Jump to content

Photo

Flying Shark


273 replies to this topic

#251 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • 9,785 posts
  • Location:Hustisford, WI

Posted Wed Apr 18, 2018 11:46 AM

Okay thanks guys. I need an SD cart I guess. :)

Edited by Opry99er, Wed Apr 18, 2018 11:46 AM.


#252 Asmusr OFFLINE  

Asmusr

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,778 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Wed Apr 18, 2018 11:58 PM

 

Yeah, the SAMS card has the memory for it, but the disk drives don't have the space!

 

What is making up the bulk of the 512K? Do you store your maps as straight raw bitmap data, or use some kind of common pattern storage? I would imagine you must be doing something like the latter to get the trees to all have moving leaves...

 

Yes, each of the 8 scroll frames has it's own ROM bank, plus 2 for the map, plus 1 for the music. That's 11 banks x 4 levels = 44 ROM banks. In addition to that I use banks for the program and the bitmap screens.


Edited by Asmusr, Thu Apr 19, 2018 9:51 AM.


#253 PeteE OFFLINE  

PeteE

    Chopper Commander

  • 148 posts
  • Location:Beaverton, OR

Posted Wed Apr 25, 2018 2:12 PM

I've been practicing this game, and have found some things:

1. A need for a pause button

2. With the 2 or 3 shot upgrade, it is possible to fill the screen with bullets, which can prevent spawning enemies, including the boss.  I would expect that enemies would take priority and recycle bullet slots.  Missing enemies leads to missed bonus items (but that could be considered my own fault for abusing bullets to prevent spawning)

 

While studying the source code, I am curious about the ea5tocart jar file - I did not see any mention of it here on atariage.  Also I can not seem to activate the Eegg - attempting to type at the title screen immediately causes the flying shark to start in keyboard mode.  Was that not included in the version 1.0 you posted?



#254 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    --- Ω ---

  • 12,260 posts
  • Location:워싱턴 주

Posted Wed Apr 25, 2018 2:18 PM

I've been practicing this game, and have found some things:

1. A need for a pause button

 

Pause buttons are for weenies!  ;)  You have to play this game for six hours straight... using the original TI joysticks to be considered a man in these parts!  :lolblue:

--- Actually I agree with you on the pause button!  :thumbsup:  One never knows when a 'honey do' will come calling, or a bladder call.

 

I've actually tried using the load interrupt on my PS/2 keyboard once, but it just locked up the game, and I don't have the switch mod installed.



#255 Asmusr OFFLINE  

Asmusr

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,778 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Wed Apr 25, 2018 2:48 PM

I've been practicing this game, and have found some things:

1. A need for a pause button

2. With the 2 or 3 shot upgrade, it is possible to fill the screen with bullets, which can prevent spawning enemies, including the boss.  I would expect that enemies would take priority and recycle bullet slots.  Missing enemies leads to missed bonus items (but that could be considered my own fault for abusing bullets to prevent spawning)

 

While studying the source code, I am curious about the ea5tocart jar file - I did not see any mention of it here on atariage.  Also I can not seem to activate the Eegg - attempting to type at the title screen immediately causes the flying shark to start in keyboard mode.  Was that not included in the version 1.0 you posted?

 

Thanks for the feedback. I have also thought about a pause button. I might still add that.

 

I did try to put a limit on the bullets in the latest version, but I might need to lower it further. Is there any place in particular where you see this issue?

 

ea5tocart is my tool for converting EA5 files to carts. The Eegg is for the cart version. I think you should get something extra when you buy a cart.

 

What is your opinion about the difficulty? Does anything seem impossible? I would be silly to have spent so much time writing the game if nobody can reach level 3.


Edited by Asmusr, Wed Apr 25, 2018 2:49 PM.


#256 PeteE OFFLINE  

PeteE

    Chopper Commander

  • 148 posts
  • Location:Beaverton, OR

Posted Wed Apr 25, 2018 3:13 PM

I did try to put a limit on the bullets in the latest version, but I might need to lower it further. Is there any place in particular where you see this issue?

Seems like anywhere. Most noticeable was the boss, since I was firing rapidly in anticipation, but he didn't appear.
 

ea5tocart is my tool for converting EA5 files to carts. The Eegg is for the cart version. I think you should get something extra when you buy a cart.

:thumbsup:
 

What is your opinion about the difficulty? Does anything seem impossible? I would be silly to have spent so much time writing the game if nobody can reach level 3.

I've reached level 3 a couple times, but things quickly go downhill once there. I can't say if it's too hard or I just need more practice there, because it takes quite a while to get there again from the start.  I know you mentioned a way to jump to later levels, but I feel it would be unfair to others without that advantage.  Please wait until after Saturday's competition at FestWest, then PM me the level skip code, and I'll do some more "testing" on the later levels.
 

