Jump to content

Photo

Blue Max not loading


16 replies to this topic

#1 The Mr. Video OFFLINE  

The Mr. Video

    Chopper Commander

  • 196 posts
  • "Insert in LEFT CARTRIDGE SLOT"
  • Location:L-5

Posted Sat Aug 12, 2017 6:14 PM

Hi, I resoldered the read head on my 1010 and now it works. I tried to load the game Blue Max but every time I would try to load it, the 1010 would stop playing the tape, and no error or anything would pop up on the screen. I've tried both an actual tape copy and a .wav and everytime it would stop. is there a reason why this happens.

#2 Bryan OFFLINE  

Bryan

    Quadrunner

  • 10,567 posts
  • Cruise Elroy = 4DB7
  • Location:Chesaning, MI

Posted Sat Aug 12, 2017 6:16 PM

Are you booting without BASIC (holding both OPTION and START at power-up)?



#3 The Mr. Video OFFLINE  

The Mr. Video

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 196 posts
  • "Insert in LEFT CARTRIDGE SLOT"
  • Location:L-5

Posted Sat Aug 12, 2017 6:27 PM

Are you booting without BASIC (holding both OPTION and START at power-up)?

Yup.

#4 Bryan OFFLINE  

Bryan

    Quadrunner

  • 10,567 posts
  • Cruise Elroy = 4DB7
  • Location:Chesaning, MI

Posted Sat Aug 12, 2017 6:30 PM

Hmmm... where did the wav come from?



#5 The Mr. Video OFFLINE  

The Mr. Video

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 196 posts
  • "Insert in LEFT CARTRIDGE SLOT"
  • Location:L-5

Posted Sat Aug 12, 2017 6:34 PM

Hmmm... where did the wav come from?

I converted a .cas file to a .wav using A8cas



#6 Bryan OFFLINE  

Bryan

    Quadrunner

  • 10,567 posts
  • Cruise Elroy = 4DB7
  • Location:Chesaning, MI

Posted Sat Aug 12, 2017 6:42 PM

If it's a known good .cas that works on all OS versions, then the computer itself is suspect.



#7 The Mr. Video OFFLINE  

The Mr. Video

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 196 posts
  • "Insert in LEFT CARTRIDGE SLOT"
  • Location:L-5

Posted Sat Aug 12, 2017 6:50 PM

If it's a known good .cas that works on all OS versions, then the computer itself is suspect.

I just tested the .cas on Altirra, and it only loads on 400/800 mode, this might mean the tape version is incompatible with the Atari XL. Yet I can't find the game on this compatibility list.

http://www.atarimani...and-why_68.html

Edit: I looked up the manual and it says this:

"Loading Blue Max


Atari (Cassette) 

Turn on computer whilst holding down the START key (START & 
OPTION on XL models) A beep will be heard. Press PLAY on the 
cassette unit and then press RETURN. Program will load and run 
automatically"

For me, this implies that it should work on the XL models.


Edited by The Mr. Video, Sat Aug 12, 2017 6:57 PM.


#8 SS OFFLINE  

SS

    Quadrunner

  • 5,591 posts
  • Location:Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania

Posted Sat Aug 12, 2017 7:43 PM

Are you having issues loading any other cassettes?  Most importantly can you load a real cassette?  I am wondering if the issue is due to the conversion process.  If you can load a real cassette, can you load any other .cas to .wav converted cassettes?



#9 The Mr. Video OFFLINE  

The Mr. Video

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 196 posts
  • "Insert in LEFT CARTRIDGE SLOT"
  • Location:L-5

Posted Sat Aug 12, 2017 7:49 PM

Are you having issues loading any other cassettes?  Most importantly can you load a real cassette?  I am wondering if the issue is due to the conversion process.  If you can load a real cassette, can you load any other .cas to .wav converted cassettes?

I can load real cassettes, and I tried to load a .cas to .wav conversion of Zaxxon and that worked fine.



#10 SS OFFLINE  

SS

    Quadrunner

  • 5,591 posts
  • Location:Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania

Posted Sat Aug 12, 2017 8:03 PM

I don't recall ever having an issue with Blue Max on my 800XL but, then again, I've only ever used a disc or cartridge for the game rather than a cassette.  

