IGNORED

How I almost used an Atari 8-bit for school

Xebec

Small nostalgia post.

In 4th Grade (~ 1985?), I got in serious trouble with a teacher one time for typing up a few small papers that we were asked to "write". Of course, the teacher was focused on making sure I knew how to do cursive properly, and as a kid who knew everything I thought (and told her) that writing was "primitive", and asked why I can't just use my Atari to do papers.

She took my Atariwriter written and (Some kind of Epson dot matrix) printed papers and threw them in the trash and got very red in the face with me :).

So as it took several more years before schools became accepting of computer technology, my Atari 8-bit never quite got used as part of my academic career.. But I really did love using AtariWriter..

P.S. I haven't used Cursive.. in well over 20 years, but I sure love my Atari.

• Like 4

I graduated high school in 1995... When I would get a few extra marks for typing up my stuff and printing it on a dot matrix printer in letter quality mode because it presented just so much better than the hand written stuff everyone else was submitting. (it would do at least two passes with a tiny paper feed per line to get the equivalent of 18-dots instead of the usual 9).

I mastered a lot of the formatting tricks in AtariWriter+ for double-wide characters and underlining for titles, the separate disk to do the spell checks, etc.

Nowadays its pretty much an expectation to submit work electronically! especially in higher education

• Like 3

I used my friend's Atari 800 for writing english papers in my first year of college in1987. Wasn't too bad once I learned it.. the hard part was printing on that dot matrix printer which took like 5 minutes per page or something. It made it hard when printing at the last minute trying to get to class. :lol:

Edited by NE146
  • Like 2