Jump to content

Photo

New Gamecube HDMI adapter


210 replies to this topic

#201 Tempest ONLINE  

Tempest

    Monochrome Martinet

  • 26,553 posts
  • Location:Accardi-By-The-Sea

Posted Fri Nov 17, 2017 10:57 AM

I tried it out last night. I tried out two games. Fzero looks fantastic but Mario Sunshine didn't look right(I was in 480P mode). I tried messing around with the OSD but both remotes I tried didn't work.

Define 'didn't look right'.  I'm curious as to how this compares to regular old Component.



#202 Punisher5.0 ONLINE  

Punisher5.0

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,391 posts
  • Location:Illinois

Posted Fri Nov 17, 2017 12:06 PM

Define 'didn't look right'.  I'm curious as to how this compares to regular old Component.


Colors looked dull and the picture quality looked a little blurry

#203 Tanooki OFFLINE  

Tanooki

    River Patroller

  • 2,948 posts

Posted Fri Nov 17, 2017 12:21 PM

Perhaps it's a setting issue around the TV or telling the GC to use progressive mode?



#204 KeeperofLindblum OFFLINE  

KeeperofLindblum

    Moonsweeper

  • 482 posts
  • The Real Keeper
  • Location:Tuttle, OK

Posted Fri Nov 17, 2017 1:55 PM

Are you sure that you booted up Super Mario Sunshine in progressive scan? You have to hold B on bootup, or it won't do it. (Not doubting just double checking)

 

I can take a look at my HDMI Gamecube's output when I get home and see what I have for settings. (I've mostly used it to play Super Mario Sunshine.) 



#205 Punisher5.0 ONLINE  

Punisher5.0

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,391 posts
  • Location:Illinois

Posted Fri Nov 17, 2017 4:09 PM

Are you sure that you booted up Super Mario Sunshine in progressive scan? You have to hold B on bootup, or it won't do it. (Not doubting just double checking)
 
I can take a look at my HDMI Gamecube's output when I get home and see what I have for settings. (I've mostly used it to play Super Mario Sunshine.)


I selected that I wanted 480P but it's possible I pressed a wrong button or something. I'll have to try it again.

#206 Tanooki OFFLINE  

Tanooki

    River Patroller

  • 2,948 posts

Posted Sat Nov 18, 2017 12:46 PM

I didn't check my email so deep into Skyrim last night that when I checked it this morning I had a nearly 12 hour old mail -- paid for the device this morning.  I doubt I'll get luck enough to see it by Wednesday unless it goes out Monday since it ships priority mail.  I'll have to set some Switch time aside to fire up my Cube and have a little fun with it.



#207 KeeperofLindblum OFFLINE  

KeeperofLindblum

    Moonsweeper

  • 482 posts
  • The Real Keeper
  • Location:Tuttle, OK

Posted Sat Nov 18, 2017 8:26 PM

I selected that I wanted 480P but it's possible I pressed a wrong button or something. I'll have to try it again.

 

How are you booting the game? Are you "backup loading" via SWISS or using a real disc? SWISS can force it to 480p, and that's what I'm using. 

 

I loaded up Super Mario Sunshine on my Vizio 4k TV, and the color seems fine. I haven't done much adjustment other than setting Game Mode on the TV, turning sharpness down, and turning the scanlines off of GCVideo. (If I have scanlines enabled, it's hella darker.)

 

I can take a couple pictures if you'd like an idea of what mine looks like. 



#208 Kosmic Stardust OFFLINE  

Kosmic Stardust

    Princess Rescuer

  • 15,476 posts
  • Location:Milky Way Galaxy

Posted Sat Nov 18, 2017 8:39 PM

I selected that I wanted 480P but it's possible I pressed a wrong button or something. I'll have to try it again.

I've found the only way to get the games to boot in 480p is to hold B the entire boot jingle and hit A at the prompt. Wii kind of automatically did this for me when the component cables were hooked up so initialy I didn't realize you had to hold down button.

 

Graphics are gorgeous although the main benefit IMO is going lag free on HDTV and not having composite artifacts. I've played Super Mario Sunshine for a few hours and started a new profile, deleting the old one I haven't touched in almost 10 years. One thing I noticed right off the bat is that any defects normally masked by CRTs become evident here. The cutscenes in Super Mario Sunshine look like they were done in motion Jpeg, though I could be wrong. The gameplay looks slightly better than the cutscenes for this reason! You can see slightly more alias (although the Game Cube has always had a much much better anti-alias compared to the PS2). Thousand Year Door's handling of 2D sprites that wowed me back in 2004 still does today. I started a brand new save file in 2016 and saved right before the cannon that blasts too the moon. I had initially planned to stock up on items in Rougeport but I neglected this chore flying to the moon. I'm wearing defense and offense plus badges along with fireproof and spikeproof jump shoes, with additional BP added to happy flowers and hearts. I've got all the best stuff and if I collect the feeling fine badge at the Xnaut base I'll be nearly invincible for the underground. I rarely ever need to use the Star Power restores.

 

I still need to boot the Game Boy Player and see what the games look like. I think GBA games would look great in scanline mode. I need to experiment with setting up the remote function.

 

Define 'didn't look right'.  I'm curious as to how this compares to regular old Component.

Colors looked dull and the picture quality looked a little blurry

Not at all. Super Mario Sunshine is gorgeous! Just the cutscenes are a little grainy now that it's not masked by composite artifacts.



#209 KeeperofLindblum OFFLINE  

KeeperofLindblum

    Moonsweeper

  • 482 posts
  • The Real Keeper
  • Location:Tuttle, OK

Posted Yesterday, 12:17 AM

I've found the only way to get the games to boot in 480p is to hold B the entire boot jingle and hit A at the prompt. Wii kind of automatically did this for me when the component cables were hooked up so initialy I didn't realize you had to hold down button.

 

I can confirm from my testing earlier that if you force 480p via SWISS. It'll automatically bring up the Progressive Scan option. 

 

Otherwise you are 100% correct on this. 



#210 Kosmic Stardust OFFLINE  

Kosmic Stardust

    Princess Rescuer

  • 15,476 posts
  • Location:Milky Way Galaxy

Posted Yesterday, 8:33 AM

 

I can confirm from my testing earlier that if you force 480p via SWISS. It'll automatically bring up the Progressive Scan option. 

 

Otherwise you are 100% correct on this. 

Swiss?



#211 KeeperofLindblum OFFLINE  

KeeperofLindblum

    Moonsweeper

  • 482 posts
  • The Real Keeper
  • Location:Tuttle, OK

Posted Yesterday, 9:06 AM

SWISS is backup loading software for the GameCube.

 

You can use it to run backups, homebrew software, and I think you can launch physical discs from it and force options on them (like resolution and other things).






1 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users