Jump to content

Photo

Flying Shark


288 replies to this topic

#101 arcadeshopper ONLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 4,180 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Thu Dec 7, 2017 5:27 PM

Agreed the VGM sounds great!



#102 Asmusr ONLINE  

Asmusr

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,034 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Fri Dec 8, 2017 12:11 PM

Agreed the VGM sounds great!

 

Thanks.

 

Here's the level 3 music.

Attached Files



#103 Asmusr ONLINE  

Asmusr

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,034 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Fri Dec 8, 2017 1:58 PM

And here's the game with the new music. Level 1 and 3 are using level 1 music and level 2 and 4 are using level 3 music. No other changes this time.

Attached Files



#104 Asmusr ONLINE  

Asmusr

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,034 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Fri Dec 8, 2017 2:22 PM

It's great to work with a 512K cartridge. At this point in game development I would usually be running out of RAM, but I still have 20K left. Graphics, maps, sprite data, sound, title screen are all resident in ROM.  :)



#105 digdugnate OFFLINE  

digdugnate

    River Patroller

  • 2,171 posts

Posted Fri Dec 8, 2017 2:44 PM

sweeeet!  i can't wait to put this on my TI.



#106 ti99iuc OFFLINE  

ti99iuc

    Stargunner

  • 1,622 posts
  • Location:Italy

Posted Fri Dec 8, 2017 2:46 PM

Wow, i can't wait too !

i remember when playing to this game on my PC 8088 in Hercules :P it is so nice thinking to play it again on my TI-99/4A :)

 

Thanks Rasmus.



#107 fabrice montupet OFFLINE  

fabrice montupet

    Moonsweeper

  • 471 posts
  • Location:Burgundy - France

Posted Fri Dec 8, 2017 3:11 PM

It's better and better ! and it was already fantastic!



#108 Asmusr ONLINE  

Asmusr

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,034 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Fri Dec 8, 2017 4:45 PM

I just had a chance to run it on hardware, and it appears I have major problems with the timing of the music.

 

[Edit: It appears there's not only problems on hardware but also in other emulators than my own :)]



#109 fabrice montupet OFFLINE  

fabrice montupet

    Moonsweeper

  • 471 posts
  • Location:Burgundy - France

Posted Fri Dec 8, 2017 5:23 PM

I have tested the last version on a real TI-99/4A and the Tiny-99/4A and I have noticed no sound problem, and during 4 levels. What kind of problem do you ear?



#110 Asmusr ONLINE  

Asmusr

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,034 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Fri Dec 8, 2017 5:26 PM

For me the music is running 2-3 times too fast when the graphics are simple.  



#111 fabrice montupet OFFLINE  

fabrice montupet

    Moonsweeper

  • 471 posts
  • Location:Burgundy - France

Posted Fri Dec 8, 2017 5:37 PM

It's strange! During my test, the bpm of each music was the same all along the 4 levels.

I listened to the original music on the arcade version, I have just noticed that the TI-99 version was a bit slower but  very pleasant.



#112 ti99iuc OFFLINE  

ti99iuc

    Stargunner

  • 1,622 posts
  • Location:Italy

Posted Fri Dec 8, 2017 6:41 PM

Yes Rasmus, i noticed the music problem you mention on Classic99 and not real PAL ti99 without F18A. I should try also on an NTSC one.


Edited by ti99iuc, Sat Dec 9, 2017 3:44 PM.


#113 Tursi OFFLINE  

Tursi

    Quadrunner

  • 5,487 posts
  • HarmlessLion
  • Location:BUR

Posted Fri Dec 8, 2017 6:55 PM

I didn't notice any music issues, but I didn't listen to the raw files either. 

 

Only one thing bugs me -- the landing sequences. ;) The plane needs to move towards the shadow. If the shadow moves, it means the angle of incoming light is changing :)

 

(Edit: after thinking this through for a few minutes, I suppose if you were looking straight down and the light was coming from a steep enough angle then only the shadow would appear to move. But I still think it looks odd. Maybe the plane moving looks odder. Feel free to disregard. ;) )


Edited by Tursi, Fri Dec 8, 2017 6:59 PM.


#114 nanochess OFFLINE  

nanochess

    Processorus Polyglotus

  • 5,779 posts
  • Coding something good
  • Location:Mexico City

Posted Fri Dec 8, 2017 7:44 PM

Given everyone is talking of it and there doesn't appear any capture or video, I tried this on js99er and it looks pretty good :)

 

Sorry but I've to ask: how you did the flute-style tone in the music of level 1?