Edit: Another thing I remembered, not a bug - a hardware limitation, if you are sitting in the same row as the large white plane, the bullet he shoots directly at you won't be visible due to the 4 sprites per line limitation.  I don't know if you could implement sprite rotation, or if it would be too costly in performance.  In the end, just need to remember not to sit to the sides of the white planes.


Edited by PeteE, Wed Apr 25, 2018 3:19 PM.


#257 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    --- Ω ---

  • 12,260 posts
  • Location:워싱턴 주

Posted Wed Apr 25, 2018 3:18 PM

 

What is your opinion about the difficulty? Does anything seem impossible? I would be silly to have spent so much time writing the game if nobody can reach level 3.

 

;) Well, now that you ask...

 

It may be that I'm just a lousy player, but since the final release, I've NEVER made it to level three, and believe me, I've been trying.



#258 digress OFFLINE  

digress

    Stargunner

  • 1,017 posts
  • Location:Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Posted Wed Apr 25, 2018 3:21 PM

so if f18a,  

 

use the f18a register scroll bg is just for looks

 

do all tile collision detection on a 2nd hidden tilename screen which is basically black & white tiles. white is walkable black is not. only 2 tiles type to check

 

f18a has optional 2nd tile layer for going under the bridge or behind rocks

 

sprites don't need to flicker. 

 

now you would still have to make a simplified coleco version too.



#259 Asmusr OFFLINE  

Asmusr

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,778 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Wed Apr 25, 2018 3:34 PM

 

;) Well, now that you ask...

 

It may be that I'm just a lousy player, but since the final release, I've NEVER made it to level three, and believe me, I've been trying.

 

So is there anywhere particular that you get killed?

 

Maps are here for reference:

http://atariage.com/...-1#entry3822013



#260 Asmusr OFFLINE  

Asmusr

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,778 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Wed Apr 25, 2018 3:37 PM

so if f18a,  

 

use the f18a register scroll bg is just for looks

 

do all tile collision detection on a 2nd hidden tilename screen which is basically black & white tiles. white is walkable black is not. only 2 tiles type to check

 

f18a has optional 2nd tile layer for going under the bridge or behind rocks

 

sprites don't need to flicker. 

 

now you would still have to make a simplified coleco version too.

 

Was that about Flying Shark or Commando?



#261 digress OFFLINE  

digress

    Stargunner

  • 1,017 posts
  • Location:Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Posted Wed Apr 25, 2018 5:47 PM

opps. I posted it in the wrong place. I was checking out your recent project. Looks really good.

 

 

Was that about Flying Shark or Commando?



#262 Asmusr OFFLINE  

Asmusr

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,778 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Fri Apr 27, 2018 11:31 AM

I have made a new version 1.1 based on the feedback:

  • Press P to pause. Press fire to resume
  • Firing lots of bullet should no longer stop enemies from appearing
  • The beginning of level 2 is slightly easier

 

 

Attached Files



#263 Asmusr OFFLINE  

Asmusr

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,778 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Fri Apr 27, 2018 11:56 AM

Edit: Another thing I remembered, not a bug - a hardware limitation, if you are sitting in the same row as the large white plane, the bullet he shoots directly at you won't be visible due to the 4 sprites per line limitation.  I don't know if you could implement sprite rotation, or if it would be too costly in performance.  In the end, just need to remember not to sit to the sides of the white planes.

 

I'm already using sprite rotation, but it's a little more complicated than what I have usually done.

 

I have a list of sprite structures in CPU RAM. Each sprite can consist of multiple ( 1-8 ) hardware sprites. The data structures for the hardware sprites are also stored in CPU RAM. I support up to 48 hardware sprites even though the hardware can only show 32.

 

I assign priorities to hardware sprites between 0 and 2. 0 is the highest priority and is used for the player's plane and the mask sprites that mask tank etc. when they enter from the left. Priority 1 is used for the front sprites of enemies plus bullets, and priority 2 is for backdrops and shadows.

 

When I update the sprite attribute list in VDP RAM I first add priority 0 sprites, then priority 1 sprites and finally priority 2 sprites. Within each priority I alternate between adding sprites forwards and backwards. This is what creates the sprite rotation, but a priority 0 sprite like the player's plane will always have higher priority than any enemy.


Edited by Asmusr, Sat Apr 28, 2018 12:43 AM.


#264 PeteE OFFLINE  

PeteE

    Chopper Commander

  • 148 posts
  • Location:Beaverton, OR

Posted Sat Apr 28, 2018 8:14 PM

 

I'm already using sprite rotation, but it's a little more complicated than what I have usually done.

