Jump to content

Photo

Debugger integration in Virtual Jaguar

virtual jaguar debugger emulator

55 replies to this topic

#26 rocky1138 OFFLINE  

rocky1138

    Space Invader

  • 45 posts
  • Location:Canada

Posted Tue Sep 5, 2017 9:44 PM

 

Hi,
 
Just wanted to share my debugger integration in Virtual Jaguar. Screenshot shows an example about how it looks like.
Nothing can replace the real hardware but I wanted to give a try and modify the emulator.
I have added the support of ELF/DWARF format because my toolchain is based on it, and such format can operate at source code level.
 
If someone knows about QT and OpenGL integration, it can be helpful to me. Because, if I build the emulator under msys2 environement, I have a correct video output but if I build it with Visual Studio 2015, the output video remains black/empty.

 

 

Will this let us set breakpoints?



#27 dilinger OFFLINE  

dilinger

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 62 posts
  • Location:Montreal

Posted Wed Sep 6, 2017 1:49 AM

There is only 1 breakpoint available and it is the same one supported previously (BPM) in the CPU registers window.

I plan to add more breakpoints (Functions & Datas) in the future.



#28 dilinger OFFLINE  

dilinger

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 62 posts
  • Location:Montreal

Posted Wed Sep 6, 2017 8:16 AM

Hi,

Thank you for sharing your project.

Very cool. In my spare time I've been using Virtual Jaguar to learn more about writing an emulator, assembly language, etc.

 

I forked Virtual Jaguar and created Chocolate Virtual Jaguar with the intention of basically removing the cruft from the codebase and using it as a huge learning project essentially for myself. If you ever release the code for this, I'd love to take a look to see what you did.

 

https://github.com/r...ar/tree/develop

Releasing my source code will probably be helpful, so people interested can tailor the application for their own environement (Linux, etc.), I let Shamus to decide if he is interested to merge my modification in the official project.

 

Repository: https://github.com/d...rtual-Jaguar-Rx



#29 Luigi301 OFFLINE  

Luigi301

    Moonsweeper

  • 372 posts

Posted Wed Sep 6, 2017 5:23 PM

Thanks! I'll see if I can get my ELF up and running.

 

...now if I could figure out how the hell you program the blitter to draw a line from point A to point B, I'd be set.



#30 JagChris OFFLINE  

JagChris

    River Patroller

  • 3,645 posts
  • Location:Oregon

Posted Wed Sep 6, 2017 6:25 PM

Tons of examples from Atari themselves, here.

http://www.3do.cdint...php?f=35&t=3430

#31 Luigi301 OFFLINE  

Luigi301

    Moonsweeper

  • 372 posts

Posted Wed Sep 6, 2017 6:33 PM

Yeah, I saw that somewhere but most of the attachments are 404s now along with the Dropbox links :(



#32 Zerosquare OFFLINE  

Zerosquare

    River Patroller

  • 2,766 posts
  • Location:France

Posted Wed Sep 6, 2017 6:59 PM

https://www.jagware....ts#comment-4140



#33 Luigi301 OFFLINE  

Luigi301

    Moonsweeper

  • 372 posts

Posted Wed Sep 6, 2017 7:16 PM

Merci! I did find a copy of the big Jaguar source code and tools archive so I can dig through that too.



#34 JagChris OFFLINE  

JagChris

    River Patroller

  • 3,645 posts
  • Location:Oregon

Posted Wed Sep 6, 2017 8:18 PM

Here are some on this forum.

http://atariage.com/...d/?fromsearch=1

#35 Luigi301 OFFLINE  

Luigi301

    Moonsweeper

  • 372 posts

Posted Fri Sep 15, 2017 6:53 PM

Hey, I got the blitter drawing lines entirely through the GPU, neat.

I tried using the linker script with VBCC. It compiled an ELF but it didnt boot in Virtual Jaguar, just gave me a green screen. Ill play with it some more and see if I can get it working.

Now I just need a real Jag!

#36 rocky1138 OFFLINE  

rocky1138

    Space Invader

  • 45 posts
  • Location:Canada

Posted Sat Sep 16, 2017 12:29 PM

Hey, I got the blitter drawing lines entirely through the GPU, neat.

I tried using the linker script with VBCC. It compiled an ELF but it didnt boot in Virtual Jaguar, just gave me a green screen. Ill play with it some more and see if I can get it working.

Now I just need a real Jag!

 

Super good!

 

Would you care to share your source code for those of us less competent? :P



#37 Luigi301 OFFLINE  

Luigi301

    Moonsweeper

  • 372 posts

Posted Sat Sep 16, 2017 1:47 PM

Sure!

https://github.com/L...ster/cube.tom.s

#38 SainT OFFLINE  

SainT

    Stargunner

  • 1,063 posts
  • Location:Gloucestershire, UK

Posted Tue Sep 19, 2017 1:47 PM

Does this work for people? Running the R2 version from dropbox gives me

"QImage::scaled: Image is a null image"

 

followed by a crash.

 

I started to compile it from source, but there are quite a few dependencies on other libs... which frustrates me a bit. Would be very handy for debugging though, working blind with VJ is very painful -- the normal debug features are next to useless.



#39 Luigi301 OFFLINE  

Luigi301

    Moonsweeper

  • 372 posts

Posted Tue Sep 19, 2017 3:38 PM

Yeah, it seems to be crashing for me with --debugger on even if I don't load a cartridge image.



#40 dilinger OFFLINE  

dilinger

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 62 posts
  • Location:Montreal

Posted Thu Sep 21, 2017 3:50 AM

Hi,
Sorry to read you have problems using the --debugger option.

I'm back to my place and would like to get a log file and/or the jaguar executable file used by Luigi301, it may be helpful to dig the issue.

