Jump to content

Photo

MAME just bloated up again.. Post new mame bloat here.


73 replies to this topic

#51 Keatah OFFLINE  

Keatah

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 18,906 posts

Posted Tue Aug 29, 2017 10:40 PM

Tell me about it..

#52 Keatah OFFLINE  

Keatah

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 18,906 posts

Posted Wed Aug 30, 2017 2:22 AM

"MAME source releases in now packaged in one of two ways. If you are running a Windows system, you can download the smaller 7-zip self-extracting archive. If you are on a non-Windows system, you can download the sources as a standard ZIP file. Note that this ZIP file is packaged as a "double ZIP" file, meaning that when you extract the file that you download, it will produce a second large ZIP file which must also be extracted to give you the final sources. This is done to produce what is effectively a "solid" archive and improves the compression ratio of the MAME sources."

 

With the vast amount of storage space available today, do we really need to do this? To me, this is one tiny example of the thinking going on in the mame project these days. Busy-work. Make-work.

 

And another thing, "MAME originally stood for Multiple Arcade Machine Emulator."

So, what does it mean now?

 

Finally! "Handheld LCD game additions have slowed down." But for how long? Hopefully forever.


Edited by Keatah, Wed Aug 30, 2017 2:28 AM.


#53 Duke75 OFFLINE  

Duke75

    Space Invader

  • 13 posts

Posted Wed Aug 30, 2017 1:26 PM

The built in UI is a disaster. It is so very clearly written by people who know noting about designing and testing UI's.  It's absolutely horrid.  I stopped grabbing new versions because I finally got a version that worked for what I wanted.  I won't upgrade Mame again.  For every fix they make to a game, something else breaks.  And you know what - if you're just a user, they basically hate you anyway.  There were some good Mame UI's for Windows, but even the developers of those were attacked by Mame guys....  It's a great project, but damn, they're miserable b*astards.

 

I can't say I've had any contact with the MAME guys (maybe that's good!), but frustration with the UI is how I ended up using Launchbox as a frontend for MAME (and some other stuff). It's served me well, although it's not the only option out there.



#54 Keatah OFFLINE  

Keatah

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 18,906 posts

Posted Wed Aug 30, 2017 4:28 PM

Probably a good thing, just as bad as the Linux gang.

#55 jblenkle OFFLINE  

jblenkle

    River Patroller

  • 4,285 posts

Posted Thu Sep 21, 2017 11:32 PM

I use the MameUI version and was somewhat surprised when they merged Mame & Mess. I have yet to figure out, however, if you run an emulated computer how do you exit out of it? For the games, of course, hitting ESC does the trick. But if I run say an Amstrad computer, ESC does nothing and I stay in the emulation.



#56 mr_me OFFLINE  

mr_me

    River Patroller

  • 2,208 posts
  • Location:Ontario

Posted Fri Sep 22, 2017 5:01 AM

With an emulated computer the full keyboard is emulated and keys like escape and tab do what they normally would on the emulated computer. You can toggle the emulated keyboard on/off with the "scroll lock" key.

#57 zzip ONLINE  

zzip

    Stargunner

  • 1,642 posts

Posted Fri Sep 22, 2017 7:50 AM

With an emulated computer the full keyboard is emulated and keys like escape and tab do what they normally would on the emulated computer. You can toggle the emulated keyboard on/off with the "scroll lock" key.

 

This,  the only problem is some newer keyboards have eliminated the "scroll lock" key.    I have one of those mechanical-type keyboards with back lighting.   The key to control the backlighting is where the scroll-lock used to be.    I had to remap this key to something else to use mess. 



#58 jblenkle OFFLINE  

jblenkle

    River Patroller

  • 4,285 posts

Posted Fri Sep 22, 2017 8:53 AM

Thanks! That works! Now that I think about it...what the heck does the SCROLL LOCK key on a keyboard do? I certainly have never used it.

 

With an emulated computer the full keyboard is emulated and keys like escape and tab do what they normally would on the emulated computer. You can toggle the emulated keyboard on/off with the "scroll lock" key.



#59 Osgeld OFFLINE  

Osgeld

    River Patroller

  • 4,420 posts
  • Location:Nashville, TN

Posted Fri Sep 22, 2017 9:02 AM

Thanks! That works! Now that I think about it...what the heck does the SCROLL LOCK key on a keyboard do? I certainly have never used it.

 

 

its for moving cursor positions around (though it can really be mapped to anything) about the only use I know for it on anything mainstream is in excel... but to tell you how much I use it I just looked at my work computer and neither the keyboard I am using, nor the one on the laptop actually have it, and I have been using this keyboard for like 4 years before noticing 



#60 Inky OFFLINE  

Inky

    Just a regular dude.

  • 24,968 posts
  • Meh
  • Location:The Irradiated Wastelands

Posted Fri Sep 29, 2017 2:06 PM

Too bad there isn't a release without all the MahJong games



#61 mr_me OFFLINE  

mr_me

    River Patroller

  • 2,208 posts
  • Location:Ontario

Posted Fri Sep 29, 2017 5:13 PM

Too bad there isn't a release without all the MahJong games

See here for arcade mame. http://atariage.com/...here/?p=3821698

Even the full mame is only 50MB and that includes a frontend. I don't even notice the mahjong games.

