IGNORED

programming music in Basic / EB - half note calculation

digdugnate

I've been refining my programming knowledge with Basic and Extended Basic before tackling Assembly (plus it's a little easier while I'm studying for a certification, too)- i love music so I've been looking at program code and ways I can make my own music programs better.

The Extended Basic manual gives some really great info on the frequencies for notes/etc, but I was wanting an easy way to compute additional frequencies based on a half-step between notes.

Here's what I came up with:

10 LET F=110

20 FOR I=1 TO 91

30 PRINT F

40 LET F=F*92^(1/12))

50 NEXT I

60 END

I had also started lists for different scales (chromatic, pentatonic) to make things a little easier as I code through written music. :)

Pretty neat stuff!

I've been refining my programming knowledge with Basic and Extended Basic before tackling Assembly (plus it's a little easier while I'm studying for a certification, too)- i love music so I've been looking at program code and ways I can make my own music programs better.

The Extended Basic manual gives some really great info on the frequencies for notes/etc, but I was wanting an easy way to compute additional frequencies based on a half-step between notes.

Here's what I came up with:

10 LET F=110

20 FOR I=1 TO 91

30 PRINT F

40 LET F=F*92^(1/12))

50 NEXT I

60 END

I had also started lists for different scales (chromatic, pentatonic) to make things a little easier as I code through written music. :)

Pretty neat stuff!

That's a fun project. I am a musician and producer myself but have been programming for almost as long.

Another exercise for you could be to open a file and have your note frequency calculator program print the values out

to a file as BASIC DATA statements. Sort of like below. BUT please read the manual on the OPEN

statement, I have not used TI BASIC for many years so my memory is faulty.

5 OPEN #1:"FILENAME" BLAH BLAH (check your manual)