Photo

Help required: Whats wrong with my 800XL?

800XL Atari 8-bit fault display missile sprite

14 replies to this topic

#1 Lavalamp OFFLINE  

Lavalamp

Star Raider

• 93 posts

Posted Thu Aug 24, 2017 6:00 PM

Hi, I have recent purchased a 800XL (PAL) and paired it with a SIO2SD external drive, all appears to work fine, expect on a lot of games I'm getting a corrupted sprite, and I'm not sure why, would anyone be able to shed light on what may be causing this? Configuration, software, PAL/NTSC issue, RAM or Antic failure? Note that some games appear to run perfectly. Also passes memory tests fine. :(

I apologize for the poor photos, but you can see the corrupted missile or sprite running vertically down the display, these will follow the player or enemies.

XL Issue.jpg

XL Issue 2.jpg

Any help would be appreciated. :)

#2 DrVenkman ONLINE  

DrVenkman

River Patroller

• 3,371 posts
  • Back off, man! I'm a scientist.

Posted Thu Aug 24, 2017 6:39 PM

Guess is bad GTIA based on similar past issues with other machines but hard to be sure without further info. How does it handle something like Joust in the later levels with lots of enemies floating around on-screen at once?

#3 Grover Torbel OFFLINE  

Grover Torbel

Star Raider

• 73 posts

Posted Thu Aug 24, 2017 9:32 PM

This is almost identical to a problem I was having. Replacing the GTIA fixed everything.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

#4 Lavalamp OFFLINE  

Lavalamp

Star Raider

• Topic Starter
  • 93 posts

Posted Thu Aug 24, 2017 9:41 PM

Guess is bad GTIA based on similar past issues with other machines but hard to be sure without further info. How does it handle something like Joust in the later levels with lots of enemies floating around on-screen at once?