 

My gut feeling is that there was some error in your conversion to cassette.  I will attach my copy of the .cas file that I have so you might be able to try another conversion. 

Attached Files



#11 The Mr. Video OFFLINE  

The Mr. Video

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 196 posts
  • "Insert in LEFT CARTRIDGE SLOT"
  • Location:L-5

Posted Sat Aug 12, 2017 8:16 PM

I don't recall ever having an issue with Blue Max on my 800XL but, then again, I've only ever used a disc or cartridge for the game rather than a cassette.  

 

My gut feeling is that there was some error in your conversion to cassette.  I will attach my copy of the .cas file that I have so you might be able to try another conversion. 

It would get to the loader, then the sounds that the Atari makes while loading from cassette would sound off, indicating that it's having trouble loading, then the tape would stop.



#12 Rybags OFFLINE  

Rybags

    Quadrunner

  • 15,029 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted Sat Aug 12, 2017 8:58 PM

Maybe the leader between loader/main is too short.  You can pause for a few seconds when you hear the clear tone.

 

Also note plenty of games turn off the IO noise so it's practically silent when loading the subsequent stage.



#13 ijor OFFLINE  

ijor

    Stargunner

  • 1,866 posts

Posted Sat Aug 12, 2017 9:20 PM

I just tested the .cas on Altirra, and it only loads on 400/800 mode, this might mean the tape version is incompatible with the Atari XL. Yet I can't find the game on this compatibility list.

http://www.atarimani...and-why_68.html

Edit: I looked up the manual and it says this:

"Loading Blue Max


Atari (Cassette) 

Turn on computer whilst holding down the START key (START & 
OPTION on XL models) A beep will be heard. Press PLAY on the 
cassette unit and then press RETURN. Program will load and run 
automatically"

For me, this implies that it should work on the XL models.

 

I'm too lazy to check, but If it fails under Altirra on XL mode, then chances that it won't work on real hardware. The manual might be wrong or might belong to a different version ...



#14 The Mr. Video OFFLINE  

The Mr. Video

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 196 posts
  • "Insert in LEFT CARTRIDGE SLOT"
  • Location:L-5

Posted Sat Aug 12, 2017 9:39 PM

Maybe the leader between loader/main is too short.  You can pause for a few seconds when you hear the clear tone.

 

Also note plenty of games turn off the IO noise so it's practically silent when loading the subsequent stage.

If you're talking about the .cas SS posted, then there's no clear tone between the loader and the main.

If you are talking about the cassette, then I tried that and nothing changed.



#15 The Mr. Video OFFLINE  

The Mr. Video

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 196 posts
  • "Insert in LEFT CARTRIDGE SLOT"
  • Location:L-5

Posted Sat Aug 12, 2017 9:41 PM

I don't recall ever having an issue with Blue Max on my 800XL but, then again, I've only ever used a disc or cartridge for the game rather than a cassette.  

 

My gut feeling is that there was some error in your conversion to cassette.  I will attach my copy of the .cas file that I have so you might be able to try another conversion. 

I just tried to load that .cas on Altirra and it can't load it either.



#16 SS OFFLINE  

SS

    Quadrunner

  • 5,591 posts
  • Location:Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania

Posted Sat Aug 12, 2017 9:46 PM

I just tried to load that .cas on Altirra and it can't load it either.

 

Sorry, that was my whole bag of tricks then.  Wish that I could have been more help.  :(



#17 phaeron OFFLINE  

phaeron

    River Patroller

  • 2,207 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Sun Aug 13, 2017 12:36 AM

The version on AtariMania will indeed only boot in 400/800 mode, or more precisely, only the 400/800 OS. It checks the byte at $FFF8 and the interrupt vectors at $FFFA-FFFF. The loader recognizes OS-A, OS-B, and the 1200XL OS, but not the 800XL or XEGS OS.

 

The one posted by SS will only work on the XL/XE OS, because it has a bunch of jumps directly into the OS. The gap after the title screen is also way too short, since the OS waits for 9 seconds prior to beginning the read. This can be worked around by pausing the tape player at the tone to prevent the tape from advancing until the 9 second delay has expired. However, it still doesn't work after the load completes because the loader jumps to WARMSV without clearing COLDST, so the OS does a cold start instead of a warm start. I'm not sure how this tape originally worked.






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users