#115 arcadeshopper ONLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 4,180 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Sat Dec 9, 2017 1:22 AM

For me the music is running 2-3 times too fast when the graphics are simple.  

 

yeah i noticed the music speed changing with the graphics complexity and the number of enemys



#116 fabrice montupet OFFLINE  

fabrice montupet

    Moonsweeper

  • 471 posts
  • Location:Burgundy - France

Posted Sat Dec 9, 2017 6:23 AM

The speed changing you notice is a direct one or it is light?
I have re-tried the game, again,  forcing to me to ear any problem and.. I still haven't noticed any! when the graphics are complex or when many objects are moving.

Are my ears so poor? o_O



#117 Sinphaltimus OFFLINE  

Sinphaltimus

    River Patroller

  • 2,517 posts
  • Distracted at the Keyboard
  • Location:Poconos, PA

Posted Sat Dec 9, 2017 7:39 AM

Just reporting in. I thought maybe F18a vs stock might make a difference and for me it does. My F18a equipped TI exhibited the same music speed fluctuations being reported by others. I tested that first.

On my unmodified console, the music itself sounded slower from the start. I did not notice any slow down or speed up at all while playing. Very faintly there is a glitch sometimes, almost sounds like a skipped frame in the audio if that makes any sense. Going back to the F18A equipped console, the music is definitely playing a lot faster from the start of the game and slowing down with heavy graphics.

I hope this information comes in handy. 


Edited by Sinphaltimus, Sat Dec 9, 2017 8:00 AM.


#118 sometimes99er OFFLINE  

sometimes99er

    River Patroller

  • 4,201 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Sat Dec 9, 2017 7:46 AM

I just had a chance to run it on hardware, and it appears I have major problems with the timing of the music.

 

[Edit: It appears there's not only problems on hardware but also in other emulators than my own :)]

 

It runs pretty rock solid in my MAME64 setup (default settings). Music seems all fine. Didn't notice any hiccups. Ran it twice for more than 5 minutes.
 
JS99er seems to play slightly faster and has occasional hiccups. There might also be a slight wavy change in tempo - or is it some kind of catchup thing.
 
;)



#119 fabrice montupet OFFLINE  

fabrice montupet

    Moonsweeper

  • 471 posts
  • Location:Burgundy - France

Posted Sat Dec 9, 2017 7:56 AM

I just add that I do not use F18A (I'm so in love this the original VDP).



#120 Asmusr ONLINE  

Asmusr

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,034 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Sat Dec 9, 2017 8:33 AM

I was testing on an F18A console when I noticed the tempo changes. I wonder why this should make any difference? The interrupt timing on the F18A is very close to the 9918A, AFAIK. I will test on an 9918A console tonight.



#121 Asmusr ONLINE  

Asmusr

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,034 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Sat Dec 9, 2017 8:38 AM

Sorry but I've to ask: how you did the flute-style tone in the music of level 1?

 

Just a bit of detuning. Here are the modules for MOD2PSG2 so you can see.

Attached Files



#122 Alekin OFFLINE  

Alekin

    Combat Commando

  • 7 posts

Posted Sat Dec 9, 2017 9:07 AM

It's better and better ! and it was already fantastic!

Gorgeous game!!

I suggest next game: ikari warrior !


Edited by Alekin, Sat Dec 9, 2017 9:08 AM.


#123 Asmusr ONLINE  

Asmusr

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,034 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Sat Dec 9, 2017 2:51 PM

I can confirm what others have reported: the problems with music timing only exists on a console with the F18A installed. On a 9918A console the sound is fine.



#124 fabrice montupet OFFLINE  

fabrice montupet

    Moonsweeper

  • 471 posts
  • Location:Burgundy - France

Posted Sat Dec 9, 2017 3:27 PM

Thank you for your confirmation! I know now why the sound was fine during my tests :-)



#125 Tursi OFFLINE  

Tursi

    Quadrunner

  • 5,487 posts
  • HarmlessLion
  • Location:BUR

Posted Sat Dec 9, 2017 6:32 PM

Well, it's also been reported on some emulators, but not always. I wonder if this is just a case of being that close to the edge? Remember that on real hardware, the CPU clock can vary by as much as 10% between machines (+/- 5% from the rated - I've owned machines that I measured near both ends of that). The VDP clock has much tighter accuracy. Could this just be a case of a slower clock being more susceptible and a faster clock getting over the edge? We've seen more and more tight races as we've been pushing the hardware harder over the years.






1 user(s) are browsing this forum

1 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users