Jump to content

Photo

now my Intellivision is acting up


76 replies to this topic

#51 bradhig1 ONLINE  

bradhig1

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 629 posts
  • Location:Olathe Kansas

Posted Tue Aug 8, 2017 7:43 AM

Can't go anywhere today.   Mom's KIA Sorento is having electrical problems.  The Alternator and battery were replaced after it died friday night and yesterday it started dying again.  It's in the shop right now.  Otherwise I would want to go to office depot and look for a new cable.



#52 bradhig1 ONLINE  

bradhig1

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 629 posts
  • Location:Olathe Kansas

Posted Tue Aug 8, 2017 8:43 AM

I can play some games on my Intellvisiion Flashback yet Dungeons and Dragon cloudy mountain and Shark Shark run slow on it.



#53 bradhig1 ONLINE  

bradhig1

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 629 posts
  • Location:Olathe Kansas

Posted Tue Aug 8, 2017 11:29 AM

Here is what is left of the ribbon cable.   No way to remote it from the motherboard.

Attached Thumbnails

  • IMG_56241.jpg


#54 Keatah ONLINE  

Keatah

    Quadrunner

  • 18,702 posts

Posted Tue Aug 8, 2017 12:53 PM

Again. Easy fix. I'd simply replace the cable, you can even make your own on the cheap.



#55 bradhig1 ONLINE  

bradhig1

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 629 posts
  • Location:Olathe Kansas

Posted Tue Aug 8, 2017 2:54 PM

Don't have any spare cables right now.   Walked down to Goodwill and Savers didn't find any PCs I could gut for cables.



#56 bradhig1 ONLINE  

bradhig1

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 629 posts
  • Location:Olathe Kansas

Posted Tue Aug 8, 2017 7:13 PM

I got the ribbon cable off the main board except for a small part connected to the metal connector.   I don't wanna deal with anymore soldering ,replacing , and repairing it just should work not break.  The connector for the ribbon cable is still on the power board.



#57 SiLic0ne t0aD OFFLINE  

SiLic0ne t0aD

    River Patroller

  • 2,161 posts
  • Rock 'N Roller, Space Patroller
  • Location:Ohio Valley

Posted Wed Aug 9, 2017 5:34 AM

Easy fix.. Just desolder the pins on both ends, from the motherboard and from the power supply board. I used an old IDE hard drive cable to replace my ribbon cable, which looked just like the frayed one pictured. Somebody on the Intellivision Invasion facebook group replaced his in a very clean, professional way.. It looked awesome, better than factory. Wish I had all the part numbers and whatnot but if you search on there, it should pop up. I'll see if I can find it when I get a lil time to search. ;)



#58 bradhig1 ONLINE  

bradhig1

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 629 posts
  • Location:Olathe Kansas

Posted Wed Aug 9, 2017 4:54 PM

Not easy fix.  soldered new wires in place and tried to fix that stupid 12 voltage regulator and nothing.  Board around voltage regulator is ruined.   I can't repair it.  I can't even repair my hit and missile game and its in the trash.   Anxiety gets in the way. Stop telling me its an easy fix when it doesn't work.



#59 bradhig1 ONLINE  

bradhig1

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 629 posts
  • Location:Olathe Kansas

Posted Wed Aug 9, 2017 4:58 PM

See the section around the 12 volt voltage regulator is ruined. 

Attached Thumbnails

  • IMG_56271.jpg


#60 Keatah ONLINE  

Keatah

    Quadrunner

  • 18,702 posts

Posted Wed Aug 9, 2017 5:15 PM

No it is not. For those of us that have some years of experience working with circuitry and stuff - that looks like little more than a clean-up job. If you aren't skilled in the art of repair (and that's ok) seek someone that is.

 

I would hope someone steps up to the plate and helps you out. I would, but I am preparing for the eclipse and don't have time to take on a repair.



#61 bradhig1 ONLINE  

bradhig1

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 629 posts
  • Location:Olathe Kansas

Posted Wed Aug 9, 2017 5:38 PM

 I don't if I connected the wires between the power board and the main board correctly. 



#62 bradhig1 ONLINE  

bradhig1

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 629 posts
  • Location:Olathe Kansas

Posted Wed Aug 9, 2017 5:41 PM

Some of the board around the voltage regulator is burned away.  No way to solder it now.



#63 Keatah ONLINE  

Keatah

    Quadrunner

  • 18,702 posts

Posted Wed Aug 9, 2017 7:10 PM

..and that's where a pro-level repair would fit the bill. The damaged area is cut away and replaced with fresh material and new traces (or wires) are laid down. There are many ways of fixing such a board.



#64 bradhig1 ONLINE  

bradhig1

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 629 posts
  • Location:Olathe Kansas

Posted Wed Aug 9, 2017 8:18 PM

I screwed up. The first time I tried to solder that voltage regulator the solder got on the iron rather then on the board.  I probably  screwed up the wires going between the boards.  I managed to fix my coleco telstar arcade when a wire came lose on the driving pot.  I wanted to fix it myself but it always goes wrong. I didn't even put any of that stuff between the voltage regulators and the heat sinks because I don't have any.


Edited by bradhig1, Wed Aug 9, 2017 8:23 PM.


#65 Keatah ONLINE  

Keatah

    Quadrunner

  • 18,702 posts

Posted Wed Aug 9, 2017 8:57 PM

Not to be blunt or a toughie. Certain skills, tools, and materials are required to fix these old beasties. You either have them or you do not. If you do not, you seek help, or practice and learn and acquire them.

