Jump to content

Photo

Everything you want to know about the Jaguar power supply and power issues


15 replies to this topic

#1 madman ONLINE  

madman

    River Patroller

  • 2,726 posts
  • Location:127.0.0.1

Posted Wed Jul 12, 2017 1:08 PM

Information about the Jaguar and Jaguar CD power supplies:

 

What are the specs for the original Jaguar power supply?

9VDC 1.2A output center negative. Do NOT use a center positive power supply or the Jaguar will be damaged.

 

What are the specs for the original Jaguar CD power supply?

They are identical to the Jaguar console’s power supply.

 

Do the PAL units use different power supplies?

Only the input voltage will differ, the output specs will be the same.

 

Where can I buy an original Jaguar or Jaguar CD power supply?

B&C ComputerVisions

Best Electronics

The Goat Store

 

What other common power supplies can be used?

Anything with the above specs will work, though it is not recommended to go above a 10V output. The most common solution is a Sega Genesis/MD Model 1 power supply, any of the 1602 models will work.

 

Anything to be aware of when using a non-OEM power supply?

If you are using a Skunkboard rev1 and 2 boards, do not exceed the rated 9V output as the unregulated output is passed directly to the flash chip via the cartridge connector. 

 

Are there any single power supplies that will power the Jaguar and Jaguar CD at the same time?

Any power supply that has a 9V center negative with an output of at least 2.4A should be suitable for this purpose. A Y-cable of the proper size (5.5mm OD x 2.1mm ID) can be used.

One supplier of an all-in-one PSU that is ready to use is here: Retro Game Supply

 

Troubleshooting a possible power problem:

 

My Jaguar doesn’t turn on, what’s wrong?

 

1. Do you have a cart in the Jaguar? If not, it won’t power on.

 

2. Start with the power supply itself. Are you using one with the above specs? If so, verify it is working correctly using a voltmeter or by trying it on another Jaguar, Genesis Model 1 or Sega Master System.

 

3. You may be using a dirty cartridge or your cartridge connector may be dirty. There are two pins on the cartridge connector that must complete a circuit via the cart itself in order for the Jaguar to power up. If this only happens with certain games, it is most likely an issue with dirty cartridges.

 

4. If you received the console used/untested and it does not power up the most likely cause is a blown voltage regulator as a result of hooking up a power supply with the incorrect polarity. AtariAge member SCPCD wrote up an excellent guide on the parts that have likely suffered damaged: http://scpcd.free.fr.../jag.htm#Repair

 

The parts are not custom and should be available from any local component supplier (Mouser, Digikey, etc). They are also stocked at Console5.


  • Stephen , Shamus , ls650 and 7 others like this

#2 Stephen OFFLINE  

Stephen

    Quadrunner

  • 7,126 posts
  • A8 Gear Head
  • Location:No longer in Crakron, Ohio

Posted Wed Jul 12, 2017 2:22 PM

Is it true that the Jag power supply was not a 64-bit supply, but merely two 32-bit power supplies running in parallel?


  • Punisher5.0 , Saturn , Shamus and 7 others like this

#3 save2600 OFFLINE  

save2600

    Quadrunner

  • 15,143 posts
  • Location:Wisconsin

Posted Wed Jul 12, 2017 2:25 PM

Its fatal flaw is that it should have had a heat sink or three for all that powa!
  • sirlynxalot likes this

#4 grimm OFFLINE  

grimm

    Star Raider

  • 88 posts

Posted Tue Aug 1, 2017 2:38 PM

Telegames.co.uk sell the power supplies for us who are in Europe. The above mentioned retailers are all in North America.


  • LianneJaguar64 likes this

#5 Orionis5 OFFLINE  

Orionis5

    Space Invader

  • 11 posts

Posted Sat Nov 18, 2017 6:37 PM

Hello, I'm looking for EU plug jaguar power supply. American sites are no no since even if they have EU plug it is too expensive for buy.

Telegames has UK plug power supply and no specifications on it if it is OK. Voltage is OK, only need to change plug. Is it OK ?

