hiro. Considering the fate of mine, I would give them a try as the expensive Hiro ended up just as dead.


Edited by ricortes, Mon Jun 26, 2017 12:07 PM.


#28 Kyle22 OFFLINE  

Kyle22

    River Patroller

  • 3,068 posts
  • Location:McKees Rocks (Pittsburgh), PA

Posted Mon Jun 26, 2017 6:37 PM

Well, if the above is all correct, I'd get a nice Hayes compatible fast modem and use it on fios.

The proof is in the results :)

#29 tep392 OFFLINE  

tep392

    River Patroller

  • 2,729 posts
  • Location:Peoria, IL

Posted Tue Jun 27, 2017 9:07 AM

I cant get fios in my complex. I would need a sevice that works with my current ISP.

#30 dafivehole OFFLINE  

dafivehole

    Dragonstomper

  • 686 posts
  • Location:Denver, CO

Posted Wed Jun 28, 2017 11:57 AM

So, just to be clear here, I have Ooma in my house and if I get an Atari 1030 modem, I should be able to get online that way?  If so, this is great  :D

 

Thank you,

Roger



#31 BillC ONLINE  

BillC

    Stargunner

  • 1,671 posts
  • Location:BC Canada

Posted Thu Jun 29, 2017 7:49 PM

I would recommend something faster than 300 BAUD, the SX212(1200 BAUD) is a better modem and can be used on either SIO or RS232 port.

It does this by integrating an R-Verter interface inside the modem, to use it via SIO the R-Verter handler needs to be loaded.



#32 dafivehole OFFLINE  

dafivehole

    Dragonstomper

  • 686 posts
  • Location:Denver, CO

Posted Fri Jun 30, 2017 6:45 AM

Thank you for the info... just gotta find a modem now  ;)

 

Roger

 

I would recommend something faster than 300 BAUD, the SX212(1200 BAUD) is a better modem and can be used on either SIO or RS232 port.

It does this by integrating an R-Verter interface inside the modem, to use it via SIO the R-Verter handler needs to be loaded.






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users