IGNORED

New turbografx 16 problem

Well unfortunately this is my first time writing about this unit. I just recently acquired one untested and realize there was a problem with the AV out port. It's very disappointing because it looks like it is an otherwise well preserved machine. I spent a pretty penny on this does anyone know how to fix it?

post-44799-0-87898100-1498184871_thumb.jpg

post-44799-0-87776900-1498184892_thumb.jpg

You have a few options though they all involved spending more money. The original TG-16 in the US only offered RF output which is what appears to have broken off in your pic. The options you have would then be:

Find a cheap parts only unit (Not easy as even parts only units are about $50 + Shipping)

Get the optional Turbo Booster (This provides you with dedicated RCA outs for audio and composite video) - But these too aren't cheap

Look up on how to create your own connections from off the expansion port to allow you to connect via composite video and audio (Same as the turbo booster without the cost and might not look as pretty...)

Do some searching online, but there are several individuals that make their own Turbo Booster like attachments for the expansion in the back. Most of these are for pure RGB video output, but I believe a few are made that contain s-video and composite as well.

It is also possible to internally modify the turbo grafx so that you can add s-video, RGB, composite...to the console. However, if you aren't handy with a soldering iron, then it would be best to find someone to do this for you.

You have several solutions here :

- Replacing the RF port. It's normally a standard RCA socket, so finding a replacement shouldn't be too hard. Especially since this problem seems common on the TG16.

- AV-modding it. This remove the issue of dealing with RF.