Photo

7800 controller port (?) problem

16 replies to this topic

#1 shear_xear OFFLINE  

shear_xear

Star Raider

• 67 posts

Posted Sun Jul 16, 2017 9:54 PM

Hi everyone. I just received a 7800 that has a weird issue that I've never seen before. I can play single player games perfectly on the system, but when I try a two player game the second player just moves automatically to the left. Anyone know how I can possibly resolve this? Thanks!

#2 Trebor OFFLINE  

Trebor

River Patroller

• 4,214 posts

Posted Mon Jul 17, 2017 5:33 AM

Have the controllers been switched to see if the same problem occurs for the second player?

#3 Jouster OFFLINE  

Jouster

Star Raider

• 50 posts

Posted Mon Jul 17, 2017 5:41 AM

I have a similar problem with one of my consoles.

It automatically fires on port 2 without a joystick attached  :-o

#4 DrVenkman ONLINE  

DrVenkman

River Patroller

• 2,322 posts
  • Back off, man! I'm a scientist.

Posted Mon Jul 17, 2017 7:02 AM

I’d suspect TIA and/or RIOT chip. One of those has joystick directional signals and the other controls triggers, as I recall, but it’s been a long while since I looked at the schematics.

#5 shear_xear OFFLINE  

shear_xear

Star Raider

• Topic Starter
  • 67 posts

Posted Mon Jul 17, 2017 8:19 AM

Yes, it is only the second player. I have several broken controllers that autofire on button 2, but this is definitely the Atari.

#6 shear_xear OFFLINE  

shear_xear

Star Raider

• Topic Starter
  • 67 posts

Posted Mon Jul 17, 2017 8:21 AM

I have several parts boards for the 7800 if it is one of the chips. Which chips are the TIA and RIOT?

#7 Trebor OFFLINE  

Trebor

River Patroller

• 4,214 posts

Posted Mon Jul 17, 2017 8:31 AM

Two larger IC's on the lower right hand side of the motherboard.  TIA on top / RIOT on the bottom.

Here's a quick pic/label of the 4 major chips:

7800MBLABELS.png

#8 shear_xear OFFLINE  

shear_xear

Star Raider

• Topic Starter
  • 67 posts

Posted Mon Jul 17, 2017 9:17 AM