New to TI99/4A video mod

13 replies to this topic

#1 repetto74 OFFLINE  

repetto74

Chopper Commander

• 108 posts

Posted Mon Sep 11, 2017 2:25 PM

Hi to all,

I am an happy owner of a PAL TI99/4A since today (I am located in Europe) :-). The machine comes with the RF antenna cable with the big RF PAL modulator and the 6 pin DIN video socket output. I can test this with an old CRT TV I still have but I would like to know what are the best video modding options available to increase video output? Composite, S-video? Any tutorial?

Besides that are there also hardware mods available to increase total memory or to improve the machine performance in general?

Sorry I am really a noob with the TI99/4A so trying to sum up what is possible to do. Consider that I do have soldering and basic electronic skills + all tools required for the job :-)

Many thanks,

Rick

:grin:

#2 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

River Patroller

• 2,472 posts

Posted Mon Sep 11, 2017 2:40 PM

Is that the scart adapter? If so you can use that with hdmi with a cheap box.. if not, the best option is the f18a which is detailed in the "new to the group" faq pinned to the top of the forum

Greg

#3 Sinphaltimus ONLINE  

Sinphaltimus

Stargunner

• 1,932 posts
  • Distracted at the Keyboard

Posted Mon Sep 11, 2017 2:43 PM

Also this - --->>>http://atariage.com/...ces-read-first/

will help you find 90% of the things you maybe looking at or wanting to know about your *NEW* old computer. :) 

And welcome.

#4 repetto74 OFFLINE  

repetto74

Chopper Commander

• Topic Starter
  • 108 posts

Posted Mon Sep 11, 2017 2:54 PM

Hi Arcadeshopper,

Nope the RF modulator is not the one with the SCART (PERITEL) output for the french market. I got this from an italian e-bayer and the modulator has been manufactured in Italy also but will need a TV antenna input.

To Sinphaltimus : thanks for the greetings and will read closely the thread :-)

#5 ti99iuc ONLINE  

ti99iuc

Stargunner

• 1,192 posts