 

It's the nature of the hobby. Sooner or later all our consoles will need some sort of fixes or maintenance. They're 40 years old already!



#66 nurmix ONLINE  

nurmix

    Stargunner

  • 1,520 posts
  • Location:Los Angeles

Posted Wed Aug 9, 2017 10:11 PM

It can be very frustrating trying to repair electronics - especially soldering / de-soldering when first learning. Also, having good tools and equipment makes a world of difference.

Way back when, before I had a quality soldering iron and de-solder station, trying to do most anything was an exercise in frustration.

As others have said, the damage you've shown is repairable. But if you don't feel comfortable doing it, that's fine. There are plenty of folks here who can - myself included. Although in my case, I don't have a great deal of free time to do it. But if no one else steps up, and you aren't in a big rush, let me know.




Sent from my Keyboard Component using Jack's Conversational Intelli-talk cassette

#67 -^CrožBow^- OFFLINE  

-^CrožBow^-

    Quadrunner

  • 5,246 posts
  • Collector of Fine Atari and Sega Antiquities!
  • Location:Ivory Tower, Fantasia (Oklahoma)

Posted Thu Aug 10, 2017 12:41 PM

Brad...

 

I've not got as much time as I did when I fixed your H-6er sometime back. But if you want to send it my way, I'm happy to look at it and see what I can do for just the cost of parts and shipping? From there I can give you an idea on what it might cost and if you would rather not then I'm happy to send it back. But I don't believe it will take much to repair it and get it working again and you are only in the next state above me. Actually you're only about 3.5 hours North of me.



#68 bradhig1 ONLINE  

bradhig1

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 629 posts
  • Location:Olathe Kansas

Posted Thu Aug 10, 2017 2:06 PM

I didn't clean the soldering iron and thats why it stuck to the iron and not the board. DOH!!



#69 masschamber OFFLINE  

masschamber

    Stargunner

  • 1,058 posts

Posted Thu Aug 10, 2017 2:17 PM

if it makes you feel better, I currently 3 troubled intellivision 2s (I had 4, but replacing the roms fixed that one)

and the extra perfectly working model 1 i just sent to someone in Canada had the audio completely fail after a few minutes of play


Edited by masschamber, Thu Aug 10, 2017 2:21 PM.


#70 Keatah ONLINE  

Keatah

    Quadrunner

  • 18,702 posts

Posted Thu Aug 10, 2017 2:38 PM

I didn't clean the soldering iron and thats why it stuck to the iron and not the board. DOH!!

 

Did you ever try using flux? It makes the solder behave better and stick were it needs to stick. Makes it behave like a water droplet and surface tension and all that.



#71 bradhig1 ONLINE  

bradhig1

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 629 posts
  • Location:Olathe Kansas

Posted Thu Aug 10, 2017 3:05 PM

Never used flux.    Noticed the upper right direction wasn't working on my new intellivision and look at the mylar insert.   Can that be cleaned?

Attached Thumbnails

  • IMG_56351.jpg


#72 Keatah ONLINE  

Keatah

    Quadrunner

  • 18,702 posts

Posted Thu Aug 10, 2017 3:43 PM

Very gently and no alcohol. A cloth and a tactical eraser - an eraser small enough to get in-between the traces. The traces are easily eroded. Then poof! That's that..

 

From the looks of it the left sheet at the 10 o'clock position looks totally worn away. Depending what's left it may still work. If you do clean them, I suggest practicing on some junk or something first.

 

Sometimes they can be drawn back in - I've had good luck with a conductive pen. And it took patience. And it was for a keyboard mylar sheet. Heh. First time I tried soldering them - whooops!

 

---

 

Those are so incredibly cheap to make there's no convincing companies NOT to use them. It also speaks to the specified design life of 3 years for that console.

 

---

 

Your best bet is to find some controllers and cannibalize new flex circuits. that's what they're called.

 

---

 

Anyone ever notice that more and more electronics are designed to be stamped together? And that the factory is like this one big-ass 3d-printer that stacks things?


Edited by Keatah, Thu Aug 10, 2017 3:45 PM.


#73 bradhig1 ONLINE  

bradhig1

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 629 posts
  • Location:Olathe Kansas

Posted Thu Aug 10, 2017 5:13 PM

I took one out of the right controller from my broken intellivision and fixed it.



#74 -^CrožBow^- OFFLINE  

-^CrožBow^-

    Quadrunner

  • 5,246 posts
  • Collector of Fine Atari and Sega Antiquities!
  • Location:Ivory Tower, Fantasia (Oklahoma)

Posted Sat Sep 9, 2017 1:18 PM

Wanted to update this that Brad's Intellivision is back in working order. Also looking at the mylar flex from his controller, and while it did clean up nicely, the actual material is cut through and the surface actually rubbed oiff. So..really no way to salvage that.



#75 HunterZero OFFLINE  

HunterZero

    Dragonstomper

  • 648 posts

Posted Sun Sep 10, 2017 7:51 PM

Wanted to update this that Brad's Intellivision is back in working order. Also looking at the mylar flex from his controller, and while it did clean up nicely, the actual material is cut through and the surface actually rubbed oiff. So..really no way to salvage that.

 

Did you help him out? You're a fine gentleman if you did.

 

Yes the conductive material on that mylar insert looks to have been worn through. I'd be interested to see if conductive pen could fix it.

 

- J






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users