#62 Jumpman1981 OFFLINE  

Jumpman1981

    Chopper Commander

  • 157 posts
  • Location:Ontario, Canada (originally from Scotland)

Posted Fri Oct 6, 2017 10:10 PM

I guess they made a real MESS of this one! (ba-dum tss!)


Edited by Jumpman1981, Fri Oct 6, 2017 10:10 PM.


#63 S1500 ONLINE  

S1500

    River Patroller

  • 4,575 posts
  • Location:Twin Cities

Posted Sat Oct 7, 2017 12:38 PM

I just tried the Arcade64 build, and it's a lot better. Sure, took forever to read the ROM list, but games were playing. I think even the GUI got cleaned up a bit. 



#64 Keatah OFFLINE  

Keatah

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 18,906 posts

Posted Sat Oct 7, 2017 11:17 PM

Is that an official build by the mame team?



#65 mr_me OFFLINE  

mr_me

    River Patroller

  • 2,208 posts
  • Location:Ontario

Posted Sun Oct 8, 2017 5:44 AM

Arcade64 and arcade32 are just front-ends. Official mame is required.

#66 S1500 ONLINE  

S1500

    River Patroller

  • 4,575 posts
  • Location:Twin Cities

Posted Sun Oct 8, 2017 8:46 PM

But it's easy to graft onto mame. Just copy and file and bam. done. 



#67 Keatah OFFLINE  

Keatah

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 18,906 posts

Posted Thu Nov 16, 2017 5:32 PM

Why does mame bother with software lists? Some systems have 20,000 titles and variants, and they change checksums if you save hi-scores.

#68 Trebor OFFLINE  

Trebor

    River Patroller

  • 4,280 posts

Posted Thu Nov 16, 2017 5:59 PM

Why does mame bother with software lists? Some systems have 20,000 titles and variants...

 

MAME ultimately desires the cleanest/purest dumps for its software lists.  Similar to what is archived by this project and unlike this one.

For example, listing all pirated hacks of Archon under the C64 is not desired, but a clean dump of the EA original disk would be instead.

 

 

...and they change checksums if you save hi-scores.

 

Depends on how you manage the software:

 

C64MAME.PNG

 

Selecting "write to diff" or "write to another image" will not change the original.



#69 Keatah OFFLINE  

Keatah

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 18,906 posts

Posted Thu Nov 16, 2017 6:14 PM

The most desirable image is the one that is available, works, and is distributed among several backup points. But yes, hacks should be corralled and contained and labeled as alternates.

Edited by Keatah, Thu Nov 16, 2017 6:15 PM.

  • jhd likes this

#70 mr_me OFFLINE  

mr_me

    River Patroller

  • 2,208 posts
  • Location:Ontario

Posted Fri Nov 17, 2017 5:52 AM

Im not sure the reasons for the software lists. Maybe it's to address different memory configurations by some cartridges or something similar. I know with Intellivision, the software list is optional and you can go straight to file. Same with Coleco Adam.

#71 JamesD OFFLINE  

JamesD

    Quadrunner

  • 7,854 posts
  • Location:Flyover State

Posted Mon Nov 27, 2017 9:08 AM

Who the hell thought it was a good idea to merge MESS and MAME?

If I had a dollar for every computer emulation that was broken in that step...

I pretty much used MESS for all the oddball machines I wanted to play with, and now many of those are unusable.
 



#72 JamesD OFFLINE  

JamesD

    Quadrunner

  • 7,854 posts
  • Location:Flyover State

Posted Mon Nov 27, 2017 9:16 AM

:D

 

You know the worst thing about Mame developers?  The Mame Developers.  They are the rudest bunch of condescending a**holes I've ever had the misfortune to communicate with. God forbid you ever ask them abut playing a game, or make a suggestion.  Goodness no - they'll blast you for not liking what you get.

 

The built in UI is a disaster. It is so very clearly written by people who know noting about designing and testing UI's.  It's absolutely horrid.  I stopped grabbing new versions because I finally got a version that worked for what I wanted.  I won't upgrade Mame again.  For every fix they make to a game, something else breaks.  And you know what - if you're just a user, they basically hate you anyway.  There were some good Mame UI's for Windows, but even the developers of those were attacked by Mame guys....  It's a great project, but damn, they're miserable b*astards.

I've noticed that about several emulator authors. 
It's an ego thing and heaven forbid you bruise that.



#73 mr_me OFFLINE  

mr_me

    River Patroller

  • 2,208 posts
  • Location:Ontario

Posted Mon Nov 27, 2017 5:44 PM

If I had a dollar for every computer emulation that was broken in that step...

I pretty much used MESS for all the oddball machines I wanted to play with, and now many of those are unusable.
 

Which ones are broken? I've only used a few but haven't had a problem so far.

-------
Regarding software lists; Mame/mess likes to keep the cartridge rom chip images as seperate files, ie one file per chip for cartridges that have two or three rom chips. The other emulators tend to merge the images for the two or three rom chips on the cartridge into a single file. The mame software lists will have the info on the different chip image files for those cartridges that have more than one.

Edited by mr_me, Mon Nov 27, 2017 5:53 PM.


#74 Keatah OFFLINE  

Keatah

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 18,906 posts

Posted Mon Nov 27, 2017 8:19 PM

I've noticed that about several emulator authors. 
It's an ego thing and heaven forbid you bruise that.

 

..and it's on the rise.






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users