Jump to content

Photo

Atari Hometax, Medit, and Forms disks—archived?


16 replies to this topic

#1 electronizer OFFLINE  

electronizer

    Star Raider

  • 91 posts

Posted Tue Sep 5, 2017 10:44 PM

I recently acquired some Atari "Hometax" disks, along with a disk that says "Medit and Forms." Have these programs been archived? I haven't tried reading the disks yet, need to get my 1050 out.

 

IMG_3175.JPG

 

IMG_3176.JPG

 

IMG_3177.JPG

 

IMG_3178.JPG

 

IMG_3179.JPG



#2 luckybuck OFFLINE  

luckybuck

    Dragonstomper

  • 721 posts

Posted Wed Sep 6, 2017 5:22 PM

Hi electronizer!

 

Nooooooo!!!!!!!!!

 

They are even not listed in the Wiki!!!!!!!!!

 

Big found! :-)))

 

Serial => Atari internal eyes only! Not for the public... Have stickers of those!

 

Would you share this with the community?

 

It may be the:

 

Atari Editor CX8105 (maybe replaced by the Atari Program Text Editor?)

 

the lost to believe one...

 

https://atariwiki.or...?page=Rarity 10

 

WOW!



#3 Allan OFFLINE  

Allan

    Quadrunner

  • 6,094 posts
  • Location:Wallingford, CT

Posted Wed Sep 6, 2017 5:54 PM

Interesting. It would be great if you could archive them.

 

Allan



#4 electronizer OFFLINE  

electronizer

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 91 posts

Posted Sun Sep 10, 2017 12:18 AM

Okay, I tried to copy a few of these disks tonight. I'm probably not using the best method to do this; I'm just using DOS 2.5 on an 800XL with a stock 1050 and the duplicate disk option to copy the disks to blank images on an SD card via SIO2SD.

 

The copy of "Medit and Forms" seemed to go okay:

 

Attached File  Medit and Forms.atr   90.02KB   19 downloads

 

I also found this on archive.org:

 
 
 
The copies of "Hometax (program disk)" and "Hometax (screen disk)" also seemed to go okay:
 
Attached File  Hometax Program Disk.atr   90.02KB   21 downloads
 
Attached File  Hometax Screen Disk.atr   90.02KB   21 downloads
 
However, I am not able to run either of these disks. The Hometax Program Disk beeps for a while, then freezes on an empty screen. The Hometax Screen Disk just gives boot errors.
 
I was unable to copy the "Hometax Demo" disk. I eventually get an error 144. I did try to boot this disk directly in my 1050; it beeped for a while and eventually gave a blank screen. When the disk stopped booting, a screeching sound started coming out of the speaker that sounded like a fax machine transferring data.
 
I did cover up the write protect notches on all of the original disks, just to make sure I didn't accidentally write over them. I also have an extra demo disk, and original copies of the program and screen disks that I haven't touched yet. Anyone have any advice for what to try next?


#5 David_P OFFLINE  

David_P

    Dragonstomper

  • 834 posts
  • Location:Canada

Posted Sun Sep 10, 2017 8:43 AM

Could be an OS issue, expecting the 800 OS, or potentially a BASIC issue...

#6 DrVenkman OFFLINE  

DrVenkman

    River Patroller

  • 2,378 posts
  • Back off, man! I'm a scientist.
  • Location:KMBT

Posted Sun Sep 10, 2017 9:03 AM

The Hometax program disk loads up in Altirra with "400/800" set as system type and stock 1050 drive emulation. It gives you a welcome message and tells you to insert the Screen disk. When you do, it beeps for awhile and then Altirra crashes; the emulated system displays "Bad screen number".

 

HomeTax.PNG

 

HomeTaxError.PNG



#7 Allan OFFLINE  

Allan

    Quadrunner

  • 6,094 posts
  • Location:Wallingford, CT

Posted Mon Sep 11, 2017 5:21 AM

 

Okay, I tried to copy a few of these disks tonight. I'm probably not using the best method to do this; I'm just using DOS 2.5 on an 800XL with a stock 1050 and the duplicate disk option to copy the disks to blank images on an SD card via SIO2SD.

 

The copy of "Medit and Forms" seemed to go okay:

 

attachicon.gifMedit and Forms.atr

 

I also found this on archive.org:

 
 
 
The copies of "Hometax (program disk)" and "Hometax (screen disk)" also seemed to go okay:
 
 
 
However, I am not able to run either of these disks. The Hometax Program Disk beeps for a while, then freezes on an empty screen. The Hometax Screen Disk just gives boot errors.
 
I was unable to copy the "Hometax Demo" disk. I eventually get an error 144. I did try to boot this disk directly in my 1050; it beeped for a while and eventually gave a blank screen. When the disk stopped booting, a screeching sound started coming out of the speaker that sounded like a fax machine transferring data.
 
I did cover up the write protect notches on all of the original disks, just to make sure I didn't accidentally write over them. I also have an extra demo disk, and original copies of the program and screen disks that I haven't touched yet. Anyone have any advice for what to try next?

 

There are a few people here that are good at recovering disks that have errors. Plus the few of us that have a Kryoflux could try copying it.