 

I have a list of sprite structures in CPU RAM. Each sprite can consist of multiple ( 1-8 ) hardware sprites. The data structures for the hardware sprites are also stored in CPU RAM. I support up to 48 hardware sprites even though the hardware can only show 32.

 

I assign priorities to hardware sprites between 0 and 2. 0 is the highest priority and is used for the player's plane and the mask sprites that mask tank etc. when they enter from the left. Priority 1 is used for the front sprites of enemies plus bullets, and priority 2 is for backdrops and shadows.

 

When I update the sprite attribute list in VDP RAM I first add priority 0 sprites, then priority 1 sprites and finally priority 2 sprites. Within each priority I alternate between adding sprites forwards and backwards. This is what creates the sprite rotation, but a priority 0 sprite like the player's plane will always have higher priority than any enemy.

That is really clever, and a great way to make the most of the limited sprites.  I recorded a video of myself playing yesterday, and can confirm that the bullet does appear and flickers between the planes.  I must have not been watching closely enough before.

 

Thanks for an awesome game.  We had a lot of fun competing for a high score at Fest West 2018.  I almost made it to level 3, and then for some reason it didn't put my score in the high score list, but later players showed up just fine.



#265 Asmusr OFFLINE  

Asmusr

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,778 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Sun Apr 29, 2018 1:37 AM

... for some reason it didn't put my score in the high score list, but later players showed up just fine.

 

Damn, I have used signed comparison of unsigned numbers. This means your score won't be registered if it's between 32768 and 65535. Look out for version 1.2.


Edited by Asmusr, Sun Apr 29, 2018 6:52 AM.


#266 Asmusr OFFLINE  

Asmusr

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,778 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Sun Apr 29, 2018 9:02 AM

Here is a new version that fixes the bug in the high score table.

Attached Files



#267 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    --- Ω ---

  • 12,260 posts
  • Location:워싱턴 주

Posted Sun Apr 29, 2018 6:24 PM

Rasmus,

   I hate to give you the bad news, but your newest version has a bug with the scoring...

 

 

Attached Files



#268 jedimatt42 OFFLINE  

jedimatt42

    Stargunner

  • 1,655 posts
  • Location:Beaverton, OR

Posted Sun Apr 29, 2018 7:55 PM

Damn, I have used signed comparison of unsigned numbers. This means your score won't be registered if it's between 32768 and 65535. Look out for version 1.2.


PeteE's lack of evidence, and this explanation are proof that he won the competition. As the rest of us didn't get close to the sign bit. icon_smile.gif

-M@

#269 PeteE OFFLINE  

PeteE

    Chopper Commander

  • 148 posts
  • Location:Beaverton, OR

Posted Sun Apr 29, 2018 11:06 PM

Oops, looks like you left the testing score in the 1.2 release.  Might be advisable to put the next version number on screen to prevent 1.2 from being used for any future high score competition.



#270 Asmusr OFFLINE  

Asmusr

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,778 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Sun Apr 29, 2018 11:10 PM

Rasmus,

   I hate to give you the bad news, but your newest version has a bug with the scoring...

 

I can't believe I didn't notice that!

Attached Files



#271 OLD CS1 OFFLINE  

OLD CS1

    Quadrunner

  • 5,311 posts
  • Technology Samurai
  • Location:Tallahassee, FL

Posted Fri May 4, 2018 4:32 PM

Hey Guys ! how you arriving at Game Over with all Bombs present ? ;p

 

anyway it is the Label decided with Rasmus for this masterpiece game


hope you like :)

 

 

 

Very nice!  When I printed the label for VCF the background shark-plane image is really dark and difficult to distinguish.  Is it possible to lighten that layer a little bit?



#272 ti99iuc OFFLINE  

ti99iuc

    Stargunner

  • 1,467 posts
  • Location:Italy

Posted Fri May 4, 2018 11:43 PM

thanks :), the light of the background really depends from the kind of the printer and how that manage the colors i noted too differences using different printers.
of course i can manage for a lighten version for the background this evening when i'll back to home ;)



#273 nitrofurano OFFLINE  

nitrofurano

    Moonsweeper

  • 291 posts
  • meditating
  • Location:porto

Posted Sat May 5, 2018 1:49 AM

i can’t remember if i shared my humble experience on msx1: http://webmsx.org/?R...gShark_msx1.rom



#274 artrag OFFLINE  

artrag

    Stargunner

  • 1,021 posts

Posted Sat May 5, 2018 2:30 AM

You use far too many sprites on the same line. It is not usable for games. I may be wrong but I see at least 3 sprites if not 4 on a line.

Edited by artrag, Sat May 5, 2018 2:32 AM.





0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users