IGNORED

Value of incomplete / untested systems

I have been keeping an eye open for 2nd generation consoles and I keep coming across adverts for machines that are either untested, 'just needs such and such fixing', or parts missing, such as power pack (and hence probably untested). Other than their possible value for spare components, or sometimes the carts that come with them, are they really worth gambling more than say $20 on? Some people are asking $100+, plus shipping. I'm new to this and until recently didn't realise there was so much interest in old games, so any comments on the state of the market would be appreciated.

As with a lot of other things, the answer is "it depends". It's impossible to give a general answer; it depends on the specific product and the actual amount being asked. Obviously, some sellers are delusional with the amount of money they think they can get for some common thing that's outright broken. But a rare item, even if "untested" or missing parts, can still be worth some money.

If you post some examples, we can probably tell you if they seem reasonable or not.

• Like 1

depends on the system, 20 ish dollars for a dirty untested 2600 4 or 6 switcher is a not safe but more likely to be an ok bet, most of the ones I get have just dirty switches, but I have had some with dead cpu's or something

something like a colecovision may be a more dangerous bet since they tend to have ram problems, but its pretty rare you find even a beat to hell one for 20$

• Like 1

also depends on the seller, untested and they have 8 other similar consoles tested it is a bit or a red flag, someone has lots of consoles or such but an odd bird isn't tested, well not such a big deal

also I don't have the av cable with someone that rarely deals in games, probably fine, I don't have the av cable form someone selling lots of games, red flag

• Like 1

The Real danger with any of these is how the seller ships it.