Jump to content

Photo

side 3


52 replies to this topic

#26 JamesD OFFLINE  

JamesD

    Quadrunner

  • 8,246 posts
  • Location:Flyover State

Posted Wed Nov 1, 2017 1:24 PM

So wouldn't switching it to SD mean it's a SiDe III?  :D



#27 JamesD OFFLINE  

JamesD

    Quadrunner

  • 8,246 posts
  • Location:Flyover State

Posted Wed Nov 1, 2017 1:26 PM

No but I cant buy 4gb even 8gb sd in my town.Almost all are 16+...I thing 2gb luxury for 8bit.Its not about gb but shop stock...

Yeah, I have the same issue around here.  Even the cheap USB thumb drives are 32GB now.
 



#28 _The Doctor__ OFFLINE  

_The Doctor__

    Quadrunner

  • 5,642 posts
  • Location:10-0-11-00:02

Posted Wed Nov 1, 2017 1:30 PM

I have no interest in using microsoft one drive.... could some one who likes that go to his link in first post and re-post the particulars here? Please Thanks



#29 ivop OFFLINE  

ivop

    Dragonstomper

  • 784 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted Wed Nov 1, 2017 1:33 PM

iam still waiting for device which can run all formats :) xex, com, atr (more drives), rom, img (can play 60fps videos), bin and maybe others :)

will be SIDE3 thing iam waiting for? :)


ATR support through the cartridge port is always sub-par IMHO. SIO2SD, SDrive, SIO2PC, etc.. are always superior. Cartridge emulation and SIO emulation could be combined, but that would require an extra cable to the SIO port. It seems most Atarians do not like that (as far as I read on AA). There's a C64 cartridge (1541 Ultimate II+) that does exactly that (connects to the IEC serial port), which is extremely versatile.

 

Edit: forgot quote...


Edited by ivop, Wed Nov 1, 2017 1:34 PM.


#30 flashjazzcat OFFLINE  

flashjazzcat

    Quadrunner

  • 13,934 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted Wed Nov 1, 2017 1:57 PM

ATR support with a cartridge is best achieved with corresponding internal mods, of course, which is how U1MB/SIDE does it. But unless SIDE 3's SPI controller completely emulates an IDE controller, it won't work with the U1MB PBI driver... and I have no idea, since no-one told me anything. :)



#31 CharlieChaplin OFFLINE  

CharlieChaplin

    River Patroller

  • 2,956 posts

Posted Wed Nov 1, 2017 2:25 PM

Thats why I am using both the Ultimate cartridge and SIO2SD.

With the Ultimate I can load carts (CAR/ROM/BIN) and files (XEX/COM), while with the SIO2SD I can load disks (ATR, also swap disks!) and files (XEX/COM). Think it is not easy to combine everything in one add-on (as a cartridge or SIO2xxx-device or PBI-device) that also works without an extra OS and/or works without SDX (booting e.g. ATR images from IDE-2 afaik only works with SDX)...

 

Maybe (a big maybe) one could create a sort of "PBI cartridge" that only reads/loads from FAT-32 / ex-FAT / NTFS / ..., comes with a cartridge-like case (for XLs with PBI, for XEs with ECI+cart) with SD-slot (for SD, SDHC, SDXC, etc.) on it and uses the 2kb of the mathpack (and some onboard RAM and flash) for its firmware and a special bootloader that boots / loads ATR, CAR/ROM/BIN and XEX/COM (all of them without requiring SDX and without requiring a U1MB)...


Edited by CharlieChaplin, Wed Nov 1, 2017 2:31 PM.


#32 Stephen OFFLINE  

Stephen

    Quadrunner

  • 7,233 posts
  • A8 Gear Head
  • Location:No longer in Crakron, Ohio

Posted Wed Nov 1, 2017 2:35 PM

Bit concerned with hearing that fjc has no involvement in this.  His BIOS for Incognito and Ultimate1MB, as well as the SIDE loader far surpassed the originals in look and functionality.



#33 ProWizard OFFLINE  

ProWizard

    River Patroller

  • 4,658 posts
  • Into Stampede
  • Location:In the cattle!

Posted Wed Nov 1, 2017 2:38 PM

and/or works without SDX (booting e.g. ATR images from IDE-2 afaik only works with SDX)...

 

SDX is not needed for this functionality, but yes you need a SpartaDos formatted partition to store the ATR files on. Mounting can be done through the IDE+ menu (only to D1:) or in SDX (to more drive numbers, multiple ATR's).

 

I wrote a tiny tool (not spread yet, I need to make it userfriendly) that saves the settings of the mounted ATR's in a very tiny binary file. Handy. When you fire this saved binary file (from MyPicoDos or whatever dos you prefer) the previously stored settings of mounted ATR's is restored and your ATARI boots the ATR's.

 

I have a lot of these tiny XEX files now: Goonies, summergames, Johny's Trouble, ECKN+ etc. for all the disk games, stored on my MyPicoDos game partition. As soon as I want to play Goonies or Summergames, I simply load that tiny file, the IDE+ mounts the right ATR's and there it goes.



#34 ProWizard OFFLINE  

ProWizard

    River Patroller

  • 4,658 posts
  • Into Stampede
  • Location:In the cattle!

Posted Wed Nov 1, 2017 2:40 PM

Bit concerned with hearing that fjc has no involvement in this.  His BIOS for Incognito and Ultimate1MB, as well as the SIDE loader far surpassed the originals in look and functionality.

 

Can't agree more. FJC has proven to be the best BIOS creator in the entire scene. His creations are far superior, and I am really excited about all the extra functionality he achieved. I would love to see a BIOS for IDE+ from his hand. That would be gooooooooood.



