List of Supplies Needed to run a US NTSC Heavy Sixer in Australia

8 replies to this topic

#1 Oztari OFFLINE  

Oztari

Combat Commando

• 9 posts

Posted Wed Sep 13, 2017 12:24 AM

Hi guys, 

new guy having 70's/80's flashbacks. I have recently bought a Heavy Sixer (or 2...) from the US due to the better prices in the US and the huge selection of games available. 

What I now need to do is get my console running nicely in Australian power conditions as we are PAL over here with 240V. 

I am not technical at all with electrical stuff so need a bit of a hand with exactly what I need. I have found a few similar requests and threads but was hoping to get my ingredients nailed with minimal $$ outlay!

For example, why the big difference in prices between these two products that look like they do the same thing?

$124

http://www.ebay.com....r-/111496390305

$8.50

http://www.ebay.com....5.c100005.m1851

Is that all I need to use so I don't fry my console?

Now for the NTSC part. If I am just using NTSC carts I should be able to just use a modern flat screen through the AV right? I really don't want to be drilling holes in my console to do the AV mod as shown here:

http://www.coolretro...ation_Guide.pdf

So is there another way that I can set it up to play through the AV? Any redirects to threads that will help me would be much appreciated. Its gonna take days or weeks to sift through the amazing bulk of knowledge on this forum!

#2 CPUWIZ OFFLINE  

CPUWIZ

Commander

• 32,676 posts
  • Cartridge Recycler

Posted Wed Sep 13, 2017 12:28 AM

The one for $8.50 is fine, the other guy is smoking dope.

#3 Oztari OFFLINE  

Oztari

Combat Commando

• Topic Starter
  • 9 posts

Posted Wed Sep 13, 2017 12:45 AM

good to hear. I feel sorry for the 83 people that had already bought one though...

Attached Thumbnails

• Capture.JPG

#4 boxpressed OFFLINE  

boxpressed

River Patroller

• 2,657 posts

Posted Wed Sep 13, 2017 12:52 AM