 

Allan



#8 luckybuck OFFLINE  

luckybuck

    Dragonstomper

  • 721 posts

Posted Tue Sep 12, 2017 12:58 PM

Dam' right! :-)

 

Further, founds like that should never leave the country, due to x-ray at the customs. A few days ago a good soul could save data, while altering the disk speed just on some special sectors...

 

My biggest worries are about CX401-3, of course. Irmy at owner of the box and we have game over....



#9 luckybuck OFFLINE  

luckybuck

    Dragonstomper

  • 721 posts

Posted Tue Sep 12, 2017 1:26 PM

Even the VTOCs do look strange for official disks...

 

Hometax Program Disk.jpg

 

Hometax Screen Disk.jpg

 

Medit and Forms_.jpg

 

Attached File  FORMS.BAS.txt   15.26KB   10 downloads

 

 


Edited by luckybuck, Tue Sep 12, 2017 1:27 PM.


#10 electronizer OFFLINE  

electronizer

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 91 posts

Posted Wed Sep 13, 2017 12:13 AM

@luckybuck yes, I noticed the strange directory listings! Where it says "#MEDIT & FORMS 42" (42 is the serial number printed on the disk label), I was wondering how they did that...

Busy week but I'm hoping to have time to try again soon. Will probably clean the head on my 1050 and see if I can copy the backup of the screen disk.

#11 electronizer OFFLINE  

electronizer

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 91 posts

Posted Mon Nov 13, 2017 11:23 AM

Yesterday I tried to archive the backup screen disk:

IMG_3399.JPG

Same thing--when I boot the program disk and then switch the image to the screen disk, it says "bad screen number."

Both the original and the backup screen disk seem to "skip" when copying in DOS 2.5. I hear "beep beep beep (pause) beep beep beep," rather than the long, continuous string of beeps between head movements when I copy a normal disk. Does this indicate any kind of copy protection? Is there a better copying tool I should try? I've used Disk Wizard before to create real floppies from atr images, so maybe I'll try that next.

#12 DjayBee OFFLINE  

DjayBee

    Chopper Commander

  • 224 posts
  • Location:Stuttgart, Germany

Posted Mon Nov 13, 2017 3:24 PM

Try Disk Wizard II because it does not abort with read errors and does not fill missing sectors with whatever garbage currently is in the disk buffer.

Attached Files



#13 _The Doctor__ OFFLINE  

_The Doctor__

    River Patroller

  • 2,648 posts
  • Location:10-0-11-00:02

Posted Mon Nov 13, 2017 3:53 PM

Yep sector copy the disks or use the atx pro functions of APE or add the vapii dlls and try them...

 

did you insert the proper screen disk, I think there are 3 or more...


Edited by _The Doctor__, Mon Nov 13, 2017 3:55 PM.


#14 _The Doctor__ OFFLINE  

_The Doctor__

    River Patroller

  • 2,648 posts
  • Location:10-0-11-00:02

Posted Mon Nov 13, 2017 3:55 PM

look carefully at your disks  for screen disk 1 screen disk 2 screen disk 3...


Edited by _The Doctor__, Mon Nov 13, 2017 3:56 PM.


#15 _The Doctor__ OFFLINE  

_The Doctor__

    River Patroller

  • 2,648 posts
  • Location:10-0-11-00:02

Posted Mon Nov 13, 2017 4:03 PM

also be aware the 1050 was introduced in 1983 for the most part... the software might want strict 810.... not usually the case but a possibility

 

if you have a pile of these do the serial numbers match up ie program serial 10 screen serial 10 etc...


Edited by _The Doctor__, Mon Nov 13, 2017 4:09 PM.


#16 electronizer OFFLINE  

electronizer

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 91 posts

Posted Mon Nov 13, 2017 6:03 PM

also be aware the 1050 was introduced in 1983 for the most part... the software might want strict 810.... not usually the case but a possibility
 
if you have a pile of these do the serial numbers match up ie program serial 10 screen serial 10 etc...


Good points! I recall hearing that the 1050 firmware needed an upgrade in order to boot some of the earlier copy protected disks. However, would it make a difference if I'm just trying to copy disks? I am trying to get one of my 800s shipped out so I can actually try booting the disk; it won't boot on my 800XL (although I suppose I could try booting with an 810 connected to the 800XL).

I included pictures of most of the disks in the first post. The serial numbers don't match up between the program and screen disk. I do have a backup program disk, so I'll try archiving that as well. Maybe the backup program and screen disks are a match.

Is there an easy way to examine the code in the screen disk atr I posted earlier and determine if it has gaps/errors due to the way I copied it?

#17 _The Doctor__ OFFLINE  

_The Doctor__

    River Patroller

  • 2,648 posts
  • Location:10-0-11-00:02

Posted Mon Nov 13, 2017 7:11 PM

you need to run the fixxl or one of the translation disks I have uploaded here on AA first, that will replace the OS in your XL with Atari 800 OS, and yes some software required a real 810 to load, there were timing and other issues involved..

 

Here's a translate kit thread

http://atariage.com/...-3#entry3108494






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users