#35 Mr Robot OFFLINE  

Mr Robot

    Moonsweeper

  • 323 posts
  • Location:Brit ExPat in 'Merica

Posted Fri Dec 15, 2017 1:43 PM

Any word on the progress of this yet? I was kind of hoping for a release at Silly Venture'17

 

This is the last mention of it I've seen. 

21272518_1420908418022483_5849211010322832307_n.jpg



#36 V-Cool OFFLINE  

V-Cool

    Star Raider

  • 54 posts

Posted Wed Feb 28, 2018 10:21 PM

bump for an update?



#37 Zap! OFFLINE  

Zap!

    Stargunner

  • 1,743 posts
  • Location:Staten Island, New York

Posted Thu Mar 1, 2018 10:07 PM

I'd love to see this in 2018, preferably the first half.



#38 V-Cool OFFLINE  

V-Cool

    Star Raider

  • 54 posts

Posted Mon Apr 23, 2018 8:37 PM

Does anyone have any news you can share on this?  It's been quite a while since the announcement.



#39 Stormtrooper of Death OFFLINE  

Stormtrooper of Death

    Moonsweeper

  • 426 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted Wed May 2, 2018 6:23 AM

I am also waiting for the SIDE3. Some years ago, i almost bought the SIDE2. but just waited. Then , last year, the SIDE3 was announced. Using SD cards. I hope it will be for sale soon. I'll then buy the SIDE3. (if it also has Spartados).


Edited by Stormtrooper of Death, Wed May 2, 2018 6:24 AM.


#40 seastalker OFFLINE  

seastalker

    Chopper Commander

  • 191 posts

Posted Fri Jun 1, 2018 7:27 AM

Nearly bought a SIDE II but am waiting for this. I have a MIST to do some fast loading.  Really hope to hear about an update.



#41 Swami ONLINE  

Swami

    River Patroller

  • 2,339 posts
  • Location:Twin Cities, MN

Posted Tue Jun 12, 2018 5:25 PM

Does anyone have any news you can share on this?  It's been quite a while since the announcement.

I'd like to know if the Side 3 is still planned, as well. Candle's been scarce on the forum the last year or so according to his profile.



#42 Nezgar OFFLINE  

Nezgar

    Stargunner

  • 1,276 posts
  • Location:Regina SK Canada

Posted Fri Jun 15, 2018 10:08 AM

If the lack of SD card support is your only holdback - you can get an CF-SD adapter ;)
for example https://www.ebay.com/itm/123038197343
 
TBH i haven't tried one in my SIDE2. I have one, so I'll give it a try to see if it works

Edited by Nezgar, Fri Jun 15, 2018 10:09 AM.


#43 flashjazzcat OFFLINE  

flashjazzcat

    Quadrunner

  • 13,934 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted Fri Jun 15, 2018 10:46 AM

If the lack of SD card support is your only holdback - you can get an CF-SD adapter ;)
for example https://www.ebay.com/itm/123038197343
 
TBH i haven't tried one in my SIDE2. I have one, so I'll give it a try to see if it works

 

They work, especially if you use the firmware update that I haven't released yet. :) But yes: they're very stable in SIDE2.



#44 vattari ONLINE  

vattari

    Star Raider

  • 82 posts

Posted Mon Jul 23, 2018 2:56 AM

I can vouch for this. I use one of these interchangeably in my SIDE2 and MyIDE2.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

#45 Stormtrooper of Death OFFLINE  

Stormtrooper of Death

    Moonsweeper

  • 426 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted Mon Oct 15, 2018 11:34 PM

No news about the SIDE 3 since 23th july in this topic.

 

Is there any news/updates about progress about the SIDE 3 ?



#46 Mr Robot OFFLINE  

Mr Robot

    Moonsweeper

  • 323 posts
  • Location:Brit ExPat in 'Merica

Posted Mon Nov 12, 2018 4:55 PM

If I have an Ultimate Cart and a 1088XEL with an XEL-CF in it, is there anything the SiDE2/3 offers that I don't already have?



#47 flashjazzcat OFFLINE  

flashjazzcat

    Quadrunner

  • 13,934 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted Mon Nov 12, 2018 5:02 PM

Not really. SIDE3 is a completely unknown quantity at the moment and the XEL-CF is functionally equivalent to SIDE2 in the context of the hard disk.

#48 SS ONLINE  

SS

    Quadrunner

  • 6,150 posts
  • Location:Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania

Posted Mon Nov 12, 2018 5:22 PM

If I have an Ultimate Cart and a 1088XEL with an XEL-CF in it, is there anything the SiDE2/3 offers that I don't already have?


I kind of doubt it. I am interested in seeing what the SiDE3 is going to offer but I already have an Ultimate Cart, a UNO, a SIO2SD, and a SDRIVE-MAX. It's hard to conceive that the SiDE3 will be able to offer much that I cannot already do.

#49 Mr Robot OFFLINE  

Mr Robot

    Moonsweeper

  • 323 posts
  • Location:Brit ExPat in 'Merica

Posted Tue Nov 13, 2018 10:29 AM

I just realised I can load atr files from the XEL-CF!  :dunce:

 

So I can load:

Hard Drive from XEL-CF

CAR/XEX from the Ultimate Cart 

ATR/XEX files from the XEL-CF

ATR/XEX/ATX/CAS from the SDrive MAX

ATR/XEX/CAS from SIO2PC (ATX is in development)

 

Yeah, I don't think there is much I would need a SiDE3 for.



#50 flashjazzcat OFFLINE  

flashjazzcat

    Quadrunner

  • 13,934 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted Tue Nov 13, 2018 1:49 PM

I just realised I can load atr files from the XEL-CF!


You can swap ATRs (for two-sided disks, etc) using the swap button on the XEL-CF3 as well, as with the SIDE2 swap button. :)




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users