What about this one on ebay ? http://www.ebay.de/i...8gAAOSw6HJZwQAl

Thanks



#6 Zerosquare ONLINE  

Zerosquare

    River Patroller

  • 2,673 posts
  • Location:France

Posted Sun Nov 19, 2017 5:22 AM

Telegames has UK plug power supply and no specifications on it if it is OK. Voltage is OK, only need to change plug. Is it OK ?

Yes.



#7 grimm OFFLINE  

grimm

    Star Raider

  • 88 posts

Posted Thu Nov 30, 2017 4:13 AM

Hello, I'm looking for EU plug jaguar power supply. American sites are no no since even if they have EU plug it is too expensive for buy.
Telegames has UK plug power supply and no specifications on it if it is OK. Voltage is OK, only need to change plug. Is it OK ?
What about this one on ebay ? http://www.ebay.de/i...8gAAOSw6HJZwQAl
Thanks


Yeah you can use that all over europe, just get a uk to standard adapter, thata what i used to do.

#8 doctorclu OFFLINE  

doctorclu

    ***Moon Patrol 5200*** ***Moon Master*** *Blue Max:Class 4*

  • 7,527 posts
  • *Star Raiders 2* **Captain -CL 2**
  • Location:*Star Raiders * *Star Commander -CL 1*

Posted Sun Apr 1, 2018 6:42 PM

Can you use a PSU for a PAL Jaguar on a NTSC Jaguar?



#9 Zerosquare ONLINE  

Zerosquare

    River Patroller

  • 2,673 posts
  • Location:France

Posted Mon Apr 2, 2018 2:38 AM

Do the PAL units use different power supplies?
Only the input voltage will differ, the output specs will be the same.

So, yes.

Edited by Zerosquare, Mon Apr 2, 2018 2:39 AM.


#10 madman ONLINE  

madman

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,726 posts
  • Location:127.0.0.1

Posted Thu Apr 12, 2018 8:36 PM

Edit: My mistake.



#11 Zerosquare ONLINE  

Zerosquare

    River Patroller

  • 2,673 posts
  • Location:France

Posted Thu Apr 12, 2018 10:04 PM

That wasn't a criticism, just a way to say that this question was answered in the first post of this topic.

#12 madman ONLINE  

madman

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,726 posts
  • Location:127.0.0.1

Posted Fri Apr 13, 2018 9:25 AM

That wasn't a criticism, just a way to say that this question was answered in the first post of this topic.

Sorry, didn't see doctorclu's post.



#13 Pete5125 OFFLINE  

Pete5125

    Moonsweeper

  • 430 posts

Posted Sat Jul 14, 2018 12:18 PM

https://m.sears.com/...SPMn11582491625

sears has one

#14 Eltigro OFFLINE  

Eltigro

    River Patroller

  • 2,199 posts

Posted Mon Jul 16, 2018 10:54 AM

The power supply for my Jaguar will start buzzing after a while.  As in, the wall wart itself will have an audible buzz/hum coming from it that gets louder the longer it is left plugged in.  It seems to power the Jag okay, but it worries me that it may damage the Jag or that it is a sign that the power supply itself is about to go out.  Any ideas?  Just get a new one?  It is an actual Jaguar part, not an aftermarket one.



#15 Gummy Bear OFFLINE  

Gummy Bear

    Moonsweeper

  • 460 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted Sat Jul 21, 2018 12:36 PM

The power supply for my Jaguar will start buzzing after a while.  As in, the wall wart itself will have an audible buzz/hum coming from it that gets louder the longer it is left plugged in.  It seems to power the Jag okay, but it worries me that it may damage the Jag or that it is a sign that the power supply itself is about to go out.  Any ideas?  Just get a new one?  It is an actual Jaguar part, not an aftermarket one.


It's probably just the winding of the transformer getting old and loosening up a bit/vibrating when it gets warm.

Have you checked the voltage from it?

#16 Eltigro OFFLINE  

Eltigro

    River Patroller

  • 2,199 posts

Posted Sat Jul 21, 2018 1:18 PM

Nope.  Don't have a multimeter.  May be able to take it to work and check it.






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users