SainT, do you use my QT DLLs package available in my dropbox?


Edited by dilinger, Fri Oct 6, 2017 11:37 AM.


#41 dilinger OFFLINE  

dilinger

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 62 posts
  • Location:Montreal

Posted Mon Nov 13, 2017 2:00 PM

Hi,
 
I have done an update of my Debugger integration in Virtual Jaguar.
For convenience, I have done an installer to install DLLs, docs and executable.
File: virtualjaguar-wDebugger_x64_R3_Release.zip
Let me know if it works better. Thanks.
 

Attached Files



#42 JagChris OFFLINE  

JagChris

    River Patroller

  • 3,645 posts
  • Location:Oregon

Posted Mon Nov 13, 2017 2:29 PM

It seems retroarch has branched off in developing VJ on their own.



#43 Otto1980 OFFLINE  

Otto1980

    Chopper Commander

  • 243 posts
  • Location:Poland

Posted Tue Nov 14, 2017 1:25 AM

Let me know if it works better. Thanks.

 

Sadly for me not :-(

 

The errormessage:

This application failed to start because it could not find or load the Qt platform pugin "windows" in "".

Reinstalling the application may fix this problem.

 

looks there are some dlls missing?

could you add them?



#44 Shamus OFFLINE  

Shamus

    Dragonstomper

  • 668 posts
  • Moo, er, Roar!
  • Location:Ur-th

Posted Tue Nov 14, 2017 10:21 AM

It seems retroarch has branched off in developing VJ on their own.

 

This is too funny, especially when you see things like this in the comments to that video:

 

jagchris-wishing.png

 

Sorry to burst your bubble, but the RetroArch kiddies aren't doing anything with Jaguar emulation, much less improving anything. Their level of 'compentency' extends only to ripping off other emulators (and rebranding them as their own creation) and contributing nothing back--not to mention pissing off the authors of said emulators and labelling them as inferior beings for not deigning to bow to their greatness and kissing their rings.

 

Best laugh of the day, thanks for that! :D



#45 dilinger OFFLINE  

dilinger

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 62 posts
  • Location:Montreal

Posted Tue Nov 14, 2017 11:42 AM

 

Sadly for me not :-(

 

The errormessage:

This application failed to start because it could not find or load the Qt platform pugin "windows" in "".

Reinstalling the application may fix this problem.

 

looks there are some dlls missing?

could you add them?

Sorry about this, but I didn't got into this trouble.

My knowledge of QT is rather limited. However, following your message, I have added a qwindows.dll in the new package. Feel free to give it a try.



#46 JagChris OFFLINE  

JagChris

    River Patroller

  • 3,645 posts
  • Location:Oregon

Posted Tue Nov 14, 2017 1:15 PM

 
This is too funny, especially when you see things like this in the comments to that video:
 
jagchris-wishing.png
 
Sorry to burst your bubble, but the RetroArch kiddies aren't doing anything with Jaguar emulation, much less improving anything. Their level of 'compentency' extends only to ripping off other emulators (and rebranding them as their own creation) and contributing nothing back--not to mention pissing off the authors of said emulators and labelling them as inferior beings for not deigning to bow to their greatness and kissing their rings.
 
Best laugh of the day, thanks for that! :D


So in other words nothing will change

#47 Stephen OFFLINE  

Stephen

    Quadrunner

  • 7,537 posts
  • A8 Gear Head
  • Location:No longer in Crakron, Ohio

Posted Tue Nov 14, 2017 4:18 PM

 

This is too funny, especially when you see things like this in the comments to that video:

 

attachicon.gifjagchris-wishing.png

 

Sorry to burst your bubble, but the RetroArch kiddies aren't doing anything with Jaguar emulation, much less improving anything. Their level of 'compentency' extends only to ripping off other emulators (and rebranding them as their own creation) and contributing nothing back--not to mention pissing off the authors of said emulators and labelling them as inferior beings for not deigning to bow to their greatness and kissing their rings.

 

Best laugh of the day, thanks for that! :D

Aren't they the ass clowns that just steal emulator code and slap a front end GUI on it, and then it is "their" emulator?



#48 JagChris OFFLINE  

JagChris

    River Patroller

  • 3,645 posts
  • Location:Oregon

Posted Tue Nov 14, 2017 7:24 PM

According to that reviewer the emulation and functionality is much improved with the Retroarch version compared to the traditional version.

So seems like a little more than just slapping on a front end going on there.

#49 Shamus OFFLINE  

Shamus

    Dragonstomper

  • 668 posts
  • Moo, er, Roar!
  • Location:Ur-th

Posted Tue Nov 14, 2017 8:16 PM

Aren't they the ass clowns that just steal emulator code and slap a front end GUI on it, and then it is "their" emulator?

Pretty much. :-/



#50 Shamus OFFLINE  

Shamus

    Dragonstomper

  • 668 posts
  • Moo, er, Roar!
  • Location:Ur-th

Posted Tue Nov 14, 2017 8:25 PM

According to that reviewer the emulation and functionality is much improved with the Retroarch version compared to the traditional version.

So seems like a little more than just slapping on a front end going on there.

 

Well, if you knew anything about how the Retroarch guys do things or even bothered to look at their repository, you would know that basically all they are doing is slapping a front end on--to every emulator that they can get their hands on (which was probably a contributing factor as to why byuu changed the name of bsnes to higan--Retroarch still calls it the bsnes core, and I seriously doubt they've done a blessed thing to it).

 

But of course, you know nothing about it; so you feel free to spout your opinion as if it had any bearing or relevance whatsoever when it's based on your complete and utter lack of knowledge of the situation.

 

Bravo sir, bravo.







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: virtual jaguar, debugger, emulator

0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users